The HOV lane system was implemented in Tennessee in 1993 to promote ride-sharing and to reduce congestion on urban interstates. TDOT is always evaluating ways to achieve higher compliance with the HOV lane system, such as increasing awareness and working with the Department of Safety on enforcement. Currently in Tennessee, the fine for violating the HOV lane is $50 with a maximum $10 court fee. This fine is set by the general assembly, not TDOT; however part of TDOT initiatives include an outreach to public officials concerning fines and their roles in effective HOV enforcement. (Click here for more information on HOV lanes.)
How do I get a "Slow - Children at Play" sign posted in my neighborhood?
This type sign is not considered an official traffic control device as approved by the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA). Additionally, these signs are not recommended because they do not give a specific warning or message to the driver and may create a false sense of security for parents and children who believe the signs provide an added degree of protection. Motorists, particularly locals, actually pay little attention to these type signs. Many seem to believe such signs help reduce speeds, but studies and experiences provide no evidence that these type signs actually prevent accidents or reduce the speed of vehicles.
Who do I call about a missing or knocked down road sign?
Maintenance of roadway signs or other traffic control devices vary depending on location. For signs located on state routes (excluding interstates) within the city limits of an incorporated municipality, the city is responsible, and local public works should be contacted. For signs located off the state highway system and outside city limits, the county is responsible, and the local highway department should be contacted. For signs posted on the state highway system (state routes outside city limits and any interstate routes), contact the TDOT Regional Traffic Engineering Office. (Click here for TDOT Regional contact information.)
How do I get a highway sign for my business?
The state has two options for business-related highway signs: Logo Signs and Tourist Oriented Directional Signs (TODS). Logo signs are large blue signs with up to six business logos posted near interstate exits. TODS are typically placed along more rural stretches of interstate for smaller businesses located off the state highway. Click the links provided to learn more about the state Logo Sign contractor or the TDOS Program and how to obtain a sign for your business.
How do I get a driveway for my business?
Rules and regulations, applications, and checklists for obtaining Highway Entrance Permits can be found online, including regional contact information. (Click the link provided for more information.)
Who do I call about a traffic signal problem?
TDOT does not maintain any traffic signals. Contact your local public works or highway department.
Who do I call to change a speed limit?
Speed limits vary depending on location. For state routes (excluding interstates) within the city limits of an incorporated municipality, the city is responsible for setting speed limits, and local public works should be contacted. For roadways outside the city limits (off the state highway system), the county is responsible for setting speed limits, and the local highway department should be contacted. For all other roads on the state highway system (state routes outside the city limits and any interstate route), contact the TDOT Regional Traffic Engineering Office. (Click here for TDOT Regional contact information.)