
 Welcome to the State of Tennessee Group Insurance Program New 
Employee Benefits Orientation for State and Higher Education employees. 
This presentation will provide an overview of the benefits available to you as 
a new employee. 

 The presentation will run through all of the slides without stopping. However, 
if you would like to hear a section again, you may pause and rewind at any 
time. You may also use the tabs on the right side of your screen to review by 
section. 



 The State provides a comprehensive benefits package for you and your 
eligible dependents. It includes health, dental, vision, accident, life and long-
term care insurance and other financial and counseling benefits.  

 You have many options. Some of the benefits explained in this presentation 
are only available during the new hire period. Your Agency Benefits 
Coordinator (ABC) can tell you how long your new hire period lasts.  

 If you have questions after the presentation, please make sure to follow up 
with your ABC. 



 More detailed information about the topics in this presentation can be found 
in the Eligibility and Enrollment Guide on the Benefits Administration website 
(tn.gov/finance/section/fa-benefits) under the “Publications” page. 

 Your ABC will provide you with an employee checklist to confirm that you 
have received this important benefit information. After the presentation, 
please sign the checklist and return it to your ABC. 



 As required by law, the State of Tennessee Group Health Program has 
created a Summary of Benefits and Coverage (SBC for short). It describes 
your health coverage options. 

 You can read and print it from the main page of the Benefits Administration 
website at tn.gov/finance/section/fa-benefits by clicking on Summary of 
Benefits. You may also request a free printed copy from your ABC.  

 Most information found in the SBC is covered in more detail in other 
publications like the Eligibility and Enrollment Guide, Plan Document and 
Member Handbooks. These can be found under the “Publications” tab on 
the same website.  



 The State of Tennessee Group Insurance Program covers three groups: 

 The State Plan for State and Higher Education employees 

 The Local Education Plan for  K-12 teachers and support staff and 

 The Local Government Plan for employees of quasi-governmental 
agencies and municipalities 

 We spend about $1.3 billion annually in claims costs for our nearly 300,000 
members.  

 The Plan is self-insured. All claims are paid through the combined premiums 
of our members and any contributions that your employer makes toward 
your monthly premium. The State is the plan administrator rather than an 
insurance company. The State contracts with insurance carriers to manage 
the Plan’s provider networks, provide member services and manage claims 
payments on behalf of the State.  

 Benefits Administration manages the Plan and works with your ABC to 
communicate program information. Your ABC will help you with any benefits-
related questions or concerns you may have.  



 Full-time employees are eligible for benefits. For insurance purposes, a full-
time employee is defined as someone regularly scheduled to work no less 
than 30 hours per week in a non-seasonal, non-temporary position.  

 If you have a family, you may choose to also cover your eligible dependents. 
A dependent can be a legally married spouse or a child up to age 26. To be 
considered an eligible dependent, children must be natural, adopted or step-
children or children for whom you are the legal guardian.  

 If you have a disabled child, you may be able to continue coverage for your 
child after age 26. For more information refer to the Eligibility and Enrollment 
Guide or consult your ABC.  

 If you are currently enrolled in TennCare, you must inform your caseworker 
at TennCare of your new employment within 10 days of your hire date. You 
must report  your new job, salary and that you have access to medical 
insurance with your new employer.  

 If you have a dependent child on another plan including TennCare, the child 
can be carried on another plan.  



 There are only three times when you may add health coverage: 

 The first is right now, when you are a new employee 

 The second is during Annual Enrollment in the fall 

 And the third is if you experience a special qualifying event during the 
year such as marriage, the birth of a baby or a spouse losing his or her 
coverage. If you do not select coverage now, but you later experience a 
special qualifying event, you must submit paperwork within 60 days of the 
event to add coverage. For a complete list of special qualifying events 
contact your ABC.  



 An Annual Enrollment period is held each fall for most programs.  

  You can choose health insurance options: 

 Enroll in or cancel health insurance for yourself or your eligible 
dependents 

 Choose or switch your health insurance plan option 

 Select or change your health insurance carrier (BlueCross BlueShield or 
Cigna) 

 Enroll in, cancel or transfer between dental options (Cigna or MetLife). 

 Enroll in, cancel or transfer between vision coverage (EyeMed Basic and 
Expanded). 

 Enroll in or cancel optional accidental death coverage. 

 Apply for, cancel, increase or decrease optional term life insurance if eligible. 

 If you don’t enroll in health insurance as a new employee, you will have the 
option to enroll during the fall Annual Enrollment for coverage effective Jan. 
1 the following year.  



 There are three times that you can cancel your health, dental or vision 
coverage later: 

 During Annual Enrollment.  

 If you become ineligible to continue coverage. For example, this could 
occur if you switch from full-time to part-time employment.  

 Or if you experience one of the qualifying events listed on the Insurance 
Cancel Request Application.  

 It’s important to remember that, outside of Annual Enrollment, you cannot 
cancel coverage at any other time during the plan year unless you 
experience one of the approved qualifying events or you become ineligible to 
continue coverage.  



 Let’s review some of the terms we use frequently to discuss insurance 
benefits.  

 Premiums are the amount you pay each month for your coverage 
regardless of whether or not you receive health services. Your premium will 
be deducted from your paycheck automatically. Ask your ABC how your 
department handles monthly premiums to be sure.  

 A copay is a flat dollar amount you pay for services and products, like office 
visits and prescriptions.  

 A deductible is a set dollar amount that you pay out-of-pocket each year for 
services. It’s important to note that there are separate deductibles for in-
network and out-of-network services.  

 Coinsurance is a form of payment where you pay a percentage of the cost 
for a service after meeting your deductible.  



