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STATE OF TENNESSEE 
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 
HEALTH RELATED BOARDS 

665 MAINSTREAM DRIVE 
NASHVILLE, TN  37243

TENNESSEE MASSAGE LICENSURE BOARD 
(615) 253-2111 or 1-800-778-4123 ext. 2532111  

 
 

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS FOR A MASSAGE ESTABLISHMENT 
LICENSURE APPLICATION CHECK SHEET 

 

Provided below is a checklist for your personal use and convenience containing all the things you must 
do to receive consideration for issuance of a Tennessee massage establishment license.  NOTE:  All 
submissions must be executed and dated less than one (1) year before receipt or they will be 
rejected by the Board. 

 

1. Complete, sign and have notarized the application pages 1 through 3.  
 (Only page 3 of the application must be notarized.) 

 
______ 

2. Enclose a check or money order in the amount of $225.00 made payable to the 
State of Tennessee. 

 
______ 

3. Applicants applying by sole proprietorship or partnership shall submit two (2) recent 
(within the preceding 12 months) original letters attesting to the applicant’s good 
moral character and professional ethics.  These letters are in addition to any letters 
previously submitted for a massage therapist license and must be signed and 
dated. 

 
 
 
 

______ 

4. Applicants applying by sole proprietorship or partnership shall enclose a copy of the 
applicant’s birth certificate or passport.   

 
______ 

5. Applicants applying by Corporation/LLC shall submit a copy of their Corporate 
Charter and a statement identifying the corporation’s registered agent for service of 
process. 

 
 

______ 

6. Applicants who are not citizens of the United States or whose birth certificates 
reflect they were not born in the United States shall submit proof of their 
immigration status  demonstrating their right to live and work in the United States. 

 
 

______ 

7.    Applicants who are not Tennessee licensed massage therapists must show 
completion of at least two (2) hours of education in Tennessee law relating to 
massage therapy.  For a list of providers go to the Massage Board’s website or 
contact the Board Administrative office. 

 
 
 

______ 

8. Each owner, including yourself, as listed on page two of the application, must  
complete the “Ownership or Proceeds Disclosure” form (Attachment 1).  If 
applying by Corporation, the legally authorized representative must complete this 
form.  Once completed, the form(s) may be submitted with the application or mailed 
directly to the Board at the address listed on the form.    

 
 
 
 

_____ 
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9. A Criminal Background Check is required to be obtained through the vender 
contracted with the State. For instructions to obtain a Criminal Background Check, 
go to http://tn.gov/health/article/CBC-instructions.  

 
 

_____ 

  
UNDERSTANDING THE APPLICATION PROCESS 

 

 
If an address or name change occurs at any time, you must notify the Board office, in writing, 
immediately.  There is a $135.00 fee for an address change and a $25.00 fee for a name change. 
 

 
1. All application and state regulatory fees are non-refundable. 
 
2. All documents and fees required to be submitted by you or which must be requested from the 

appropriate institutions in this application process, must be mailed directly to: 
 

 Massage Licensure Board 
HEALTH RELATED BOARDS 

665 Mainstream Drive 
Nashville, TN  37243 

 For Federal Express or Special 
Courier: 

 Massage Licensure Board 
HEALTH RELATED BOARDS 

665 Mainstream Drive 
Nashville, TN  37228 

 
3. Allow fourteen (14) working days for information mailed to our office to be received and placed in 

your file.  Federal Express or special courier services will not appreciably reduce the processing 
time.  Additionally, if Federal Express or special courier services are used you will be responsible 
for charges incurred.  The Board asks that you please give the Board office every consideration in 
this matter. 

 
4. If necessary documentation has not been received when your application has been received by 

the Board office, an initial deficiency letter will be sent to you. 
 
5. Absent any complicating factors, the average application processing time is three weeks.  

Once the application is completed, your file will be reviewed and an initial determination 
made.  You will be notified by letter of the initial determination. 

 
6.  Your establishment may not offer massage therapy until it is granted a license or 

authorization from the Board.  
 
7. You must enter your social security number.  State law requires social security numbers on this 

application. T.C.A. § 36-5-1301(a), as authorized by 42 U.S.C. § 405(c)(2)(C)(i). The number will 
be used to verify your identity and for any other purpose allowed by state or federal law. 

 
Thank you for your cooperation.  We will make every effort to expedite your application in an efficient 
manner. 
 
