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State of Tennessee
Department of Children’s Services 

	Administrative Policies and Procedures: 13.34   NEW DRAFT



	Subject:
	Selective Service/Voter Registration for 18 Year Olds in DCS Custody

	Authority:
	U.S. Code § 3328 - Selective Service registration; TCA 2-2-102, 2-2-109, 2-2-115

	Standards:
	None

	Application:
	To All Department of Children’s Services Juvenile Justice employees 

	Policy Statement:

	Delinquent youth in DCS custody at age 18 register for the Selective Service and are afforded the opportunity to register to vote in state and federal elections.

	Purpose:

	To provide guidelines for regional Juvenile Justice staff to ensure youth who are required to register for Selective Service do so by federal deadlines.  Youth who are 18 are allowed to register to vote.  

	Procedures:

	A.	Selective Service Registration

	Regional Juvenile Justice staff assist youth in registering for the selective service.
1. It is the law that youth who are within 30 days of their 18th birthday register.
2. Youth can register online at www.sss.gov.
3. Youth should use their permanent, or home address to register.  They should not use the address of their DCS placement unless it is where they will live after they are released from DCS custody.
4. Youth have to provide their social security number.

	B.	Failing to Register for Selective Service - Penalties

	Youth who refuse to register must be informed of the penalties they will incur.  Men who fail to register by their 26th birthday can be permanently barred from receiving:
a) Federal student loans
b) Placement in federally funded job training programs
c) Will not qualify for some federal jobs
· See www.sss.gov for further information regarding penalties for failing to register.


	C.	Voter Registration Procedures

	1. Youth who are 18 years of age and are residents of Tennessee are eligible to vote.  
 Each Juvenile Justice FSW educates 18 year old youths on their caseload regarding the right to vote and assists with voter registration when each youth turns 18.
 If a youth wishes to register to vote, download the Voter Registration Application from the Tennessee Secretary of State’s website at http://sos.tn.gov/node/5996.
 Once the application is completed, the FSW sends the application to the County Election Commission in the youth’s county of residence.  Contact information for County Elections Commissions is located on the Tennessee Secretary of State website at http://sos.tn.gov/elections/voter-information.
 A youth who is away from their home county during an election may be able to vote with an absentee ballot.  Details and instructions are also found on the website mentioned above.   
· A youth must be registered no later than thirty (30) days before an election.

	D.	Documentation

	Juvenile Justice staff who assist youth with Selective Service or Voter Registration document results in TFACTS case recordings.  



	Forms:
	Voter Registration Application



	Collateral documents:
	None
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