 The limit to the amount of money you are responsible for paying each year in deductibles, 
co-insurance and copays is called the out-of-pocket maximum. Once you reach your 
medical out-of-pocket maximum, the plan pays eligible expenses for the rest of the year 
and you won’t have to pay any more out-of-pocket. This does not apply to premiums. 
There are also separate out-of-pocket maximums for in-network and out-of-network 
services. Please note: There is a separate pharmacy out-of-pocket maximum for the PPO 
plans but pharmacy is included in the CDHP out-of-pocket maximum. 

 A network is a group of doctors, hospitals and other providers contracted with a health 
insurance plan to provide services to plan members at pre-negotiated fees. Because the 
insurance company has not negotiated a lower price with out-of-network providers, you 
will pay higher amounts for services from those providers.  

 All services have a maximum allowable charge or MAC. This is the most that a plan will 
pay for a service. When you visit an in-network provider, you don’t have to worry about 
exceeding the MAC. In-network providers agree in advance to fees that don’t exceed the 
maximum. If you see an out-of-network provider who charges more than the MAC for non-
emergency services, you will pay the additional amount due. 

 To view a complete list of terms and definitions, see the Eligibility and Enrollment Guide or 
visit the ParTNers for Health website.  

 



 We also have ALEX! 

 ALEX is the new tool that explains your benefits choices and may help you 
choose which plan is best for you. Alex is available online 24/7. 

 Go to www.partnersforhealthtn.gov and click on ALEX for State and 
Higher Education. This tool will walk you through your health plan options 
and estimated costs based on information you enter into the decision tool. 

 ALEX also includes information about dental and vision, and EAP services 
and tax savings information that is especially helpful for the new CDHP/HSA 
options. 

 

http://www.partnersforhealthtn.gov/


 Now, let’s look at the health insurance options available to you through the 
State Group Insurance Program. When making your health insurance 
selection, there are three decisions to make:  

1. Insurance options  

– Partnership PPO (includes the Partnership Promise) 

– Standard PPO 

– Wellness HealthSavings CDHP,  (includes the Partnership Promise) 
the state will contribute to your Health Savings Account, or HSA. 

– And the HealthSavings CDHP (the state will NOT contribute to your 
Health Savings Account.) 

2. Insurance carriers  

– BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee Network S 

– Cigna LocalPlus network 

3. Premium levels (tiers) 

  



 We’ll start with Preferred Provider Organizations, also known as PPOs 

 With a PPO, you can visit any doctor or hospital you want. The PPO has a 
list of in-network doctors, hospitals and other providers that you are 
encouraged to use. Note that these in-network providers have agreed to take 
lower fees so you pay less for services. You will ALWAYS pay more for non-
emergency services from out-of-network providers. 

 We offer two PPOs, the Partnership PPO and Standard PPO: 

 Same services and treatments, but you’ll pay less in copays and 
coinsurance with the Partnership PPO. 

 You’ll pay your deductible first before coinsurance applies for some 
services. 

 A separate out-of-pocket maximum for medical and pharmacy. 

 You’ll pay for prescriptions with copays. 

 Once you reach your out-of-pocket maximum, the plan pays 100% for in-
network services. 

 

 



• The State also offers two Consumer Driven Health Plan or a CDHP plans. 

You may also hear it sometimes called a High Deductible Health Plan or 

HDHP. 

 

• The HealthSavings CDHPs provide comprehensive health coverage while 

giving members a way to save pre-tax funds to pay for qualified medical 

expenses. 

 

• Plans include a Health Savings Account (HSA) which can be used to pay for 

qualified medical, behavioral health, dental and vision expenses. 

 

• You have two different options: 

1. Wellness HealthSavings CDHP – With this option, you must agree 

to complete the 2016 Partnership Promise. In 2016, the state will put 

$500 for employee coverage or $1,000 for family coverage in your 

Health Savings Account (HSA) for you to use tax free for qualified 

medical expenses*. 

2. HealthSavings CDHP – Does not include the Partnership Promise 

and the state will not put funds into a HSA. You can choose to fund 

your HSA on your own, and the money will still be tax free if used for 

qualified medical expenses.  

 

 

 



 With the HealthSavings CDHP options you have: 

 A lower monthly premium but a higher deductible. 

 A tax-free HSA – which you own and can use for qualified medical, dental 

and vision expenses, even if you leave your job or change health 

insurance plans. 

 To meet your deductible before the plan starts paying for covered 

expenses. But you can use the money in your HSA to pay for qualified 

medical expenses, including your deductible.   

 No separate deductible or out-of-pocket maximum for pharmacy. 

 Coinsurance instead of copays after you meet your deductible, until you 

reach your out-of-pocket maximum.   

 A lower total out-of-pocket maximum compared to the PPO’s separate out-

of-pocket maximums for pharmacy and medical/behavioral health. 

  

 



Here is a chart that shows how the HealthSavings CDHPs work: 

 Preventive care is covered in-network at 100%. 

 You pay for health care expenses based on discounted network rates up to 

the deductible amount. 

 When the deductible is met, you pay coinsurance for medical services at 

either 20% or 30% depending on which HealthSavings plan you choose. 

 For pharmacy – maintenance drugs are paid at 10% coinsurance (Wellness 

HealthSavings CDHP) without having to first meet the deductible. 

Maintenance drugs are paid at 20% for the HealthSavings CDHP (without 

Partnership Promise). 

 When the out-of-pocket maximum is met, the plan pays 100% for eligible in-

network expenses. 

 



Here is a chart that highlights some of the differences between the PPOs 

and the HealthSavings CDHPs: 

 The HealthSavings CDHP deductibles are higher than the Partnership and 

Standard PPOs. 

 

 The medical out-of-pocket maximum for the Wellness HealthSavings CDHP 

is the same as the Partnership PPO – but the pharmacy out-of-pocket 

maximum is included with medical. There is no separate pharmacy out-of-

pocket with the CDHP. 

