TN Employer graphis
TN Department of Labor and Workforce Development

The TREAT Unit helps employers recruit qualified employees

If you are an employer who would like assistance navigating Jobs4TN Online, the department’s jobs database that connects Tennessee employers with job seekers, the Tennessee Registered Employer Assistance Team – known as TREAT – is happy to help.

TREAT is a group of Career Specialists who provide job order support to employers in accessing and using to post available job openings through the entire state of Tennessee. TREAT staff is available from 7:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M., CST, Monday through Friday. To reach the TREAT unit, call 855-747-1719 (toll-free) or (615) 253-7664, or e-mail

In addition to posting jobs and searching for employees, Jobs4TN Online enables employers to see labor market trends and jobs in demand and find schools that provide specific occupational training.  Recent upgrades include résumé and candidate search tools that give employers the ability to search by desired occupation, employment history, and veteran status. Jobs4TN Online can be accessed with a computer anytime from anywhere that has Internet access.


Employer taxes
End of year reminders

Remember to take advantage of the full 5.4% credit on your annual Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA) return. In order to claim this credit, you must pay all amounts due your state unemployment insurance fund by the due date of the FUTA return, January 31, 2014.

Tennessee employers enjoy the benefit of the full 5.4% FUTA credit because Tennessee is not a "credit reduction state." Credit reduction states are those states with outstanding loans from the Federal government to pay unemployment benefits. Employers in a credit reduction state must calculate a credit reduction as an adjustment to their FUTA tax on their 2013 IRS Form 940, effectively losing anywhere from 0.3% to 0.9% of their FUTA tax credit.

Any adjustments and/or refund requests must be submitted by the end of February 2014 in order for the amount of the adjustment or refund to be included in the calculation of the employer's reserve ratio and premium rate for the new rate year that begins July 1, 2014. Please include your state Employer Account number on all correspondence.



Survey reports high approval for employer job referrals in TN Career Centers

Employers who used Tennessee Career Centers for free staffing assistance reported high approval according to a recent survey. 95.7% of employers said they would recommend center services to other employers.
Read the press release


Employers saved more than $8,000 by paying online via TNPAWS

The Tennessee Premium and Wage Reporting System (TNPAWS) is one of our preferred methods of filing quarterly Premium and Wage Reports and paying any outstanding premiums, interest, or penalty amounts. The TNPAWS Website is located here and may be used by any active employer account.

Users must have the department-assigned access code to log into TNPAWS. The access code appears on the reporting forms and reminders we mail each quarter. If users cannot locate the access code, it may be retrieved from the Website by answering one of the security questions.

In July 2013, the department first offered the online payment option. Since its inception, more than 17,000 payments have been received electronically saying employers more than $8,000 in postage. Employers are provided with a receipt of payment on screen and may elect to have a confirmation of payment sent by e-mail.

Employers can pay electronically when filing a quarterly report or at anytime by selecting the "Pay Online" button and entering their banking information. We encourage all employers to use this free service and save money. And remember, the 4th quarter Premium and Wage Report is due by January 31, 2014.

Changes coming to oversight of state-funded construction wages

The Prevailing Wage Commission currently sets prevailing wage rates for state-funded building, highway, and bridge construction projects. Effective January 1, 2014, the Commission will no longer set rates for state-funded building construction projects. Instead the Labor Market Information section will set those rates. When the new law becomes effective, Labor Standards inspectors will only investigate state-funded highway and bridge construction projects and state-funded building projects with contract dates that precede the effective date of the new law.


New Hazardous Communication Standard aims to improve chemical safety

The first compliance deadline was December 1, 2013 for all employers to train employees who work with hazardous chemicals on the changes to the Hazard Communication Standard. Although that deadline has passed, Tennessee OSHA is still offering a video presentation to help train employees. More requirements related to labeling and safety data sheets are being phased in through 2016.

Read the press release

OSHA Pictograms and Hazards


Important changes to high school equivalency testing/credential

GEDThere are some important changes to the Tennessee High School Equivalency program that you should be aware of when dealing with employees who do not possess a high school diploma or who earn the credential after January 1, 2014.

Last Spring, the Tennessee General Assembly unanimously passed SB 105/HB387, called the "Tennessee Alternative Diploma Act," which adopted an alternative assessment for Tennesseans to earn their high school equivalency credential. The State Board of Education approved an alternative test called the HiSet, published by Educational Testing Services, a highly regarded non-profit company known for other standardized educational tests such as the SAT and the GRE.

HiSetBeginning January 1, the State of Tennessee and the State Board of Education will not distinguish between the two tests when awarding the credential. One state government-issued diploma will be used and will be known as the Tennessee High School Equivalency Diploma. Verification for employment will not distinguish which test the potential employee passed.

The generic High School Equivalency diploma will be the standard used in Tennessee beginning January 1, 2014. Many other states are also providing alternatives or have adopted an assessment in place of the GED exam.

If you have any questions please contact the Division of Adult Education at (615)741-7054.


| TN Dept of Labor | UI Tax Information| TOSHA Safety Programs | SIDES | Automated Partials | |

Send us comments or suggestions on department topics to

Twitter logoFacebookFlickerYouTube
Follow the Tennessee Department of Labor and Workforce Development on Twitter

View archived editions of Tennessee Employer Newsletter