Treatment, Storage and Disposal Facilities

Hazardous waste management facilities receive hazardous wastes for treatment, storage, or disposal. These facilities are often referred to as treatment, storage, and disposal facilities, or TSDFs.

  • Treatment facilities use various processes (such as incineration or oxidation) to alter the character or composition of hazardous wastes. Some treatment processes enable waste to be recovered and reused in manufacturing settings, while other treatment processes dramatically reduce the amount of hazardous waste. 
  • Storage facilities temporarily hold hazardous wastes until they are treated or disposed of.
  • Disposal facilities permanently contain hazardous wastes.  The most common type of disposal facility is a landfill, where hazardous wastes are disposed of in carefully constructed units designed to protect groundwater and surface-water resources.

Detailed regulations to ensure that TSDFs operate safely and protect human health and the environment are located in (Tennessee Rule 0400-12-01-.06 and .07). 

Facilities that currently or plan to treat, store, or dispose of hazardous wastes must obtain a RCRA permit. A RCRA permit is a legally binding document that establishes operating requirements and various provisions specific to the needs of the permit applicant depending on the treatment, storage, or disposal activities conducted at the facility. Permits are written to address the specific geography of the facility, the types of hazardous waste management units, and the specific waste streams that will be managed at the facility.  The permit also outlines facility design and operation, lays out safety standards, and describes activities that the facility must perform, such as monitoring and reporting.  Permits typically require facilities to develop emergency plans, find insurance and financial backing, and train employees to handle hazards and can include facility-specific requirements such as groundwater monitoring.  

The permit application consists of two parts, Part A and Part B. 

Part A

Part A of the permit application is submitted on a designated form, (EPA Form 8700-23). The basic Part A information requirements are presented in (TN Rule 0400-12-01-.07(4)). The Part A information includes:

  • Activities conducted by the applicant that require the owner/operator to obtain a permit under RCRA
  • Name, mailing address, and location of the facility
  • Up to four North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes that best describe facility activities
  • Descriptions of the processes to be used for treating, storing, and/or disposing of hazardous waste and the design capacity of these items or units
  • Identification of the hazardous wastes to be managed at the facility
  • List of all permits received or applied for under other regulatory programs
  • Topographic map of the facility

Part B

Part B information is submitted in narrative form.  It includes general information requirements for all hazardous waste management facilities, as well as unit-specific information. The Part B information requirements presented in (TN Rule 0400-12-01-.07(5)) reflect the standards promulgated in (TN Rule 0400-12-01-.06). (TN Rule 0400-12-01-.07(5)(a)1) lists the general information requirements that all hazardous waste management facilities must submit in Part B of the permit application, including:

  • General description of the facility 
  • Chemical and physical analyses of the wastes to be handled at the facility
  • Copy of the waste analysis plan
  • Description of the security procedures and copy of the inspection schedule
  • Copy of the contingency plan
  • Description of procedures, structures, or equipment used at the facility to prevent releases to the environment
  • Description of precautions to prevent accidental ignition or reaction of ignitable, reactive, or incompatible waste
  • Facility location information such as proximity to a seismic area or a 100-year floodplain

Owners and operators must also submit unit-specific information for each hazardous waste management unit at the facility.  (TN Rule 0400-12-01-.07(5)(b)) relates to specific information relating to subparts I through X, AA, BB, CC, and DD, as well as Subpart H.