Office of P-16 Initiatives

The Office of P-16 Initiatives aims to increase the number of Tennesseans accessing and succeeding in higher education. With this end in mind, the Tennessee Higher Education Commission’s P-16 office designs and implements college access and success initiatives with the goal of empowering communities, local education agencies, and other partner organizations to create a statewide culture of college going and attainment. 

Resources on the College-Going Process

CollegeforTN.org: For students and parents looking for information on college and career access, we encourage you to visit www.collegefortn.org, Tennessee’s one-stop shop for career, high school, college, and financial aid exploration and planning. By creating a free account on CollegeforTN.org, students can create academic plans,  take career assessments, explore Tennessee postsecondary institutions, and research financial aid opportunities.

Gear Up Tennessee Logo

 

Follow CollegeforTN.org on social media
Office of P-16 Initiatives Programs
Staff Contact Information
Troy Grant 
Director
615.532.0423 
troy.grant@tn.gov 
Leigh Ann Bodie 
Associate Director 
615.532.0406 
leighann.bodie@tn.gov
Doug Cullum
Fiscal Manager
615.532.0435
doug.cullum@tn.gov
Melinda Dunn 
Administrative Assistant 
615.532.0402 
melinda.dunn@tn.gov
Kevin Edwards
Higher Education Program Analyst
615.741.1318
Kevin.Edwards@tn.gov
Duane Gregg 
GEAR UP TN Regional Coordinator –  
East TN 
865.206.7071 (work cell)
duane.gregg@tn.gov
Shayla Guy 
GEAR UP TN Regional Coordinator -
West TN 
901.500.5579 (work cell)
shayla.guy@tn.gov
Mary Nelle Hall
Higher Education Program Coordinator
615.253.1155
MaryNelle.Hall@tn.gov
Sherica Nelms
Advise TN Program Director
615.741.7565
Sherica.Nelms@tn.gov
Courtney Rogers
Coordinator for College Access and Success Outreach 
615.741.8957
Courtney.Rogers@tn.gov
Quiana Rivers
Higher Education Program Analyst
615.532.6328
Quiana.Rivers@tn.gov
Susan White
Advise TN Regional Coordinator
423.736.0172
Susan.White@tn.gov
Bev Vos
Advise TN Regional Coordinator
731.412.2003
Bev.Vos@tn.gov