 

 The HSA is only available with the CDHP plans.   

 



CDHP Enrollment Restrictions 

• You cannot have a CDHP with a HSA and be enrolled in another plan, 
including a PPO, your spouse’s plan or any government plan including 
Medicare A and/or B, Medicaid, TRICARE. 

• If you retire mid-year and enroll in Medicare, you cannot contribute to 
your HSA. You can use the funds though to pay for qualified medical 
expenses. 

• NOTE: Your covered spouse or dependents may be able to have 
other coverage and coverage with your plan. Check IRS guidelines. 

• If you are eligible for VA medical benefits and did not receive benefits during 
the preceding three months, you can enroll in and make contributions to your 
HSA. 

• If you receive VA benefits in the future, then you are NOT entitled to 
contribute to your HSA for another three months. 

• You cannot be claimed as a dependent by someone else.  

• For other restrictions go to IRS.gov 

 



What are the benefits of a HSA? 

• The money you save in the HSA (both yours and any employer 
contributions) rolls over each year. 

• You can use money in your account to pay your deductible and qualified 
medical, behavioral health, vision and dental expenses even if not covered 
by insurance like hearing aids, contact lens supplies and acupuncture with a 
great tax advantage.    

• The money is yours! You don’t lose it at the end of the year. You take it with 
you if you leave or retire. 

• The HSA offers tax advantages: 

1. Both employer and employee contributions are tax free. 

2. Withdrawals for qualified medical expenses are tax free. 

3. Interest earned is tax free. 

• It also serves as another retirement savings account option. Money in your 
account can be used tax free for health expenses even after you retire. And, 
when you turn 65, it can be used for non-medical expenses. But non-medical 
expenses will be taxed. 

 



• You can contribute pre-tax money to your HSA through payroll deduction to 

cover your qualified medical expenses, including your deductible. 

• You can also make post-tax contributions and claim it on your taxes. 

• You cannot fund or use your HSA if  you or your spouse (even if he or she is 

not covered on your plan) have money in a medical FSA the same calendar 

year.   

 You can contribute up to the IRS allowable maximums: 

• In 2016, IRS guidelines allow total tax-free contributions up to $3,350 
for individuals and $6,750 for families annually.  

• At age 55 and older, you can make an additional $1,000/year 
contribution ($4,350 for individuals or $7,750 for families) 

• If the state contributes money to your account, it counts toward the 
contribution maximum. 

 

 Higher Ed employees:  Please work with your ABC to set up your payroll 
deduction contribution. 

 

 



• PayFlex will ask you for additional information.   

• PayFlex, the state’s HSA vendor, will send you a debit card.   

• You will register and access your PayFlex HSA online at 
www.stateoftn.payflexdirect.com.  

• You may request additional cards from PayFlex. 

 

http://www.stateoftn.payflexdirect.com/


• The PayFlex Card is a convenient way to pay for eligible expenses 
automatically, as long as funds are available. Keep your receipts for audit 
purposes. 

 

• Or, you can pay for your eligible medical expenses with cash, check or 
personal credit card and pay yourself back from your HSA by transferring 
funds online to your bank  account. 

 

• Use PayFlex’s online feature to pay your provider directly from your account. 

 

• You can also contribute post-tax dollars from your checking or savings 
account online and file for the deduction on your tax return. 

 



The PayFlex free mobile app 

• Makes it easy for you to manage your account online 24/7 

• Available for iPhone and iPad mobile digital devices, Android and 
BlackBerry  

• Can upload photos of your receipts of qualified expenses for tax 
purposes 

 

• Earn interest and invest your money 

• Earn interest each month on the money in your HSA 

• When your account balance reaches $1,000 -  you can invest the 
funds over this amount online   

 

• Account fees: The state will pay for your HSA monthly maintenance fee 
as long as you are enrolled in a HealthSavings CDHP. You are 
responsible for standard banking fees like non-sufficient funds, stop 
payments, overdrafts and investment fees.  

• If you leave your job, retire or choose a PPO option in the future, you 
will be responsible for paying HSA maintenance fees. 

 



 If you enroll in the Partnership PPO or the Wellness HealthSavings CDHP, 
you pay lower costs by agreeing to complete simple steps for better health. 
These steps are called the Partnership Promise. 

 The Partnership Promise is an annual commitment. 

 You agree to fulfill the Partnership Promise each year you are enrolled in the 
Partnership PPO or Wellness HealthSavings CDHP. You will not be required 
to sign a new promise each year. 

 You and all eligible family members must enroll in the same healthcare 
option. Your dependent spouse must also agree to the Partnership Promise. 

 Children are not required to complete the steps. 

 Healthways administers the Partnership Promise. 

 Requirements may change each year.  



Goal of the Partnership Promise: To help you get and stay healthy. 

 Poor health costs all of us.   

But we can reduce healthcare costs with personal choices. Most members 
want to lose weight, eat healthy, increase exercise and quit tobacco. The 
Partnership Promise provides tools and resources to help members get and 
stay healthy and support those with chronic conditions. 



 2016 new members and their covered spouses must: 

 Complete the online Well-Being Assessment (WBA)  

 Get a biometric health screening from your physician   

 New employees who enroll in the Partnership PPO or the Wellness 
HealthSavings CDHP must complete the steps within 120 days from the day 
your coverage begins. If you fail to do so, you and your dependents will be 
transferred to a different plan the following year. 

 Note: Employees with coverage effective dates of September 1 – December 
1 DO NOT have to complete the Partnership Promise requirements within 
120 days. 

 If you think you might be unable to fulfill the Partnership Promise, call 
our ParTNers for Health Wellness Program at 1-888-741-3390, and they 
will work with you and/or your physician, if you wish, to find an 
alternate way for you to meet the Promise. 



