THEC Commission Members

The Commission is composed of nine voting members appointed from the general public, each serving six-year terms and representing the Grand Divisions of the State equally; three Constitutional Officers who are ex-officio voting members (Comptroller of the Treasury, State Treasurer, and Secretary of State); two ex-officio student members; and the Executive Director of the State Board of Education, as an ex-officio non-voting member.

2016-2017 Commission Members

  • Evan Cope, Chair, Murfreesboro (Middle Tennessee)
  • Dr. Nancy Dishner, Johnson City (East Tennessee)
  • Jimmy Johnston, Gallatin (Middle Tennessee)
  • Pam Koban, Nashville (Middle Tennessee)
  • Mintha Roach, Knoxville (East Tennessee)
  • Vernon Stafford, Jr., Memphis (West Tennessee)
  • Frank L. Watson, Jr., Memphis (West Tennessee)
  • A C Wharton, Jr., Secretary, Memphis (West Tennessee)
  • Tre Hargett, Secretary of State
  • Justin P. Wilson, State Comptroller
  • David H. Lillard, Jr., State Treasurer
  • Dr. Sara Heyburn, non-voting ex-officio, Executive Director, State Board of Education
  • Siri Kadire, voting ex-officio, student member (UT Health Science Center)
  • Jeremy Chisenhall, non-voting ex-officio, student member (Austin Peay State University)