Skip to Content

Tennessee Law Enforcement Training Academy

FIREARMS INSTRUCTOR

Date(s)

March 23-26, 2015

 

Start/End Time(s)

8:00 a.m. – TBD Per Schedule

 

Location

Tennessee Law Enforcement Training Academy

3025 Lebanon Pike

Nashville, TN  37214

 

Instructor(s)

Phillip Michael, TLETA

 

Description

This is an intensive performance-oriented course designed to give the students the skills required to be a firearms instructor and manage the required in-service program and firearms training for their agency.

 

Fee

$300 - State Agencies

$250 - County & Local Agencies

 

Length

40 hours

 

Prerequisites
  • Attending Students must have previously completed a POST Approved Instructor Development School and submit a certificate with their application for enrollment.

 

  • This is a Firearms Instructor School and attending students are expected to possess the basic firearms skills with a level of proficiency upon arrival. Students will be required to shoot a 50 round accuracy course using a handgun with a minimum score of 90 on Day 1 of the program.  One re-shoot will be allowed.  Students who fail to complete this requirement will be dismissed from the program.  

 

  • Students will be required to bring a carbine, already zeroed in order to participate in the carbine portion of the course.  Basic rifle skills are expected upon arrival in order to participate in the class. We will not zero your weapon or teach basic skills. This is an instructor level course. Students who do not have a zeroed weapon or possess the skills necessary to participate in the carbine class will observe only, and will only receive a certificate of attendance at the end of the program.

 

  • Students are required to bring a shotgun and possess the basic skills with this weapon upon arrival. An advanced shotgun curriculum will be taught.

 

  • Students are required to bring:

 

      • 500 rounds of handgun ammo required
      • 200 rounds of carbine ammo required
      • 75 rounds of shotgun ammo (field loads only – no slugs or buck-shot) required
      • Ballistic vest is required
      • Flashlight is required
      • Suitable range clothing for inclement weather required
      • Duty belt, holster, and mag pouches required
      • Eye-pro is required
      • Ear-pro is provided, but students may bring their own
Materials

Officers must bring their own ammunition for this course. It will consist of the following: 1000 rounds of handgun ammunition, 75 rounds for 12-gauge shotgun birdshot (#7, #8, or #9).  Officers must bring a carbine, preferably an M-4 or similar weapon and 400 rounds of ammunition for that weapon. Officers are to bring a flashlight, safety glasses and bullet resistant vest.  Officers will need laptop to complete the required lesson plans.

 

To Register

If your department has been activated on the Acadis Portal, you can register via the Portal by clicking HERE. Log in and go to the Training & Events tab.

 

Or you can fill out the paper form and return to Kim Moss at:

kimberly.moss@tn.gov

 

or mail to: 3025 Lebanon Pike, Nashville, TN 37214

 

or fax to 615.741.3366

 

Fill-in Form

Printable Form

 

Other Notes

Maximum number of students is 20.

 

 

For additional information on TLETA programs, please contact us at (615) 741-4448 or email us at: law.enforcement@tn.gov.