School-Based Support Services

Contact

Misty Moody, Director of School-based Support Services

(615) 741-0345

In accordance with T.C.A. §§49-1-1101-1109, the department is mandated to inspect and approve all programs subject to the State Board's jurisdiction pursuant to T.C.A. §49-1-302(l).

All public and private school-administered infant/toddler, preschool, before and after school programs, as well as, approved Montessori programs, TEIS early intervention programs, school-based and community-based Lottery Education Afterschool Programs and 21st Century Community Learning Centers must be in compliance with Standards for Infant/Toddler, Preschool, and School-Age Extended Care Programs, Chapter 0520-12-01, adopted by the State Board of Education as defined in T.C.A. § 49-1-302(l) and certified by the Department of Education and verified through inspection by the Department's child care program evaluators.

General Information

Schools offer a variety of programs serving children under kindergarten age:

  • Infant/toddler care 6 weeks to 4 years in child development labs in high schools
  • Employee child care for children of teaching staff
  • Early intervention programs birth to 3 years old
  • Pre-kindergarten programs, including the TN Voluntary Pre-K classes
  • Non-public school child care as a part of their school's mission.

These programs are monitored regularly for compliance with all applicable rules in Chapter 0520-12-01 and are encouraged to provide nurturing activities to promote healthy physical and mental development.

In addition to compliance with Chapter 0520-12-01, the public school administered Pre-K programs (TN Voluntary Pre-K, Title I funded, and/or locally funded) must provide educational programs in compliance with Chapter 0520-01-03-.05(5) and correlated with the Tennessee Early Learning Development Standards.

For school-age children, the before and after school programs (also referred to as school-age care programs or extended school programs) must provide programs in compliance with Chapter 0520-12-01. School age care components should provide a blend of activities to promote experiential learning, development of social emotional skills, and physical activities.

The point of afterschool programs is not to extend the typical classroom format, but to provide an opportunity for students to engage in unique activities which support and reinforce learning.

Contact Your Local Evaluator

The table below lists the contact information for evaluators of child care programs and their geographic location.

First Name Last Name Email CORE OFFICE Cell
Adrienne Butler Adrienne.Butler@tn.gov East TN (931) 510-2874
Jessica Franklin Jessica.Franklin@tn.gov East TN (865) 203-4337
Dan Leonard Daniel.Leonard@tn.gov East TN (865) 310-5635
Cynthia Templin Cynthia.R.Templin@tn.gov East TN (865) 712-6736
Summer Johnson Summer.Johnson@tn.gov First TN (423) 440-5175
Amy Lawson Amy.Lawson@tn.gov First TN (423) 202-6824
Trinda Bailey Trinda.L.Bailey@tn.gov Mid Cumberland (615) 517-7431
Billy Benton Billy.E.Benton@tn.gov Mid Cumberland (931) 239-1193
Cynthia Johnston Cynthia.D.Johnston@tn.gov Mid Cumberland (615) 626-8911
Henri Murphy Henri.Murphy@tn.gov Mid Cumberland (615) 393-3925
Jennifer Patrick Jennifer.Patrick@tn.gov Mid Cumberland (615) 517-8236
Steven Shumate Steven.P.Shumate@tn.gov Mid Cumberland (615) 630-1150
Donna Teague Donna.D.Teague@tn.gov Mid Cumberland (731) 358-1496
Jerri Tuten Jerri.Tuten@tn.gov Mid Cumberland (731) 307-8045
Meg Hall Meg.Hall@tn.gov Northwest TN (731) 307-7808
Kristi Munson Kristi.D.Munson@tn.gov Shelby-Memphis (901) 569-3473
Sharon Neely Sharon.Neely@tn.gov Shelby-Memphis (901) 356-4721
Tunyia Williams Tunyia.Williams@tn.gov Shelby-Memphis (901) 229-5611
Becky Hollingsworth Rebecca.Hollingsworth@tn.gov Southeast TN (423) 716-5820
Tana Ferguson Tana.Ferguson@tn.gov Southwest TN (901) 569-3472
Judy Howard Judy.B.Howard@tn.gov Upper Cumberland (423) 716-5817
Annabel Mainord Annabel.Mainord@tn.gov Upper Cumberland (931) 797-7417