
 
 

 
Tennessee 

Department of State 
 

Division of Publications 
 
 

Notary Commission 
Services 

 
 

Tre Hargett 
Secretary of State 

 
 
 

Revised 1/10/2012 



1.  WHAT IS A NOTARY PUBLIC FOR THE STATE OF TENNESSEE? 
 

A Notary is a county public official whose powers and duties are defined by statute.  Basically, a Notary has the power to administer oaths 
and take depositions, affidavits and acknowledgments.  A Notary’s powers and duties can be exercised in all counties in the State of 
Tennessee. 
 

2.  ARE THERE ANY RESTRICTIONS ON BECOMING A NOTARY? 
 

Statutory age, residency and qualification requirements are specified in TCA §8-18-101 and §8-16-101.  It is a misdemeanor to take office 
as a Notary if a disqualification exists. 
 

3.  HOW DOES A PERSON BECOME A NOTARY? 
 

A Notary is elected by the county legislative body in the county in which the applicant, at the time of his/her election, resides or maintains 
his/her principal place of business.  An application and a fee of $12 ($7 for the County Clerk and $5 for the Secretary of State) must be 
submitted to the County Clerk. 
 
The County Clerk certifies an election of the applicant by the county legislative body and forwards the certification and the $5 fee to the 
Secretary of State, Division of Business Services.  Upon receipt of the election certification and the $5 fee from the County Clerk, the 
Division of Business Services prepares, records and forwards to the County Clerk the notary commission signed by the Governor and the 
Secretary of State.  The County Clerk records the notary commission and notifies the person to whom the commission was issued.  After 
an oath has been taken and bond posted, the County Clerk delivers the notary commission to the person elected. 
 
 
 

4.  WHAT IF A NOTARY MOVES FROM THE COUNTY OF ELECTION OR THE NOTARY’S SURNAME CHANGES? 
 

If a Notary moves his/her residence or principal place of business out of the county from which he/she was elected to another Tennessee 
county, or if the Notary’s surname changes, the Notary must notify the County Clerk of the county from which he/she was elected, and the 
County Clerk in turn will notify the Secretary of State, Division of Business Services of the change.  A processing fee of $7 ($5 for the 
County Clerk and $2 for the Secretary of State) must be submitted to the County Clerk. 
 
 
If a Notary moves his/her residence or principal place of business out of the State of Tennessee, he/she is no longer qualified to act as a 
Tennessee Notary and must surrender his/her commission.  
 

5.  WHAT IS THE TERM OF A NOTARY?  
 

A Notary’s term of office is four years, beginning on the date that the notary commission is issued by the Governor.  A notary commission 
can be renewed through the same method as the initial election (see above).  It is a Class C misdemeanor for a Notary to act in an official 
capacity after the expiration of the notary commission. 
 

6.  WHAT ARE THE REQUIREMENTS FOR AN OFFICIAL SEAL? 
 

State law requires all Notaries to use a seal design prescribed by the Secretary of State. 
 
Pursuant to Rule 1360-7-2-.01(1), a Notary commissioned on or after July 1, 2004, must use a seal that substantially conforms to the 
following design:  a circular seal with the Notary’s name (as it appears on the commission) printed at the top, the county of election 
printed at the bottom, and the words “State of Tennessee Notary Public” or “Tennessee Notary Public” printed in the center.  A sample 
seal format appears below: 
 

 
 
Pursuant to Rule 1360-7-2-.01(2), a Notary commissioned prior to July 1, 2004, must use either the seal design described above, or, until 
the expiration of his/her current term of office, may continue to use a seal that substantially conforms to the following design:  a circular 

ie21rag
Typewritten Text

ie21rag
Typewritten Text

ie21rag
Typewritten Text



seal with the Notary’s name (as it appears on the commission) printed at the top, the county and state printed at the bottom, and “Notary 
Public at Large” printed in the center.  A sample seal format appears below:  
 

 
 
A Notary must purchase an official seal at his/her own expense. 
 
The seal should be a rubber or other type stamp (not an embossed/impression seal) and must be imprinted in “…any color other than 
black or yellow, provided the color used to imprint the seal shall be clearly legible and appear as black when photocopied on a non-color 
copier.”  However, these requirements do not apply to Notaries commissioned prior to July 1, 2004, until the expiration of their current 
terms of office.  In addition, the failure to imprint the seal with a proper color does not invalidate the notarization and does not subject the 
Notary to any civil or criminal liability.  Furthermore, the use of an embossed/impression seal after May 12, 2003, does not render an 
acknowledgment defective. 
 
The seal must be surrendered to the county legislative body upon expiration of the Notary’s term of office or resignation, and the personal 
representative must surrender the seal in the event of the Notary’s death.   
 

7.  HOW ARE COMPLAINTS AGAINST A NOTARY HANDLED? 
 

A Notary is considered a county public official and may be removed from office just as any other county official.  Complaints concerning 
official misconduct should be directed to the appropriate official (such as the County Attorney or the District Attorney General) in the 
county in which the Notary is elected or in which the alleged misconduct occurred. 
 
 

8. ARE THERE ANY NOTARY ADVERTISING RESTRICTIONS?
 

 
Restrictions and disclosure notices may apply to advertising by certain Notaries.  Please review the consumer protection provisions found in 
Title 8, Chapter 16, Part 4 of Tennessee Code Annotated. 
 
 

9. WHERE CAN I OBTAIN NOTARY INFORMATION?
 

 
For Notary application and election information, please contact your County Clerk. 
 
The Secretary of State, Division of Business Services maintains an Internet website that includes some Notary information and a 
searchable database of current Notary commissions.  The Division’s site may be accessed via the Secretary of State’s home page at:  
www.tn.gov/sos/  
 
The Secretary of State, Division of Business Services is neither authorized nor qualified to provide legal advice relative to 
Notaries or their powers and duties.  Please contact an attorney or other qualified professional for such information. 
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