A person who holds a valid license or certificate of registration as a barber,
a technician or barber instructor under the laws of a state, the District
of Columbia, a territorial possession of the United States, or foreign
country may be issued a certificate of registration if the board makes
an individual determination that such person has substantially met the
qualifications for registration in Tennessee.
If you are licensed but do not meet the required classroom hours and cannot provide a five year work history, you will need to submit your application for reciprocity to the board office.
board may issue a certificate of registration as a master barber without
examination to a nonresident who:
a valid license or certificate of registration as a master barber in
another jurisdiction which:
substantially the same requirements for licensing or registration of
barbers as are contained in this chapter, exclusive of the tenth-grade
education requirements set forth in T.C.A 62-3-110(b)(2); or
entered into a reciprocal agreement with the board permitting licenses
or certificates of registration to be issued without examination to
master barbers resident in and registered by this state;
by sworn affidavits that such nonresident has continuously and lawfully
practiced as a barber in another jurisdiction for the immediately preceding
five (5) years; or
held a MOS (Military Occupational Skill) rating in a branch of the military
services for two (2) or more years that required the person to perform
the duties of a barber.
- NOTE: Applicants applying for instructor reciprocity must attach proof of
at least a 12th grade education or equivalent and proof the applicant
has completed and passed a board approved course of instruction of
at least 450 hours for instructors.
may not work until you receive your approval letter and can show proof
of payment of application fee.
is our intent and desire to make all reciprocal license transactions
as quick and convenient as possible; however, state laws, board rules
and office policies must be observed - these requirements may not
be waived and exceptions are not considered.
not ask the office staff for "special handling" as all applications
must be processed in the same manner.
PRACTICE OF BARBERING IS PROHIBITED IN THIS STATE UNTIL A PROPER TENNESSEE
LICENSE IS SECURED
read directions on the application thoroughly
both sides of the application. Include your Social Security Number.
- Take form to a
Notary Public and have your signature Notarized.
- Attach a copy of
your Barber School record or diploma, if available.
- If you are from
a foreign country, attach a copy of your Drivers License, Social Security
Card, and Alien Registration or Naturalization papers
the State Board you are currently licensed with and ask if they require
a fee (or written request) for completing a License Certification.
application, attachments, (and certification fee, if required) to
your state board and request they complete the license certification
section on the back of the application. Affidavits should bear no
erasures, corrections or alterations. The State Board seal must be
affixed and the form cannot be dated prior to six(6 months) of application.
NOT send Tennessee's Reciprocity fee of $150.00 with your application.
You will be contacted for the required fee once your application has
been received and approved.
you do not meet Tennessee's hourly requirement, or did not attend
a licensed barber school, you may submit proof of 5 years work experience
in the form of notarized statements. Statements must show proof of
continuous and lawful employment in the barber field for at least
five years immediately prior to the filing of the application. Exact
dates of employment are required as well as the owner/manager's signature.
If you owned your own shop you must provide notarized statements from
the shop's tax preparer or accountant as proof of employment. DO
NOT SEND COPIES!
you do not meet the minimum hourly requirement and cannot provide
affidavits of 5 years work experience immediately prior to your application
date, you will be required to take and pass the Tennessee practical
OF WORK EXPERIENCE
your hours of school training were less than 1500 hours for master
barber, 340 hours for technician or 450 hours for instructor, follow
the instructions below. (You MAY still qualify for reciprocity.)
from employers on original letterhead documenting five (5) years
of licensed work experience immediately prior (ending within the
year before application) to application.
you were self-employed (owned your own shop) work experience affidavits/statements
may be approved if from the following sources:
- owner or manager of previous salon(s).
preparer, or accountant.
from applicant's State Board.
licenses dating back five (5) years, from self owned shop.
to be approved by the Board office unless it is deemed necessary
to be presented to the Board.