 The next step is to choose between two carriers:   

 BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee, which offers Network S. 

 And Cigna, which offers the LocalPlus Network. 

 You may choose between these two carriers, regardless of health option you 
select.  

 Check the networks carefully for your preferred doctor or hospital when 
making your selection. 

 Provider directories are available on the ParTNers for Health website 
(partnersforhealthtn.gov), by calling the carrier or from your ABC. 

• The online directories are found on the carrier’s website and are always 
the most current version of the provider directories.  

 

 



 Once you have selected your health option and carrier, you will need to 
choose your premium level. The amount you pay in premiums depends on 
the option you choose and the number of people you cover under the plan. 
There are four premium levels available: Employee Only, Employee + Child 
or Children, Employee + Spouse and Employee + Spouse + Child or 
Children.  

 For most people, choosing a premium level is easy. The level depends on 
the eligible dependents you want to cover your health plan.  

 Just remember, if you’re enrolling as a family all of you must be enrolled in 
the same state group health insurance option with the same insurance 
carrier. 



 If you are married to an employee who works for the State, Higher Education 
or a participating Local Government or Local Education agency, you can 
each enroll in employee-only coverage. If you do that, you can each choose 
your own health benefit option and insurance carrier, just like any two plan 
members who are not married. If you have dependent children, consider 
your options carefully and choose the one that makes the most sense for 
you and your family. 

 If you and your spouse are both State and Higher Education employees, you 
may each want to consider enrolling in employee only coverage or, if you 
have children, one of you may want to enroll in employee + child or children, 
to ensure that you receive the maximum life insurance benefit. However, an 
individual may only be covered under one policy.  



 For active employees, the State pays 80 percent of the total premium; 
employees pay only 20 percent. 

 A complete chart for all coverage tiers is available in the Eligibility & 
Enrollment Guide and on the ParTNers for Health website. 

 Partnership PPO and Wellness HealthSavings plan members receive lower 
premiums by agreeing to the Partnership Promise. 

 Wellness HealthSavings CDHP members receive state contributions in their 
HSAs. 



Here is an overview of the deductibles and out-of-pocket costs under 

each plan based on in-network services: 

 The HealthSavings CDHP deductibles are higher than the Partnership and 

Standard PPOs. 

 

 The medical out-of-pocket maximum for the Wellness HealthSavings CDHP 

is the same as the Partnership PPO – but the pharmacy out-of-pocket 

maximum is included with medical. There is no separate pharmacy out-of-

pocket with the CDHP. 

 

 The HSA is only available with the CDHP plans.   

 

 Please check the Eligiblity and Enrollment guide for more detail and for out-

of-network cost deductibles and out-of-pocket maximums.   

 

 



 Regular preventive care is one of the most important things you can do to 
stay healthy, so we want to take a minute to highlight the free preventive 
care available to you on all state health plan options. Free preventive 
services if received by an in-network provider, include: 

 Flu and pneumococcal vaccinations 

 Annual physical exam 

 Annual well-woman visit 

 Osteoporosis screening for women 

 Screenings for colon, breast or cervical cancer, and more 

 For some procedures, different medical criteria may apply based on the 
carrier you select. 

 



 Deductibles and out-of-pocket maximums for in-network and out-of-network 
services add up separately. For the purpose of this example, we are looking 
at costs for someone with single coverage in the Partnership PPO. 

 If you incur in-network expenses, that amount goes toward the in-network 
deductible of $450 and out-of-pocket maximum of $2,300. If you incur out-of-
network expenses, that amount goes toward the out-of-network deductible of 
$800 and out-of-pocket maximum of $3,500. Also, eligible pharmacy 
expenses apply separately toward the pharmacy out-of-pocket maximum. 

 Only eligible expenses will apply toward the deductible and out-of-pocket 
maximum. Charges for non-covered services and amounts exceeding the 
maximum allowable charge will not be counted.  

 PPO copays do not count toward your deductible but do apply to out-of-
pocket maximums, except for Partnership and Standard PPO in-network 
pharmacy costs which have a separate out-of-pocket maximum.  



 Your health plan includes pharmacy benefits. It is automatically included 
when you enroll in health insurance. 

 Pharmacy benefits are administered by CVS/Caremark, one of the largest 
pharmacy benefits managers in the country. Their network of more than 
1,600 pharmacies in Tennessee includes many major chains and 
independent pharmacies. And more than 900 of them in Tennessee will fill 
90-day prescriptions in the Retail 90 Network. 

 The State’s prescription drug coverage provides free tobacco quit aids to 
members who want to stop using tobacco products. 

 You can refer to the Eligibility and Enrollment Guide or the ParTNers for 
Health website for more information about pharmacy benefits.  



 While the coverage for prescription drugs is the same for both PPOs, the 
copays will be less expensive in the Partnership PPO.  

 With both CDHPs you must pay the full negotiated cost for drugs up to the 
deductible. Then, your coinsurance kicks in, which is ten percent lower with 
the Wellness HealthSavings CDHP. 

 You will also save money by using the 90-day network to receive your 
medications through mail order or at a participating “mail at retail” pharmacy. 
Please note: Specialty medications have a 30-day supply limit and must be 
filled at a CVS/Caremark specialty network pharmacy. 

 You can see from the chart that copays and co-insurance are lower for 
certain maintenance medications, when you use the mail order benefit or a 
90-day network retail pharmacy. These specific maintenance medications 
include statins, antihypertensives and meds for asthma, COPD, depression, 
coronary artery disease, congestive heart failure and oral diabetic 
medications, insulins and supplies. Please note that diabetic supplies include 
needles, test trips and lancets only.   



 Employee Assistance Program (EAP): 

 The Employee Assistance Program, or EAP,  is offered to all employees 

and dependents who are benefits eligible. You do not have to be enrolled 

in State Group Insurance Program to receive this benefit.  

