GOVERNOR PROCLAIMS MAY SAFE JOBS FOR YOUTH MONTH
MESSAGE TAKEN TO SCHOOLS AND EMPLOYERS
Award Winning Video Available for Free
NASHVILLE - According to the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, 200,000 adolescents are injured in the workplace every year and 70 are killed on the job. The Tennessee Division of Labor Standards investigates approximately 1,600 of these types of cases annually. That’s why Governor Bredesen has proclaimed May, Safe Jobs for Youth Month in Tennessee. The Tennessee departments of Labor and Workforce Development and Education are teaming up to reach students and employers across the state to prevent workplace injuries and deaths.
“It is critical that we provide teens and employers with the necessary materials to educate themselves about the child labor laws,” said Governor Phil Bredesen. “We expect to reach more than 2,000 employers and thousands of teenagers in high schools across the state with this campaign and help eliminate injuries and deaths of Tennessee teens in the workplace.
“During Safe Jobs for Youth Month and throughout the year employers and adolescent workers should always consider safety first,” said Labor and Workforce Development Commissioner James Neeley. “Employers are usually to blame for minors getting hurt on the job, and the fines can range from $150 to $1,000.”
Last year Labor and Workforce Development produced an award winning public affairs program taking viewers on a CSI-style ride into the case files of child labor investigations. The video will be distributed to high schools across the state by the Department of Education. The video is also available to community and business groups.
"Students across Tennessee will benefit from these educational materials on safety in the workplace," said Commissioner Lana Seivers. "Both students and their employers need the best possible information to enjoy a fruitful summer on the job."
Beginning this month, the TDLWD’s Employer Service Specialists will inform Tennessee’s employers of the child labor laws and the dangers that can harm adolescents at work. The specialists will distribute a fact sheet, a copy of the child labor law poster and show employers a 10-minute version of the child labor video during the Workforce Employer Outreach Meetings throughout the summer months.
To request a presentation from the division of Labor Standards or the free 30 minute award winning video on child labor laws please call (615) 532-1347 or email Milissa.Reierson@state.tn.us. For more information on the Workforce Employer Outreach committee in your area contact Danna Douglas by email at Danna.Douglas@state.tn.us.