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Fond Farewell to Commissioner 

   
 

William “Bear” Stephenson 

 

With our warm welcome to Commissioner Diane Hills, TREC bids a fond 

farewell to Commissioner William “Bear” Stephenson, who loyally 

served on the Commission for 10 years.  Bear was first appointed to the 

Commission July 1, 2004 and was reappointed for his second and final 

5 year term July 1, 2009. Bear served as the Vice-Chairman of the 

Commission from December, 2005 through June, 2009 and July, 2011 

through June, 2012, at which time Bear was elected Chairman of the 

Commission, a position he held until his term expired in July, 2014.  

Bear’s optimism and enthusiasm will be greatly missed by the 

attendees and his fellow Commissioners. 
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RENEW  E&O 

Diane Hills Appointed 

TREC began August, 2014 welcoming a newly appointed 

Commissioner. Diane Hills of Kingsport was appointed by Governor 

Haslam to serve as one of the East Tennessee industry Commissioners. 
Diane M.K. Hills is the owner, broker of Southern Dwellings, Real Estate 

firm in Kingsport, TN. She is a member of Northeast TN Association of 

Realtors and served as President in 2000 and Realtor of the Year for 1999 and 

2003.  In 2013, Diane was awarded Tennessee Assoc. of Realtors Educator of 

the Year and awarded 2013 Tennessee Association of Realtors President 

Award.  She has also served as TNVA Regional MLS President, Tennessee 

Real Estate Education Trustee, and as a National Assoc. of Realtors and TN 

Assoc. of Realtors Director. 

 

 



 

RENEWAL OR SUSPENSION 

and REVOCATION? 

 
The RICE E&O insurance policy expires 12/31/2014!  Unless the TREC records reflect that your license is 

in an inactive or retired status, you must renew your E&O. In order to avoid having your license 

SUSPENDED, you must provide proof of E&O prior to the date of expiration of your policy.  TREC is 

required by statute to immediately SUSPEND the license of those failing to provide proof of E&O.  You 

cannot work on a suspended license. The statute and the rule are very specific and do not allow for any time 

variance.  Once suspended, if you show proof of E&O within the first 30 days following suspension, your 

license will be reinstated without further penalty.  After the initial 30 days, Penalty Fees attach. Once the 

penalty fees attach, they must be paid in full before you can ever get your license removed from 

SUSPENSION or REVOCATION.  The penalty fees range from $200.00 to $1,200.00 depending on the 

length of time before proof of E&O is submitted. Licenses suspended for E&O for more than one year will 

be REVOKED!  In order for the license to be reissued, you must:  retest and reapply, including the payment 

of all fees for these processes; pay the penalty fees in full; and meet all current requirements for licensure.  

Over 500 licensees have had their licenses revoked for failure to provide proof of E&O.  SUSPENSION and 

REVOCATION can easily be avoided—PLEASE GO TO THE TREC WEBSITE and READ TCA 62-13-

112 and RULE 1260-01-.16. 

 

PRINCIPAL BROKERS--TAKE NOTE!!  YOU WILL BE SENT A CONSENT ORDER FOR FAILURE 

TO SUPERVISE IF YOU HAVE AFFILIATED LICENSEES WHO HAVE NOT MAINTAINED and 

PROVIDED PROOF OF E&O. You will be assessed civil penalties ranging from $200.00 to 1,000.00 and 

your license could be revoked or suspended.   PLEASE   MAKE SURE THAT ALL LICENSEES 

AFFILIATED WITH YOUR FRIM HAVE E&O!! Please follow the link set forth above to read RULE 

1260-01-.16. and TCA 62-13-112. 

 

IMPORTANT----THE COMMISSION CANNOT WAIVE THE PENALTY FEES—the Statute and 

Rule DO NOT ALLOW WAIVER of PENALTY FEES FOR ANY REASON even if a Formal Hearing 

is requested and held. 

