State Wildlife Action Plan Planning Team

Many state and federal agencies, universities, nongovernmental organizations and special interest groups are assisting in the development of Tennessee’s State Wildlife Action Plan.

 

SWAP Steering Committee Members

Federal Agency Participants
National Park Service
Natural Resources Conservation Service
Tennessee Valley Authority
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
U.S. Forest Service

State Agency Participants
Division of Natural Heritage, Tennessee Department of Environment & Conservation
Tennessee Department of Transportation
Division of Forestry, Tennessee Department of Agriculture
Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency

Non-governmental Organizations and Professional Associations
Tennessee Conservation League
Tennessee Ornithological Society
The Nature Conservancy
World Wildlife Fund

 

SWAP Planning Team

Bill Reeves, Chief of Biodiversity bill.reeves@tn.gov

Rob Colvin, Wildlife Diversity Coordinator, Region 1 rob.colvin@tn.gov

Josh Campbell, Wildlife Diversity Coordinator, Region 2  josh.campbell@tn.gov

Chris Simpson, Wildlife Diversity Coordinator, Region 3  chris.simpson@tn.gov

Scott Dykes, Wildlife Diversity Coordinator, Region 4 scott.dykes@tn.gov

Sally Palmer, Director of Science, The Nature Conservancy spalmer@tnc.org

 

Scientific & Technical Advisors

Aquatic Species

Fish           University of Tennessee
                 Tennessee Valley Authority
                 Conservation Fisheries, Inc.
                 Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency
                 Tennessee Chapter, American Fisheries Society

Crayfish       U. S. Fish and Wildlife Service
                 Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency

Mussels/      U.S. Geological Survey
Snails          U. S. Fish and Wildlife Service
                 Tennessee Technological University
                 Tennessee Aquarium Research Institute
                 Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency
                 Rare Mollusk Committee

Terrestrial Species

Birds           Tennessee Ornithological Society,
                 Tennessee Valley Authority
                 University of Tennessee, Knoxville
                 Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency

Mammals     Tennessee Valley Authority
                 University of Tennessee
                 University of Memphis
                 Tennessee Technological University
                 Tennessee Chapter, Wildlife Society
                 Bat Working Group

Reptile/       Freed-Hardeman University
Amphibians  Tennessee Technological University
                Middle Tennessee State University
                Austin Peay State University
                Tennessee Herpetological Society

Snails        Lincoln Memorial University
                Amateur Collectors

Cave                The Nature Conservancy
Invertebrates     Dr. Jerry Lewis
                       Tennessee Department of Environment and
                       Conservation, Division Of Natural Heritage

Insects and        Belmont University
Other                Middle Tennessee Chapter,
Invertebrates     North American Butterfly Association
                       Tennessee Department of Environment and
                       Conservation, Division of Natural Heritage