 The Employee Assistance Program (EAP) helps you and your family with 

both workplace and personal issues.  

 Services are free, confidential and available to members 24/7.  

 You and your eligible dependents may get up to five, free counseling 

sessions per problem episode, per year. 

 Your EAP also offers work-life services, financial and legal services, 

assistance finding eldercare and dependent care services and much 

more. 

 Work/Life Resources include: 

 Finding solutions to the challenges you may face throughout all life 

stages. Such as prenatal care, adoption, infant and child care, education 

resources, retirement planning, senior care and special needs services, 

and more.  

 Legal/Financial Consultations include: 

 Talking with an attorney to discuss your legal concerns. You may choose 

to have a phone or in-person consultation with a local attorney. The initial 

session is free to you.  

 You can be connected with a financial expert for a telephone consultation.  

Additional sessions are offered at a discounted rate after your first free 

hour. 

 



 Call 1.855.HERE4TN (1.855.437.3486), or visit www.HERE4TN.com.  



 Members and their dependents enrolled in health coverage have behavioral 
health and substance abuse treatment benefits through Magellan Health.  

 Call 1.855.HERE4TN (1.855.437.3486) or visit www.HERE4TN.com to 
access services or to speak with a trained professional for a referral day 
or night and also access services: 

– Outpatient assessment and treatment 

– Inpatient assessment and treatment 

– Alternative care such as partial hospitalization, residential treatment 
and intensive outpatient treatment 

– Treatment follow-up and aftercare 

 To receive maximum benefit coverage, participants must use a network 
provider. In some instances, such as inpatient care, preauthorization is 
required. 

 Copays and co-insurances for these services are based on your PPO and 
CDHP selection. Prior authorization is required for some outpatient and all 
inpatient services.  



 Now let’s talk about dental benefits. You can choose between two dental 
plans – a Prepaid Plan and a Dental Preferred Provider Organization often 
called a DPPO.  

 You do not have to be enrolled in health coverage to enroll in dental 
insurance. 

 In the prepaid plan, you must select from a specific group of dentists. 

 Under the DPPO plan, you may visit the dentist of your choice; however, 
members receive maximum savings when visiting a DPPO network provider.  

 Both dental options have specific guidelines for benefits such as exams and 
major procedures, and have a four-tier premium structure just like health 
insurance. Be sure to check with the dental provider to make sure the dentist 
you want is in the network.  

 Like health insurance, you pay premiums upfront for dental coverage 
regardless of whether or not you use any services. What you pay depends 
on the plan you choose. However, unlike health insurance where a portion of 
the premium is paid by the employer, the cost of dental insurance is paid 100 
percent by the employee.  



 The Prepaid Plan is administered by Cigna and provides services at 
predetermined copay amounts from a limited network of participating 
dentists and specialists. The network is Cigna Dental Care (HMO).  

 To receive benefits, you must select a dentist from the Prepaid Plan list and 
notify Cigna of your selection.  

 There are some areas in the state where the network dentists are not 
available and some may not accept new prepaid members. Review the 
provider directory carefully. 

 You must use your selected dentist to receive benefits. 
 This plan provides services at predetermined member copay amounts 

(reduced fees) for dental treatments. 
 There are no deductibles to meet, no claims to file, no waiting periods for 

covered services, no annual dollar maximum and pre-existing conditions are 
covered.  

 Referrals are not required.  

 To find a dentist in Cigna’s network, visit the dental section of the ParTNers 

for Health website or call the Cigna call center at the number listed on the 

inside cover of the Eligibility and Enrollment Guide.  



The DPPO plan is administered by MetLife. It provides services with member 

coinsurance rates. 

 You can choose any dentist but maximum benefits are available when 

visiting an in-network MetLife DPPO Provider. The network is PDP. 

 You pay co-insurance for covered services. 

 Deductible applies for basic and major covered services for in and out of 

network providers. 

 You or your dentist will file claims for covered services.  

 Referrals to specialists are not required. 

 Some services such as crowns, dentures, implants, etc. require a 6-month or 

a 12-month waiting period before benefits begin. 

 Orthodontics and replacement of a missing tooth (non-congenital) require a 

12-month waiting period before benefits begin. 

 There are limitations and exclusions, for example, no benefits for cosmetic 

reasons. 

 You can find a dentist in MetLife’s network by visiting the dental section of 

the ParTNers for Health website or by calling the customer service center at 

the number listed on the inside cover of the Eligibility and Enrollment Guide.  



 Just like health insurance, there are four premium levels from which you can 
choose for either plan. The premium level you select will depend on the 
number of dependents you choose to cover.  

 Dental services for both Cigna Prepaid Plan and MetLife DPPO plan include: 

 Periodic oral evaluations 

 Routine Cleanings 

 Amalgam fillings 

 Endodontics – Root Canal 

 X-rays 

 Extractions 

 Major restorations 

 Orthodontics 

 Dentures 



 The optional vision plan is administered by EyeMed Vision Care. 

 Choose from two plans: 

 With the basic plan, you pay a discounted rate or the plan pays a fixed-

dollar allowance for services and materials. 

 The expanded plan provides services with a combination of copays, 

allowances and discounted rates. 

 Both plans offer the same services including: 

 Annual routine eye exam (once every calendar year) 

 Frames (once every two calendar years) 

 Eyeglass lenses (once every calendar year) or contact lenses (once every 

calendar year) 

 Discount on Lasik/Refractive surgery 

 In-network and out-of-network benefits are available. Go to 

partnersforhealthtn.gov for a list of limitations and exclusions. 

 You will receive the maximum benefit when visiting a provider in EyeMed’s 

Select Network. 



 This chart shows the premiums associated with each vision plan. There are 
four premium levels from which you can choose, and the premium level you 
select will depend on the number of dependents you choose to cover.  