 

TREC STATISTICS 



 

 
 

 

 

 

 
      

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

August Revocations and Suspensions 

 

 

 

 

2015 TREC 
 

 

Type Active Inactive Retired Broker Release Grand Total 

People 25,025 764 7,556 350 33,695  

Firms   3,891     202    4,093 

Totals 28,916 764 7,758 355 37,788 

*Broker Released licensees are those usually in the process of transferring or going inactive/retired. 

Timeshare Registrations Active 61 

Licensed Acquisitions Agent Active 41 

Suspension Status 53 

Vacation Lodging Service Active 126 

 

 

 

 

 

Number of Licensees as of 8/31/2014 

 

The list of all disciplinary actions taken by the Commission can be found online under the 

Disciplinary Action Report Link. This link is found under the Quick Links section on the TREC 

Website www.tn.gov/regboards/trec. The list is updated monthly and reflects the regulatory boards 

alphabetically.

http://www.tn.gov/regboards/trec/documents/Revocationnewsletter.pdf
file://ag0319006wf507/CE_Users/CE38233/www.tn.gov/regboards/trec


 

Commission Meeting 
 

Schedule 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Complaints-Graph-Penalties 

Statue-Rules July – August 2014 Cases 

Date Time Location 

1-7-15 - 1-8-15 9am Davy Crockett Tower, Room 1-A 

 
2-4-15 – 2-5-15 9am Davy Crockett Tower, Room 1-A 

3-4-15 – 3-5-15 9am Davy Crockett Tower, Room 1-A 

4-1-15 – 4-2-15 9am Davy Crockett Tower, Room 1-A 

5-7-15 – 5-8-15 9am West, TN 

6-3-15 -6-4-15 9am Davy Crockett Tower, Room 1-A 

You are encouraged to 
attend to not only 
learn how business of 
TREC is handled 
but to also receive (8) 
eight hours of CE 
at no charge. If you are 
interested in 
attending or would like 
more 
information, contact 
Betsy Bowman at 
betsy.bowman@tn.gov
. 
Please continue to 
check TREC 
Homepage for any 
adjustments to this 
schedule. All meetings 
begin at 9:00 a.m. 
at location’s local time 

7-1-15 – 7-2-15 9am Davy Crockett, Tower, Room 1-A 

8-5-14 – 8-6-15 9am Davy Crockett, Tower, Room 1-A 

9-2-15 – 9-3-15 9am Davy Crockett, Tower, Room 1-A 

10-1-15 – 10-2-15 9am East, TN 

11-4-15 – 11-5-15 9am Davy Crockett, Tower, Room 1-A 

12-2-15- - 12-3-15 9am Davy Crockett, Tower, Room 1-A 

TENNESSEE REAL ESTATE    
COMMISSION 

DAVY CROCKETT, TOWER, ROOM 1-A 

500 JAMES ROBERTSON PARKWAY 

NASHVILLE, TN.  37243 



 

 

 

 

TCA                                                                                                                                                                          # of Case Violations # Numb  

62-13-
102(4)(A)(B) 

4)  (A) "Broker" means any person who, for a fee, commission, finder’s fee or any other valuable consideration or with the intent 

or expectation of receiving a fee, commission, finder’s fee or any other valuable consideration from another, solicits, negotiates 
or attempts to solicit or negotiate the listing, sale, purchase, exchange, lease or option to buy, sell, rent or exchange for any real 
estate or of the improvements on the real estate or any time-share interval as defined in the Tennessee Time-Share Act, 
compiled in title 66, chapter 32, part 1, collects rents or attempts to collect rents, auctions or offers to auction or who advertises 
or holds out as engaged in any of the foregoing; 

 4 

 

(B) "Broker" also includes any person employed by or on behalf of the owner or owners of lots or other parcels of real estate, at 

a salary, fee, commission or any other valuable consideration, to sell the real estate or any part of the real estate, in lots or 
parcels or other disposition of the real estate. It also includes any person who engages in the business of charging an advance 
fee or contracting for collection of a fee in connection with any contract whereby the person undertakes primarily to promote the 
sale of real estate either through its listing in a publication issued primarily for that purpose or for referral of information 
concerning the real estate to brokers, or both; 

