Prevailing Wage Commission

The Prevailing Wage Commission provides a service to both the citizens and businesses of the State of Tennessee. The commission has the duty of determining the prevailing wage rate for state highway (i.e. highways, roads and bridges) construction projects. Within Tennessee, prevailing wage is used for government work to regulate fair pay at wages equivalent to the general workforce, so as to attract reputable contractors who will deal ethically with their workers and the government.

Board Members

Commissioner Burns Phillips, III, Chairman
TN Department of Labor
& Workforce Development

Commissioner John Schroer (or Designee)
TN Department of Transportation

Ms. Ann McGauran, State Architect
TN Department of Treasury

Mr. Stephen D. Wright 
Industry Representative
Wright Brothers Construction Company, Inc.
Charlston, Tennessee

Mr. R. T. Summers 
Industry Representative
Summers-Taylor, Inc.
Elizabethton, Tennessee