 Members are responsible for the full premium. 

 EyeMed offers some additional discounts: 

 40 percent off on additional pairs of eyeglasses at any network location, 
after the vision benefit has been used. 

 15 percent off conventional contact lenses after the benefit has been 
used. 

 20 percent off non-covered items such as lens cleaner, accessories and 
non-prescription sunglasses. 

 Expanded plan only: 25 percent to 50 percent savings on premium 
progressive lenses and anti-reflective lenses. 

 If you do not enroll in the vision plan as a new employee, you can add 
coverage later during Annual Enrollment. Each fall during Annual Enrollment, 
eligible employees can enroll in or transfer between vision options.  

 



 In addition to health, dental and vision benefits, you have access to other 
benefits – some you will receive automatically when you enroll in health 
insurance, while others are optional benefits in which you must choose to 
enroll. These additional benefits include the ParTNers for Health Wellness 
Program, life insurance, long-term care insurance, sick leave bank, flexible 
benefits and deferred compensation.  



ParTNers for Health Wellness Program 

You don’t have to be in the Partnership PPO or Wellness HealthSavings CDHP 
to take charge of your health and feel your best. The ParTNers for Health 
Wellness Program is FREE to all health insurance plan members. Everybody 
can take small steps to improve their health.   

The Wellness Resources include: 

 Coaching offers professional support to create and meet goals to improve 
your health.   

 Well-Being Assessment (WBA) is an online questionnaire to help you learn 
more about your health and identify any potential risk. New Partnership PPO 
and Wellness HealthSavings CDHP members must complete the WBA 
within 120 days.  

 Nurse Advice Line gives you medical information and support 24/7 at no 
cost to you. Call 888.741.3390 to reach the nurse line. 

 Quarterly Wellness Challenges offer a fun way to help you develop a 
healthier lifestyle while providing group support.   

 Weight Watchers at Work discounts and Fitness Center discounts offer 
affordable ways for members to improve their health.  



 Additional wellness and fitness discounts are available through the EAP 
program and our carriers BCBST and Cigna.  

 To access any of these services offered by the wellness program, contact the 
ParTNers for Health Wellness Program at 1-888-741-3390. 

 



 The Working for a Healthier Tennessee initiative was implemented under the 
leadership of Governor Bill Haslam and is supported by the ParTNers for 
Health Wellness Program and the ParTNers Employee Assistance Program.  

 It expands wellness resources to employees regardless of whether or not 
they are enrolled in health coverage.  

 Its goal is to encourage and enable employees to lead happier, healthier 
lives. Most departments have a Wellness Council to help employees improve 
in three key areas: physical activity, healthy eating and tobacco cessation.   

 

 



 The State provides, at no cost to you, $20,000 of basic term life insurance 
and $40,000 of basic accidental death and dismemberment insurance 
coverage. You are automatically enrolled for this coverage when you are 
hired.  

 The amount of basic term and basic accidental death and 
dismemberment begins to decrease when the employee reaches the 
age of 65. 

 If you enroll in health coverage, the amount of coverage automatically 
increases as your salary increases, with premiums for coverage above the 
$20,000 and $40,000 amounts automatically deducted from your paycheck. 
The maximum amount of coverage is $50,000 for basic term life insurance 
and $100,000 for accidental death and dismemberment insurance. For 
employees who do not enroll in health coverage, the amount of coverage 
does not increase regardless of salary.  

 If you enroll in family health coverage, your dependents enrolled in health 
insurance are covered for $3,000 of basic dependent term life coverage and 
for basic accidental death and dismemberment based on your salary and 
family composition.   

 There are also Life Insurance Resources for employees: 

 Travel assistance: Pre-trip resources as well as emergency assistance 
and transport services available 24/7 when 100+ miles from home. 



 Beneficiary Financial Counseling: Independent financial counseling 
services for beneficiaries. 

 Legacy Planning Resources: Assistance with resources designed to help 
families plan for end-of-life issues.  

 You can go to partnersforhealthtn.gov for more information. 



 In addition to the basic coverage, you and your dependents may also enroll 
in optional accidental death and dismemberment coverage. This coverage 
comes with an additional premium and pays an additional amount in the 
case of accidental death or dismemberment. New employees may enroll at 
the time they are hired or during Annual Enrollment each fall.  

 Coverage is available at low group rates, no questions asked. 

 Premiums vary by salary. 

 The maximum benefit for employees is $60,000. 

 Enroll in Optional Accidental Death & Dismemberment Insurance through 
Edison (ESS).  

 For more information you can also go to partnersforhealthtn.gov.  



 The State also gives you the option to buy Optional term life insurance.  

 Premiums for this plan are based on age and the amount of coverage requested. Optional 

Term Life insurance is a plan you own as an individual. That means you can keep the 

coverage if you leave your job or retire.  

 You and your dependent spouse and children may enroll in this coverage regardless of 

whether you enroll in health coverage.  

 For guaranteed issue coverage, you must enroll during the first 31 calendar days of 

employment. The coverage is effective the first of the month after you complete three full 

calendar months of employment. If you do not enroll when first eligible, you can apply for 

coverage during Annual Enrollment by answering health questions. 

 You may select up to five times your annual base salary if you apply when first eligible. 

You may apply for up to seven times your annual base salary, but evidence of good 

health is required. The minimum coverage level is $5,000 and the maximum coverage 

level is $500,000. 

 Your spouse may have $5,000, $10,000 or $15,000 of term life insurance at any age. 

Spouses below age 55 are eligible for increments of $5,000, subject to an overall 

maximum of $30,000. Proof of good health is required for spouse to enroll.  

 Children may be covered under either a $5,000 or a $10,000 term rider. Proof of good 

health is not required for children. 

