
 
 

Amended Policy Statement 
 
 

The Board of Chiropractic Examiners adopted the following amended policy statement on 
November 9, 2004, which was further amended January 1, 2007. 
 
A Chiropractic Physician licensed in Tennessee is required to complete twenty-four (24) clock 
hours of Board approved continuing education annually. 
 
Should the Tennessee licensed Chiropractic Physician fail to obtain the required amount of 
continuing education during the calendar year, the following shall occur:  1.  The licensee 
must pay a civil penalty in the amount of six hundred dollars ($600.00) and payment 
rendered within 30 days upon notification from the Board.  The licensee must make up the 
amount of hours that he/she is deficient in addition to the continuing education hours 
necessary to be obtained annually.  The deficient hours must be made up within the 
following calendar year.  Documented proof of the deficient hours obtained must be 
submitted to the Board upon completion.  Failure to fulfill these conditions may result in 
disciplinary action.  Failure to respond and obtain the deficient hours after receipt of 
notification, may result in additional and/or other penalties. 
 
*A licensee is exempt from the continuing education requirements for the calendar year that 
he/she is licensed.  Waiver of continuing education may be granted as stated in Rule 0260-2-.12 
(7) (a) – (c). 