 

62-13-103 Broker or affiliate identified by single act.  4 

62-13-301 

It is unlawful for any person, directly or indirectly, to engage in or conduct, to advertise or claim to be engaging in or conducting 
the business, or acting in the capacity of a real estate broker, affiliate broker, time-share salesperson or acquisition agent, as 
defined in § 62-13-102, within this state, without first obtaining a license as broker, affiliate broker, time-share salesperson or 
acquisition agent, as provided in this chapter, unless exempted from obtaining a license under § 62-13-104. No person shall be 
permitted to hold, at the same time, an active time-share salesperson license and an active acquisition agent license. 

4 

62-13-309 
(a)  (1)  (A) Each office shall have a real estate firm license, a principal broker and a fixed location with adequate facilities for 

affiliated licensees, located to conform with zoning laws and ordinances. 
4 

 
(e) No more than one (1) license shall be issued to any broker or affiliate broker to be in effect at one (1) time. 

 

62-13-312  Discipline -- Refusal, revocation or suspension of license -- Downgrading of licenses -- Automatic revocation.  27 

62-13-
312(1) 

(1) Making any substantial and willful misrepresentation; 
 
 

 

62-13-
312(5) 

(5) Failing, within a reasonable time, to account for or to remit any moneys coming into the licensee's possession that belong to 

others;  

4 
4 
4 
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62-13-
312(b) (4)  

(4) Misleading or untruthful advertising, including use of the term "realtor" by a person not authorized to do so, or using any 

other trade name, insignia or membership in any real estate association or organization of which the licensee is not a member;  

62-13-
312(b) (12)  

 
 
(12) Being convicted in a court of competent jurisdiction of this or any other state or federal court of forgery, embezzlement, 

obtaining money under false pretenses, bribery, larceny, extortion, conspiracy to defraud or any crime or any similar offense or 
offenses, or pleading guilty or nolo contendere to any such offense or offenses; 

 

62-13-
312(b) (14)  

(14) Violating any provision of this chapter, any rule duly promulgated and adopted under this chapter or the terms of any lawful 

order entered by the commission;  

62-13-
312(b) (15)  

(15) In the case of a licensee, failing to exercise adequate supervision over the activities of any licensed affiliate brokers within 

the scope of this chapter;  

62-13-
312(b) (16)  

(16) In the case of a licensee, failing within a reasonable time to complete administrative measures that may be required by the 

commission upon the transfer or termination of any affiliate broker employed by the broker;  

62-13-
312(b) (18)  

(18) Failing to disclose to an owner the licensee's intention or true position if the licensee, directly or indirectly through a third 

party, purchases for itself or acquires or intends to acquire any interest in or any option to purchase property that has been 
listed with the licensee's office to sell or lease; 

 

62-13-
312(b) (20)  

(20) Any conduct, whether of the same or a different character from that specified in this subsection (b), that constitutes 

improper, fraudulent or dishonest dealing; or  

62-13-
313(a)(2)  

(2) The accused applicant or licensee shall, within ten (10) days, file with the commission the applicant's or licensee's answer to 

the complaint, a copy of which shall be transmitted to the complainant. 
6 

62-13-403-
404 

(1) Diligently exercise reasonable skill and care in providing services to all parties to the transaction; 6 

 
(2) Disclose to each party to the transaction any adverse facts of which the licensee has actual notice or knowledge; 

 

 

(7)  (A) Not engage in self-dealing nor act on behalf of licensee's immediate family or on behalf of any other individual, 

organization or business entity in which the licensee has a personal interest without prior disclosure of the interest and the 
timely written consent of all parties to the transaction; and 

 

 

 
 

(2) Be loyal to the interests of the client. A licensee must place the interests of the client before all others in negotiation of 
a transaction and in other activities, except where the loyalty duty would violate licensee's duties to a customer under § 
62-13-402 or a licensee's duties to another client in a dual agency; and 

 
 
 
 
Vacation Lodging Service 
 

 

62-13-104 
Licensees may not post signs on any property advertising themselves as real estate agents unless the firm's name appears 
thereon in letters the same size or larger than those spelling out the name of the licensee. 