 Optional term life insurance product is administered by Minnesota Life,  

lifebenefits.com/stateoftn.  

 

 You can now designate beneficiaries in Edison for Basic Term Life, Accidental Death & 

Dismemberment and Optional Accidental Death & Dismemberment.  



 Qualified employees, their eligible dependents (spouse and children ages 18 
– 25), retirees, parents and parents-in-law are eligible to enroll in long-term 
care insurance through MedAmerica. 

 It covers services required by individuals who are no longer able to care for 
themselves without the assistance of others. Natural aging, a serious illness 
or an accident may bring on this need. 

 Services covered include nursing home care, assisted living, home 
healthcare, home care and adult day care. 

 As a new employee, you have 90 days to enroll and have guaranteed-issue 
coverage. This means you will be allowed to enroll regardless of your health, 
age, gender or other factors that might predict your use of health services, 
such as a pre-existing condition.  

 You may still apply for coverage later, but will be subject to medical 
underwriting review. If they apply, your spouse, eligible dependent 
children (ages 18 through 26), parents and parents-in-law  must answer 
questions about their health status and will be subject to medical 
underwriting review.    

 The premium for this optional program is the full responsibility of the 
member. Premiums are based on the age of the insured at the time of 
enrollment. So the younger you are when you apply, the lower your monthly 
premium will be. You may choose to have the monthly premium taken from 
your payroll check or may opt for a direct bill arrangement with the carrier for 
quarterly, semi-annual or annual premium payment. 



 The Sick Leave Bank is administered by the Tennessee Department of 
Human Resources and provides additional sick leave benefits. It’s available 
to qualifying members who have exhausted their sick, compensatory and 
annual leave balances due to personal illness, injury, medical condition or 
quarantine. Members may receive grants of up to 90 days of sick leave from 
the bank within a 12-month period. 

 You must be employed for at least 12 full months and have at least six days 
of sick leave as of October 31st before you’re eligible to enroll in the Sick 
Leave Bank. Once eligible, you may enroll during the months of August, 
September or October of any year.  

 If you decide to join the Bank, you will initially have the equivalent of four 
days of sick leave deducted and donated to the Bank. The member must 
also be employed full time and in leave accruing status. Each following year 
a minimum of one day of sick leave will be deducted on October 1st.  

 New members are eligible to apply for grants of sick leave on February 1 
following enrollment. 

 For more detailed information, please refer to the Tennessee Department of 
Human Resources’ website. 



 A Flexible Benefits Plan is designed to help employees reduce taxes.  

 All State employees who receive regular paychecks are eligible to participate 
in the Flexible Benefits Plan. 

 It allows you to be reimbursed for certain expenses from your pre-tax income 
by enrolling in one of the following reimbursement accounts: 

 With a medical expenses reimbursement account, you can set aside 
money to pay for eligible medical expenses with your pre-tax contribution. 

 Note: You cannot have a medical flexible reimbursement account (FSA) 
and fund a Health Savings Account in the same year. You can have a 
limited-purpose FSA account to pay for dental and vision expenses. 

 The amount you can set aside for a dependent day care reimbursement 
account depends on your tax filing status.  

 Additional flex accounts are available for a parking reimbursement 
account and a transportation reimbursement account. 

 Please visit www.IRS.gov for more information and to determine 
contribution limits for 2016. 

 The amount you can contribute to a flex benefits account is set by the IRS 
and the limits are subject to change yearly.  

 Flexible Benefit deductions are taken from your pay check before federal  



income tax and Social Security tax are calculated. This means your taxes are 
calculated on the reduced amount.  

 To be reimbursed for an eligible expense: 

 Fill out a form located on the Department of Treasury’s website and fax or 
mail it to them. Once the expense is approved, the money is then 
deposited directly into your bank account. 

 Please note, Flexible Spending Accounts are tied to the insurance coverage 
effective date. FSA benefits will begin the same date as insurance coverage. For 
example, if your hire date is  8/2, coverage will begin on 10/1.  



 The state offers a Hybrid Pension plan. 

 New hires with the State will be enrolled in this plan. 

 Someone is also considered a new hire if he/she has ever lost 
membership in TCRS (i.e., the employee terminated or refunded 
contributions in the legacy plan or the employee terminated and refunded 
contributions in the former legacy plan or the employee terminated, was 
not vested, and was not employed for a period of seven years or more). 

 The Hybrid Pension Plan contains both a Defined Benefit and a Defined 
contribution component. 

 Defined benefit component is administered by TCRS 

 Defined contribution component is administered by Empower Retirement  

 The risk for this plan is shared by the Employer and the Employee. 

 Employees are required to contribute to the plan. 

 For more information about the defined benefit and the defined contribution 
including employee and State contribution percentages; employee rights 
regarding the account; auto-enrollment for defined contribution, go to the 
Treasury website at treasury.state.tn.us. 

 



 If you choose to enroll in health, dental, vision and optional AD&D benefits, 
you must use Edison Employee Self Service (ESS) to enroll.  

 Enrollment must be completed within 31 days of your hire date. If you want 
to cover your spouse or children, you will also need to provide 
documentation during this time to verify their relationship to you. Examples 
of dependent verification can include a marriage license and Federal Income 
Tax Return for a spouse or a birth certificate for a child. A complete list of 
required documentation for dependent verification can be found on the BA 
website (www.tn.gov/finance/section/fa-benefits) under the Forms tab in 
the Health and Dental box.  

 If you choose to enroll in any of the optional products we’ve discussed in this 
presentation, please consult their individual enrollment forms for submission 
deadlines. All enrollment forms will be provided by your ABC. 

 Please note: Optional Term Life enrollment is available through 
Minnesota Life’s website or by a paper enrollment form. 

 Also, Long-Term Care Insurance enrollment is available through the 
MedAmerica website or by completing a paper enrollment form.  

