Skip to Content

CQMs to be Reported

CQMs to be Reported
EPs must select nine CQMs from a list of 64 CQMs beginning in Payment Year 2014. The selected nine CQMs must cover three of the six National Quality Strategy Domains:

  • Patient and Family Engagement
  • Patient Safety
  • Care Coordination
  • Population/Public Health
  • Efficient Use of Healthcare Resources
  • Clinical Process/Effectiveness

Additionally, CMS has created two core sets of nine CQMs that are encouraged for the providers to whom these measures apply. The Adult Recommended Core Measures and Pediatric Recommended Core Measures should be reviewed by all EPs, and these measures should be selected when applicable to the EP’s patient population and scope of practice. 

Reporting Mechanisms
Also beginning in 2014, CQMs may be reported electronically rather than attested using the same attestation mechanisms as the core and menu measures. For Medicare EPs, options are available through CMS, as CMS is to whom Medicare EPs attest: see this pdf for more information. For Medicaid EPs, who attest to TennCare and will thus submit their CQMs to the state, TennCare is still defining and developing its electronic reporting mechanism(s) for 2014; more information will be forthcoming.