2 



 

62-13-
310(b) 

Licensees may not post signs on any property advertising themselves as real estate agents unless the firm's name appears 
thereon in letters the same size or larger than those spelling out the name of the licensee. 

1 

   

Rule 1260-
02-.12 

ADVERTISING 3 

Rule 1260-
02-.02(2) 

(2) Within ten (10) days after the date of release, the licensee shall complete the required  
administrative measures for either change of affiliation or retirement. The licensee shall not  
engage in any activities defined in §62-13-102 until a change of affiliation is received and  
processed by the Commission.  

1 

Rule 1260-
02-.11(1) 

(1) No broker or affiliate broker shall, either directly or indirectly through a third party, purchase  
for himself or attempt to purchase or acquire any interest in or option to purchase property  
listed with him or with his company, or property regarding which he or his company has been  
approached by the owner to act as broker, without first making a full disclosure of his true  
position to the owner of the property or to any prospective purchaser for which he has acted  
for as a client or customer. After acquiring any such personal interest, either directly or  
indirectly, the broker or affiliate broker shall make a full disclosure of his true position to  
prospective purchasers who tender offers to buy the property.  

1 

Rule 1260-
01-.16 

LAPSED ERRORS AND OMISSIONS INSURANCE 1 

Rule 1260-
02-.09 

Deposits and Earnest Money 2 

   

 
TOTAL ALL 66 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

JULY – AUGUST 2014 
 

COMPLAINT DECISION PENALTY  

 



 

AMOUNTS AUTHORIZED 
July 
 

   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

JULY – AUGUST 2014 

Agency/Pers Int, 

$8,000.00, 12% 

Supervision, 

$10,000.00, 15% 

Administrative 
Matters, 

$4,250.00, 7% 

Advertising, 
$9,000.00, 14% 

Fail to Respond, 

$6,000.00, 9% 

Unlicensed, 

$13,000.00, 20% 

Earnest Monies, 
$4,000.00, 6% 

TCA 62-13-
312(b)(14), 

$11,000.00, 17% 

Violation $ $% No. % 

Agency/Pers Int $8,000.00 12% 8 12% 

Supervision $10,000.00 15% 10 15% 

Administrative Matters $4,250.00 7% 5 8% 

Advertising $9,000.00 14% 9 14% 

Fail to Respond $6,000.00 9% 6 9% 

Unlicensed $13,000.00 20% 13 20% 

Earnest Monies $4,000.00 6% 4 6% 

TCA 62-13-312(b)(14) $11,000.00 17% 11 17% 

          

Total $65,250.00 100% 66 100% 



 

VIOLATIONS 

 

 

 

 

Agency/Pers Int 

12% , 8 

Supervision 

15% , 10 

Administrative 
Matters 

8% , 5  
Advertising 

14% , 9 

Fail to Respond 

9% , 6 

Unlicensed 

20% , 13 

Earnest Monies 

6% , 4 

TCA 62-13-
312(b)(14) 

17% , 11 

Violation No. % 

Agency/Pers Int 8 12% 

Supervision 10 15% 

Administrative 
Matters 

5 8% 

Advertising 9 14% 

Fail to Respond 6 9% 

Unlicensed 13 20% 

Earnest Monies 4 6% 

TCA 62-13-
312(b)(14) 

11 17% 

      

Total 
 
 

66 
100% 



 

 

 

 

 

 TREC only recognizes an Active and Retired 
 Status. Broker Release and Inactive are nonrenewable 
 license statuses. 

