Who Needs One?
What Information Must I Provide?
How Will My Application be Processed?
What Fees are Required?
What are My Responsibilities After the Permit is Issued?
What are the Division's Responsibilities After the Permit is Issued?
Whom do I contact for assistance?
Division of Water Resources
TDEC Rule 0400-45-9: Water Well Licensing Regulations and Well Construction Standards
TC Section 69-11-101..110: Water Wells
Licensed Tennessee Well Drillers and Installers List
Anyone who manages or supervises the digging, drilling, or redrilling of a well or anyone who installs, or repairs well pumps or filters and treatment devices must obtain a license from the Tennessee
Applicants must submit the following items with the proper fees before starting any activity:
» A completed "Application for Well Driller or Installer License" form which requires the applicants name, birth date, education information; firm name, address, and telephone number; type of applicant; type of license applied for; number of employees; list of other professional licenses; counties where business will be conducted; types of rigs operated to obtain experience; list of employees to be supervised; and employment history
» Have a minimum of two years experience working in the occupation for the license applied for
» A list of ten (10) water wells applicant has constructed in the last five years
» Copies of occupational licenses or certificates from the previous two (2) years
» A completed "Application for Licensing Examination" form
|Application for a Well Driller or Installer License||CN-1168|
The application, required additional information, and proper fees should be submitted to the Division of Water Resources. A detailed review of the application is conducted and applicants are notified in writing if applications are incomplete. Applicants are notified in writing of the date, time, and location of required written examinations. Applicants must score fifty (50) percent correct or above on the general exam and seventy (70) percent on the specialty portion of the exam. Applicants who successfully pass the examinations will be scheduled for an interview with the Board of Groundwater Management.
Licenses expire on July 31 each year and must be renewed. Licenses are not transferable.
|» Water Well Driller License||$100.00|
|» Monitor Well Driller License||$100.00|
|» Geothermal Well Driller License||$100.00|
|» Pump Installer License||$50.00|
|» Water Treatment Installer License||$50.00|
The applicant has the right to proceed with activities approved in the license. They must notify the Department of any changes to application information. The applicant is responsible for following all applicable state statutes and regulations. Licensed drillers/installers must submit Well Drillers Reports (Form CN-0825) to report new wells, reworked wells, deepened wells, and backfilled and abandoned wells within 30 days.
Applicants have the right to appeal a license that has been denied, suspended or revoked.
The Division has the right to revoke, suspend, or deny the issuance of a license to any applicant who violates the state statutes or departmental regulations. Any person who violates or fails to comply with the state statutes, rules, or regulations may be subject to civil penalties.
Applicants may obtain applications and information from the Division of Water Resources. New applicants who need more than one permit can contact their regional Environmental Coordinator for further assistance.