TENNESSEE STATEWIDE AMBER ALERT: Elizabeth Thomas | Click for details from TBI.

State Board Staff

State Board staff provides board members with critical support, resources, and counsel to ensure effective decision-making.  To furnish board members with the most up-to-date information, staff members conduct ongoing policy research and analysis of public education issues including instruction, student assessment, and funding.

State Board staff can be reached at the following numbers:

  • Telephone: (615) 741-2966       
  • Fax: (615) 741-0371

Name and Email


Phone Number

Sara Heyburn Morrison Executive Director 615-741-2966
Vicki Burger Executive Administrative Assistant 615-532-3532
Casey Griffin Executive Administrative Assistant 615-741-2316
Philip Cramer Staff Attorney 615-741-4928
Leigh Cummins Policy and Research Analyst 615-253-2588
Spenser Gwozdzik Research Associate 615-741-2966
Nathan James Director of Legislative and External Affairs 615-532-3528
McKenzie Manning Communications Coordinator 615-253-2102
Tess Stovall Director of Charter School Accountability and Policy 615-770-1190
Elizabeth Taylor General Counsel 615-253-5707
Jay Whalen Coordinator of Charter Schools 615-837-5142