Skip to Content
August 11, 2014

Tennessee State Board of Education Members Biographical Summaries



The State Board of Education is composed of nine members—one from each of Tennessee's congressional districts, plus a student member. Dr. Gary Nixon serves as Executive Director of the Board. All members are appointed by the governor and confirmed by the General Assembly. Board members serve a five-year term; the student member serves a one-year term. The Executive Director of the Tennessee Higher Education Commission Dr. Richard G. Rhoda, is an ex- officio, nonvoting member.













Mr. B. Fielding Rolston, Chairman
Represents: 1st Congressional District


Resides: 3745 Arrowhead Trail; Kingsport, TN 37664


Education: B.S., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, M.B.A., American University
Occupation: Retired; Former Vice-President, Human Resources and Communications, Eastman Chemical Company.
Appointed 1996; Reappointed 2013; current term: 2013-2018


Mike Edwards

Mr. Mike Edwards
Represents: 2nd Congressional District

Resides: Knoxville, TN


Education: Bachelor of Science in Political Science, University of Tennessee at Knoxville
Occupation: President and CEO, Knoxville Chamber
Appointed: June 24, 2011, current term: 2011 - 2016


Allison Chancey
Ms. Allison Chancey
Represents: 3rd Congressional District


Resides: 1400 Durkee Rd. S.E. Cleveland, TN 37323


Education: M.S., Lincoln Memorial University, B.S. University of Tennessee at Chattanooga
Occupation: Teacher, Bradley County Schools
Appointed 2013; current term: 2013-2018


Mr. Lonnie Roberts

Represents: 4th Congressional District

1158 Roseland Drive, Columbia, TN 38401


Education: Bachelor of Science, Major in Business Administration and a minor in Economics, Jacksonville State University
Occupation: CEO TRH Health Plans
Appointed: June 24, 2011; current term: 2011-2016


Ms. Carolyn Pearre, Vice Chair

Represents: 5th Congressional District


Resides: 427 Prestwick Court, Nashville, TN 37205


Education: B.S., M.S., University of Tennessee-Knoxville
Occupation: Retired educator; Former Executive Director Tech Prep Programs, Tennessee Board of Regents
Appointed April 2002; Reappointed 2011; current term: 2011-2016

Wendy Tucker
Ms. Wendy Tucker

7th Congressional District


Resides: 2819 Polo Club Road, Nashville, TN 37221-4345

Education: B.A. Newcomb College of Tulane University, J.D., Tulane Law School
Occupation: Attorney
2014; current term: 2014-2019


Lillian Hartgrove
Ms. Lillian Hartgrove
6th Congressional District

Resides: 3631 Burton Cove Road, Cookeville, TN 38506-6132


Education: Bachelor of Arts degree in Sociology, Mississippi State University for Women
Occupation: Workforce Development and Education Vice President for the Cookeville-Putnam County Chamber of Commerce and the Highlands Economic Partnership
Appointed 2014; current term: 2014-2019

Mr. Cato Johnson
Mr. Cato Johnson
Represents: 8th Congressional District

Resides: 9155 Hillman Way Drive; Memphis, TN 38134


Education: B.S. Education and M.S. Education, Memphis State University (now The Univeristy of Memphis)
Occupation: Senior Vice President, Public Policy and Regulatory Affairs, Methodist Le Bonheur Healthcare
Appointed 2014; current term: 2014-2019



Ms. Teresa Sloyan

Represents: 9th Congressional District


Resides: 688 Magnolia Manor Circle, Memphis, TN 38117


Education: Bachelor of Arts in Social Work, Memphis State University, 1984, graduate work at UT-Memphis, Completed the Stanford School of Business Executive Program for Philanthropy Leaders in 2005

Occupation: Executive Director, Hyde Family Foundation
Appointed 2008; current term: 2008-2013



Ms. Katie Mitchell


Student Member

Houston High School
Contact: TN State Board of Education, 1st Floor, 710 James Robertson Parkway, Nashville, TN 37243

Appointed 2013; current term: 2013-2014



Executive Director
Tennessee Higher Education Commission

Ex-officio, non voting member
Contact: Parkway Towers, Suite 1900, 404 James Robertson Parkway, Nashville, TN 37243


Education: B.A., M.A., Ph.D., Vanderbilt University