CHILD LABOR SEMINARS OFFERED ACROSS STATE
NASHVILLE - What you don't know about child labor laws could hurt you. The Tennessee Department of Labor & Workforce Development is working to inform employers of important points contained in the Child Labor Law that will protect employers and their minor employees. Free seminars in Jackson, Nashville and Knoxville will be offered once a month throughout the year.
"Employers are hiring more workers under 18 years of age, and many managers or business owners are just not aware that there are laws protecting minors that they must follow," said Tennessee Department of Labor & Workforce Development Commissioner James G. Neeley. "We're inviting employers to attend these seminars to ask questions and to learn their legal responsibilities in the employment of minors."
A minor must be 14 years of age to be gainfully employed, and specific proof of his age must be maintained at the employment location. Other requirements spelled out by the Child Labor Act and discussed at the seminars involve hours of work, breaks, and restricted occupations and work environments.
"The seminars last about an hour. You'll become familiar with the statutes and will leave knowing what is required of you in employing minors, including documentation that must be maintained," said Neeley. There is no cost for the seminars and they are open to employers, teachers, parents, and students statewide.
To register for a seminar in your area see attached schedule and phone numbers.
For more information, go to www.tennessee.gov/labor-wfd/news.