Volunteer Hunter Education Instructors
Dedicated Tennessee Volunteer Hunter Education Instructors insure the continuation of the hunting tradition by passing on their passion for the sport. Volunteer Hunter Education Instructors are committed and enthusiastic outdoorsmen and women who want to pass on the traditions, ethics and excitement of outdoor activities to beginners of all ages. We are always looking for experienced hunters to share their knowledge and passion for the sport with others. Becoming a volunteer Hunter Education Instructor can be your way to give a little back.
Why are Volunteers important?
Each year approximately 18,000 Tennessee citizens become a certified Hunter Education Graduate. Annually, Tennessee’s 1,200 Volunteer Hunter Education Instructors passionately teach around 500 courses all over the state.
Volunteers are vital to the success of the Hunter Education program for many reasons. The first reason being that there are simply not enough wildlife officers to conduct the amount of training required in every community throughout the state. Another reason is volunteer instructors provide skill and expertise which may not be available within the wildlife agency. Volunteer instructors are also important because they are so well established in their local communities; they usually have extensive local contacts and are aware of community needs and can facilitate setting up classes.
What Courses Do Volunteer Instructors Teach?
The core of the Hunter Education Program is the Basic Hunter Education Course, which is a minimum of 11 hours in length. Successful graduates of this course are issued a certificate of completion. This certificate is necessary for anyone born after January 1, 1969 who is purchasing a hunting license in Tennessee. Advanced Hunter Education Courses taught by instructors include Bow Hunter Education and Trapper Education.
These courses range from 8 – 12 hours in length.
What Is Expected of a Volunteer Instructor?
In order to remain a certified Volunteer Instructor, you must teach at least 1 course every 24 months. Tennessee Volunteer Hunter Education Instructors may take pride in the fact that they have helped make a safe sport even safer and have helped develop hunters who act safely and responsibly.
How Can I Become a Volunteer Instructor?
The Hunter Education Program is looking for people who want to “give back” to their favorite outdoor activity. If you have had previous volunteer experience working with youths and/or adults, are an educator or someone who wants to be a teacher to others, we want you! Before filling out an application form, all prospective instructors must successfully complete a Basic Hunter Education Course.
If you'd like more information about becoming a Tennessee Volunteer Hunter Education Instructor please contact your local TWRA Wildlife Officer or TWRA Regional Office.
An eligible applicant must:
- Be 21 years of age or older.
- Graduate from the basic Tennessee Hunter Education Course.
- Submit an application to appropriate Regional Hunter Education Coordinator using the TWRA Hunter Education Instructor Application Form. Applicant must obtain signatures of a sponsoring certified instructor and the Wildlife Officer from the applicants county of residence.
- Applicant must be of high moral character and must be willing to submit to character screening, NCIC check for felony convictions and background check for wildlife law violations.
After an application has been submitted, it will be reviewed by the Regional Hunter Education Coordinator. Completion of a minimum eight hours of training in the Instructor Training Workshop is the next step in becoming a certified instructor. The Hunter Education Instructor Course will prepare participants to take an active part in this program. The content of a typical instructor course includes Tennessee Hunter Education Policies and Procedures, practical teaching experience of classroom and range subjects, use of audio visual equipment, and a 100 question written test. After attending the Instructor Training Workshop, the applicant then must serve as an apprentice in at least one course under the supervision of a certified hunter education instructor.