 How do I retire my license?  

In order to retire your license you must complete a TREC Form 1 and submit it to TREC along with 

any fees. You must have completed all educational obligations prior to retiring your license. While 

in retirement, you cannot participate in any real estate transactions; however, you may receive 

commissions from transactions completed prior to retirement.  YOU MUST CONTINUE TO 

RENEW YOUR LICENSE AND PAY THE RENEWAL FEE. 

 Notification Options Are Now Available! Click here 

Significant Changes Impacting Your License - Changes to Policies 

in 

Conference Room 1-A, 500 James Robertson Parkway, Nashville, TN. The proposed rules to be 

considered include new rules to Chapter 1260-01 as well as both new rules and amendments to 

rules within Chapter 1260-02. The Commission encourages licensees to review these rules and 

submit written comments and/or attend the public hearing and speak directly to the Commission. 

Upcoming Commission Board Meeting October 9th 2014 9am 

Hamilton County Courthouse, Room 402 625 Georgia Avenue, Chattanooga, TN 37402 

 

PSI 

http://www.tn.gov/regboards/trec/documents/TREC1TransferReleaseandChangeStatus.pdf
https://apps.tn.gov/cirens/
http://www.tn.gov/notify-app/sign_up.html?agencyId=3


 

Testing Statistics 

 
 

 

TREC 

60.58
% 

39.42
% 

Affiliate Broker 
ExamPass Rate 

August 2014 

Total Passed

Total Failed

57.50
% 

42.50
% 

Broker Exam Pass 
Rate 

 August 2014 

Total Passed

Total Failed

25 28 40 

185 

296 312 
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42 
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CORE ALERT! 

 

 

 

 

Starting 1/1/2015, the NEW 2015-2016 CORE will be the 6 hour CORE course 

which must be completed in order to fulfill your 16 hour CE requirement and 

renew your license.  The 2013-2014 TREC CORE course EXPIRES 12/31/2014 

and is not approved to be offered after that date.  Please check the education 

link on the TREC website later this year to see which providers offer approved 

2-05-2016 TREC CORE courses.  

Remember—All courses must be preapproved by the Commission in order for 

you to receive credit.  No Preapproval=No Course Credit—there is NO after the 

fact credit for courses. 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

TREC CONTACT INFORMATION 



 

(615) 741-2273 or (800) 342-4031 
www.tn.gov/regboards/trec/ 

 
 

PERSONNEL & AREAS OF RESPONSIBILITY    Department of Commerce & Insurance 

    Commissioner: Julie Mix McPeak 

Administration                       Auditor    Deputy Commissioner: Bill Giannini 

                                                Ahmad Lewis 

Executive Director: Licensing: Members of the Commission: 

Eve Maxwell Kim Dorris John Griess, Chairman 

 Gil Dyer Clinton, TN 

Education Director: Rachel Fowler Janet DiChiara, Vice Chairman 

 Karen Patton Jackson, TN 

Legal: Antoin Philip Grover Collins 

Julie Cropp Richard Thomas Lewisburg, TN 

Administrative Assistants  Wendell Alexander 

Betsy Bowman Reception & Records  David Flitcroft 

Kimberly Smith Ken Spurlock Knoxville, TN 

Office Manager: Linda Wolfert Austin McMullen 

Dennis Hodges Errors & Omission Insurance Gary Blume 

Board Meeting: Contractor for 2014-2015 Germantown, TN 

Kimberly Smith Rice Insurance Svc. Co., LLC Marcia Franks 

Complaints: Phone: 888-248-2444 Franklin, TN 

Amy Mayfield Fax: 502 897-7174 Diane Hills 

Conell House                         Web: www.risceo.com Kingsport, TN 

 

 

 

 

file://ag0319006wf507/CE_Users/CE38233/www.tn.gov/regboards/trec/
file://ag0319006wf507/CE_Users/CE38233/www.risceo.com


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