 
 
 

http://tn.gov/health/article/CBC-instructions
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For Office Use Only 
Fee Codes  81-001 - $   95.00 
  81-001 - $ 120.00 
  81-006 - $   10.00 
  Total $ 225.00 

STATE OF TENNESSEE 
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

HEALTH RELATED BOARDS 
665 MAINSTREAM DRIVE 

NASHVILLE, TENNESSEE  37243 

 
TENNESSEE MASSAGE LICENSURE BOARD 
(615) 253-2111 or 1-800-778-4123 ext. 2532111 

 

MASSAGE ESTABLISHMENT LICENSURE APPLICATION 
 
Please read all instructions carefully and complete all portions applicable to you.  If not applicable, put N/A.  Enclose a check                             
in the amount of Two Hundred Twenty-Five Dollars ($225.00) made payable to the State of Tennessee. 
 

Circle one:         Sole Proprietorship         Partnership         Corporation/LLC 
 
Name of Establishment:       ______________________________________________________________ 
 
Address of Establishment:    ______________________________________________________________ 
 
                                               ______________________________________________________________ 
     
                                               ______________________________________________________________ 
  
Establishment Phone No.:     ( )     
 
Applicant/Responsible Person’s Name:      
                                                    Address:           
                                                                             
 
Is Applicant/Responsible Person a Licensed Massage Therapist?     Yes   No 
 
Applicant/Responsible Person’s Phone No.:          Home:          
     Office:          
                                                                              E-mail:   
 
Applicant/Responsible Person’s Social Security No:    
 
Applicant/Responsible Person’s Date of Birth:    
 
Is Applicant/Responsible Person a U.S. citizen?  _____ Yes   _____ No   
 
Is Applicant/Responsible Person entitled to live and work in the U.S.  _____ Yes  _____ No 
 
Is English your first language?  _________  If not, please list your first language:  ____________________ 
 
Is someone other than the Applicant/Responsible person completing this application?________  If so, please 
provide name, address, and contact number:  __________________________________________ 
_____________________________________________________________________________________ 
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Section 1 
 

List All Establishment Owners/Shareholders (including yourself, if applicable, attach list if necessary) Each 
person or entity listed herein must complete and submit Attachment 1-OWNERSHIP OR PROCEEDS 
DISCLOSURE FORM 
 

Name: Phone Number:  ( ) 

Address: Street/P.O. Box/RR # City State Zip Code 

     

Name: Phone Number:  ( ) 

Address: Street/P.O. Box/RR # City State Zip Code 

     

Name: Phone Number:  ( ) 

Address: Street/P.O. Box/RR # City State Zip Code 

     

Name: Phone Number:  ( ) 

Address: Street/P.O. Box/RR # City State Zip Code 

     

Name: Phone Number:  ( ) 

Address: Street/P.O. Box/RR # City State Zip Code 

Section 2 
 

If applicable, list All Massage Therapist Practicing in the Establishment (including yourself) 
 

Name: Lic. #  

Address: Street/P.O. Box/RR # City State Zip Code 

     

Name: Lic. #  

Address: Street/P.O. Box/RR # City State Zip Code 

     

Name: Lic. #  

Address: Street/P.O. Box/RR # City State Zip Code 

     

Name: Lic. #  

Address: Street/P.O. Box/RR # City State Zip Code 

     

Name: Lic. #  

Address: Street/P.O. Box/RR # City State Zip Code 

     

Name: Lic. #  

Address: Street/P.O. Box/RR # City State Zip Code 

     

Name: Lic. #  

Address: Street/P.O. Box/RR # City State Zip Code 

     

 
Are any owners of the massage establishment not licensed as a health professional in Tennessee?  _____ Yes _____ No 
 
Has the establishment been open for business prior to the date of application being submitted?         _____ Yes _____ No 

 
Please list days and office hours of the facility:  ___________________________________________________________ 
 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
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APPLICANT:  FILL OUT THE FOLLOWING AFFIDAVIT IN THE PRESENCE OF A NOTARY 
PUBLIC 

AFFIDAVIT AND RELEASE 
 

I,   of    
  (Applicant's Name)      (City)   (State) 
being duly sworn and identified as the person referred to in this application, attest to the truth of each 
statement made in said application.  I further swear that I have read and understand the law and the rules 
and regulations which were enclosed in the application packet and agree to abide by them in the operation 
of the massage establishment for which I am seeking licensure. 
 

I HEREBY: 
 

SIGNIFY my willingness to appear to answer such questions as the Board may find necessary which may 
include an interview. 
 

AFFIRM that I am accountable to the Tennessee Massage Licensure Board for this establishment’s 
compliance with all state statutes and regulations governing the practice of massage therapy. 
 

AFFIRM that I will notify the Tennessee Massage Licensure Board within thirty (30) days of any change 
relating to names, addresses and telephone numbers of all persons who have any ownership interest in or 
who receive any disbursement of income, other than employment salary. 
 