 



 Employees can enroll in health insurance and other benefit options online 
through Employee Self Service (ESS).  

 Online enrollment is easy and convenient. Simply log in to Edison using the 
username and temporary password provided by your Human Resource 
office or ABC. Navigate to bottom left hand side of the main page and select 
“Benefits Enrollment”. You will then click on the “Select” button to start 
enrollment. Follow the prompts to make your selections and the system will 
take you through the rest of the process. 

 If you are covering dependents, you can submit your dependent verification 
by uploading copies of the appropriate documentation in Edison. Or, if you 
do not have electronic copies, you may also fax the required documentation 
to the Benefits Administration service center at 615-741-8196. 



 Once you enroll, your health, vision, dental, basic term life insurance and 
Accidental Death and Dismemberment insurance coverage will begin on the 
first day of the month after one full calendar month of employment from your 
hire date.  

 For example, if you are hired September 15th, your coverage will begin on 
November 1st. Your ABC can help if you have questions about when your 
coverage begins.  



 Your ABC will tell you when your premiums will be deducted from your 
paycheck.  

 We do recommend entering your benefit selections in ESS or submitting 
your enrollment forms to your ABC as soon as possible.  

 If you do not enter your benefit selections early, In some instances, you 
could end up with a double deduction from your paycheck. 

 For example, double deductions will occur in the following scenario: 

– The employee’s hire date is July 31 (the employee has until August 31 
to enroll). 

– If the employee enters their enrollment in ESS after mid-August (i.e., 
after payroll “runs”) the employee will  have two months of premiums 
deducted. 

– In this instance, if the employee enters his or her elections NO LATER 
than the first week of August, they WILL NOT be double deducted.  

 



 Once your enrollment application has been processed, you will generally 
receive your new health insurance ID cards within three weeks.  

 If you enrolled in health coverage with BlueCross BlueShield, you will 
receive up to two ID cards automatically. The member’s name will be printed 
on all cards, but these cards may be used by any covered dependent. 

 If you choose health coverage with Cigna, you will receive separate ID cards 
for each insured family member with the participant’s name printed on each. 
Cigna will send up to four ID cards in each envelope and additional ID cards 
in a separate envelope.  

 After you receive your initial cards, if you need additional ID cards, you can 
request them by contacting the carriers directly.  

 In addition to your health insurance ID cards, you will also automatically 
receive separate pharmacy ID cards. If you are enrolled in family coverage, 
your ID cards may be sent in separate envelopes. 

 If you enroll in dental or vision coverage, you will typically receive your ID 
cards within three weeks.  



 A new law regarding retiree insurance was approved by the legislature in 
April of 2015. 

 As of July 1, 2015, retiree health insurance coverage for pre-65 retirees will 
not be available to any employee whose employment with the state first 
began on or after July 1, 2015. Employees hired before July 1, 2015, will be 
grandfathered in. 

 Medicare supplement medical insurance will not be available to any 
employees whose first employment with the state began on or after July 1, 
2015. Employees hired before July 1, 2015, will be grandfathered in. 

 Likewise, any senator, representative, governor if first elected to office after 
July 1, 2015, is not eligible to continue coverage after retirement from office. 

 But any employee whose first state employment began before July 1, 
2015, and who returns to state service after July 1, 2015, may participate 
in retiree coverage if the employee did not accept a lump sum payment 
from TCRS before July 1, 2015, and if the employee meets eligibility 
requirements for retiree insurance. 

 If you have questions about the above or your insurance options, we 
encourage you to talk to your Agency Benefits Coordinator (ABC). 



 All of our members’ personal health information is strictly confidential. Your 
health privacy rights are protected through a federal law called HIPAA. It 
requires your personal health information not be shared without your consent 
so Benefits Administration can only discuss benefit information with the 
employee who is enrolling in coverage, also known as the head of contract 
or HOC.  

 If you would like to grant Benefits Administration permission to speak to 
someone other than you about your benefits, please complete and submit an 
Authorization for Release of Protected Health Information form to Benefits 
Administration. This will allow your spouse or another individual of your 
choosing to receive your health information on your behalf. This form is 
available in the forms section of our website or from your ABC.  

 Please note that your personal health information may be used or disclosed 
by and within each plan as well as the State Group Insurance Program third-
party “business associates” or contractors as needed for your treatment, 
payment of benefits or other health care plan operations. 



 BlueCross BlueShield, Cigna and CVS/caremark each offer member 
websites that allow you to view detailed information about your claims, print 
temporary ID cards and access other helpful member services. These 
member websites offer a convenient way to keep track of your health 
insurance benefit information. All you have to do is create an online account 
to get started. 



 We have covered a lot of new information in this presentation, so it’s 
important to know who to ask if you have questions or need more 
information at a later time. Your ABC will be your primary point of contact, 
and he or she will be able to answer many of your benefits-related questions 
or help point you in the right direction.  

 If you have questions about a provider or insurance claim, contact your 
insurance carrier directly. You can find your carrier’s number in the Eligibility 
and Enrollment Guide or by visiting their member website. Once you receive 
your ID card, you can also find the carrier’s phone number listed on the back 
of your card.  

 If you have specific questions regarding eligibility or enrollment in benefits, 
you may call the Benefits Administration service center at 1-800-253-9981.  

 The ParTNers for Health and Benefits Administration websites are great 
resources as well, and include contact information for all of our benefits 
vendors.  



 This concludes the new employee benefits orientation. To watch this 
presentation again, or to access the forms and other resources discussed 
during this presentation, visit the Benefits Administration New Employee 
Page. Go to www.tn.gov/finance/section/fa-benefits and click on the New 
Employee tab on the left side of your screen.  

 Thank you for your attention during this presentation. If you have questions, 
please ask your Agency Benefits Coordinator at this time. 


