Haslam Announces Local Governing Board for East Tennessee State University

Tuesday, October 11, 2016 | 8:31am

University to Have Increased Autonomy with Local Governing Board

NASHVILLE – Tennessee Gov. Bill Haslam today announced the eight appointees to the newly created East Tennessee State University (ETSU) local governing board, giving the university increased autonomy to support student success as the state continues its Drive to 55 initiative.

The East Tennessee State University’s governing board is one of six to be appointed by the governor, a result of the governor’s FOCUS Act passed by the General Assembly earlier this year.

The appointees to the ETSU board are:

  • Janet Ayers, president of the Ayers Foundation;
  • Steven DeCarlo, CEO of AmWINS Group, Inc.;
  • David Golden, senior vice president, chief legal and sustainability officer and corporate secretary for Eastman Chemical Company;
  • Dorothy Grisham, owner/operator of an Allstate Insurance Agency;
  • Dr. Linda Latimer, anatomic and clinical pathologist and owner of Mountain Regional Pathology;
  • Scott Niswonger, chairman and founder of Niswonger Educational Foundation and executive chairman of Landair Transport, Inc.;
  • James Powell, founder of Powell Companies and former chair of the Tennessee Higher Education Commission; and
  • Lt. Gov. Ron Ramsey, owner of Ron Ramsey and Associates.

“There is incredible momentum around Tennessee’s college enrollment rate, which increased to a historic high of 62.5 percent in 2015. With Tennessee Promise and Tennessee Reconnect we’ve been successful in increasing access to higher education, but as we change the conversation and culture of expectations in our state we have to ensure our colleges and universities are supported in their efforts to create student success,” Haslam said.

“These six local governing boards will provide more focused support to the institutions as we continue the Drive to 55, our push to have 55 percent of Tennesseans with a degree or credential by 2025,” Haslam added.  

Haslam also appoints members to local governing boards for Austin Peay State University, Middle Tennessee State University, Tennessee State University, Tennessee Technological University and the University of Memphis.

Subject to confirmation by the General Assembly, the board appointments are effective January 16, 2017. If confirmed, board members will undergo orientation and professional development delivered by the Tennessee Higher Education Commission. The ETSU board will assume responsibility upon the first called meeting by Haslam.

The six state universities will have increased autonomy with the authority to appoint the campus president, manage the university budget and set tuition, and oversee other operational tasks.

For more on the East Tennessee State University appointees click here. 

About the Drive to 55
In 2013, Governor Haslam launched the Drive to 55 to increase the number of Tennesseans with a postsecondary degree or certificate to 55 percent by 2025. As a result, the Drive to 55 has established the Tennessee Promise program, the nation’s first scholarship and mentorship program that provides high school graduates last-dollar scholarships to attend two years of community or technical college free of tuition and fees; reduced the number of college freshmen requiring remediation through the SAILS (Seamless Alignment and Integrated Learning Support) program; provided free technical college for adults through TCAT Reconnect Grants; created Tennessee Reconnect + Complete to help more adults return to college to complete unfinished degrees; developed a more comprehensive state approach to serving student veterans; and leveraged technology to enhance classroom instruction and college advising.

Governor Haslam |Higher Education Commission