AFFIRM that anytime there is a change in massage therapists performing massage therapy at the 
establishment, I shall submit copies of the massage therapists’ license to the Tennessee Massage 
Licensure Board within thirty (30) days of such change. 

 

AUTHORIZE the Board, its staff and their representatives to consult with my prior and current associates 
and others who may have information bearing on my professional competence, character, health status, 
ethical qualifications, ability to work cooperatively with others and any other qualifications. 
 

RELEASE from liability the Board, its staff and all their representatives, any and all organizations which 
provide information for their acts performed and statements made in good faith and without malice 
concerning my competence, ethics, character and other qualifications for licensure. 
 

ACKNOWLEDGE that I, as an applicant for licensure, have the burden of producing adequate information 
for a proper evaluation of my professional, ethical and other qualifications and for resolving any doubts 
about such qualifications. 
 

AUTHORIZE, release, use and disclosure of otherwise HIPAA protected health information to the limited 
extent necessary for my application to receive full consideration up to and including discussion in a public 
forum should that become necessary. 
 

THIS CERTIFIES THAT THE INFORMATION SUBMITTED BY ME IN THIS APPLICATION IS TRUE AND 
COMPLETE TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE AND BELIEF. 
 
 

     
    SIGNATURE       DATE 
 

Sworn to before me this               day of      , 20   . 
 

          
 NOTARY PUBLIC        Affix Seal Here 
 

My Commission expires       
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Massage Establishment Licensure Application 
Attachment 1      

 
 

STATE OF TENNESSEE 
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

BUREAU OF HELATH LICENSURE AND REGULATION 
DIVISION OF HEALTH RELATED BAORDS 

TENNESSEE MASSAGE LICENSURE BOARD 
665 MAINSTREAM DRIVE 

NASHVILLE, TN 37243 
(615) 253-2111 or 1-800-778-4123 ext. 2532111 

 
OWNERSHIP OR PROCEEDS DISCLOSURES 

 
 

I, the undersigned, have been identified as either the applicant, its legal representative or as a person holding an ownership 
interest in the massage establishment identified below.  I am aware of the legal requirements of a lawfully operated 
massage establishment. 
 

Name of massage establishment:              

Address:                                      _________________________________________________________________________   

                                                    _________________________________________________________________________                                                                            

  
Your Name: ___________________________________ 

Mailing Address: ___________________________________ 

                           ___________________________________ 

   ___________________________________ 

  
Home Phone:              (          )________-_______________ 

Office Phone:              (          )________-_______________     

 
If licensed as a massage therapist provide license number:           
 

PLEASE ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS.  If you answer “yes” to any of the questions in this part, you must 
supplement your affirmative response with a thorough explanation on a separate page.   In support of your explanation, 
the final document or orders from the issuing states, courts, and/or agencies must be submitted along with this 
application.  Additional information may be requested and/or required before a licensure decision may be made. 
 
(a)  Have you ever  been convicted (including a nolo contendere plea or guilty plea) of a felony or misdemeanor whether 

or not sentence was imposed or suspended?  Yes _____  No _____ 
 
(b) Have you ever applied for or held a license, registration, privilege or certificate in any profession that has ever been 

denied, reprimanded, suspended, restricted, revoked, otherwise disciplined, curtailed, or voluntarily surrendered 
under threat of investigation or disciplinary action in any jurisdiction including in Tennessee?  Yes _____  No _____ 

 
(c)  Have you had any civil lawsuit judgment or civil lawsuit settlement entered against you in which you were a party 

defendant including, without limitation, actions involving malpractice, breach of contract, antitrust activity or any other 
civil action remedy recognized under the country’s or state’s statutory common or case law?  Yes _____  No _____ 

 
(d)  Have you previously applied for a massage therapist license in Tennessee?  Yes _____  No _____ 
 
(e) Have you previously applied for a massage establishment license in Tennessee?  Yes _____  No _____ 
 
(f)  Do you as the applicant have the ability to read, write, speak and understand English fluently?  Yes _____  No _____ 
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(g) Have you as the applicant read and do you understand the rules and regulations of the Tennessee Massage Licensure 

Board?     Yes _____  No _____ 
 
(h) Do you currently own or have you ever owned a massage establishment?  Yes _____  No _____ 
      
      If yes, please list all current and former massage establishments you have owned:  ___________________________ 
 
 _______________________________________________________________________________________________   
       
 
 
Please return the completed form to: Tennessee Massage Licensure Board 
     665 Mainstream Drive 
     Nashville, TN 37243 
 
 
 
 

I certify that all of the foregoing is true and correct to the best of my knowledge, information and belief. 

 

 

 

________________________________________________                  _________________________ 

                                   SIGNATURE                                                                                 DATE 
 


