Link back to Home
TDLWD HOME Newsroom Frequently Asked Questions Forms Labor Market Information Online Services Contact Us
Adult Education Boilers & Elevators Employment Security Employment & Workforce Development TOSHA Workers' Compensation


JUNE 5, 2008
(615) 741-2257

summer Safety reminder for Teen WOrkers
State Labor Department Working With Employers To Keep Teens Safe at Work

NASHVILLE – Every year, approximately 67 adolescents in the United States die from injuries at work, and tens of thousands require treatment in hospital emergency departments, according to the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health. 

Tennessee Labor Standards Inspectors are working with employers to reduce injuries in our state. In fiscal year 2006-2007 inspectors issued 201 citations and collected more than $250,000 in fines for child labor violations.  In addition, more than 1,850 employers across the state attended Child Labor Act training classes to prevent workplace injuries for teenagers and abide by state and federal laws.

“The Child Labor Act establishes the number of hours a minor can work and prohibits occupations that may be hazardous to the health and safety of the minor,” said Commissioner James Neeley.  “Our Labor Standards Inspectors work hard to educate employers and protect Tennessee’s teens.”


“Employers are usually to blame for minors getting hurt on the job, and the fines can be as high as $1,000,” said Labor Standards Director Mary Ellen Grace.  “In the last year we have implemented a new policy that mandates employers who violate the laws must attend a training class to learn more about the Child Labor Act.”


The Labor Standards Division is awarding employers who work to protect teens in the workplace.  In the last year four employers have received the Tennessee Employers Award of Merit (T.E.A.M).  Those employers are KVAT-Food City in east Tennessee, Captain D’s on Elm Hill Pike in Nashville, Back Yard Burger on North Shelby Oaks Drive in Memphis and McDonalds on Industrial Circle in Algood.   Employers are chosen for the T.E.A.M. award every quarter for their efforts to establish safe working conditions for minors.


For the 2008 TN Wage and Child Labor Training schedule go to .  Classes are offered every month.  You may also call 1-866-588-6814 for more information on child labor laws or a free child labor law poster.


# # #