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Tennessee Certificate of Compliance
Effective Date: August 01, 2022

Approved By: David Gerregano

Title: Commissioner

Submitted By: Sherry Hathaway and Michael Ward

Phone: 615-351-2183 and 615-770-1935

Revised Date: August 01, 2022

As the chief executive of the state’s tax agency, I declare that this Certificate of Compliance is true, correct, and complete to the best of my
knowledge and belief.

Changes were made to the following areas of this document (indicated by a "✓"):

  ✓   Answers   ✓   Laws or Rules   ✓   Comment (Notes)

  ✓   Effective/Conforming Dates   ✓   Certificate's Revised Date

Reference Number of changed items (may include a brief description of the change):
Item 305115 - new responses; Item - 317080 - repeal of drop shipment rule and conforming date; Items 322010, 3322020, 322030, 32280 and 328070 -
updated for 2022 sales tax holidays: Item 602010 - added comment for a new Tennessee vendor's compensation; Item PD080 - added comment Important
Notice 22-05; updated citations.

Each item in this Certificate of Compliance is an administrative practice, process, or definition contained in the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement
(SSUTA) (http://www.streamlinedsalestax.org/index.php?page=modules) as amended through December 21, 2021 and related rules and appendices.

This certificate indicates if the state laws, regulations or administrative practices follow the administrative practice, process, or definition. Any exception or further
explanation is listed in the notes column.

SECTION TOPIC DOCUMENT
COMMENTS/
REFERENCE TO CRIC
INTERPRETATIONS

DESCRIPTION Is this
requirement
met by law,
regulation or
administrative
practice (Yes
or No). Enter
N/A when not
applicable.

If so, provide the
citation for legal
authority (statute, case,
regulation, etc.)

For SST
conforming
changes,
provide
effective
dates.

Notes (e.g., administrative
practices, noncompliance
explanations, etc.)

Section 107 Presidentially declared
states of emergency

107010 Has the state taken any
action affecting their
sales and use tax laws or
regulations in response to
a presidentially declared
state of emergency?

No   

107020 Did the state provide at
least 30 days between
the enactment and the
effective date of the
legislative or executive
action?

NA

http://www.streamlinedsalestax.org/index.php?page=modules
dg01050
Highlight
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107030 If the state did not
provide at least 30 days
between the enactment
date and the effective
date, does the state
provide the seller liability
relief for incorrectly
collecting tax if (1) the
seller properly collected
the tax based on the law
immediately preceding
the action; (2) the seller’s
failure to properly collect
the tax does not extend
beyond thirty days after
the effective date of the
action; and (3) any tax
collected by the seller
must be remitted to the
state?

NA

Section 301 State level
administration

301010 Does the state provide state level
administration of state and local
sales and use taxes?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-401 and 
 67-6-710(a)(1)

301020 Are sellers and purchasers only
required to register with, file returns
and remit funds to a state-level
authority?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-504,  
67-6-601,  
67-6-602, 
and 67-6-608(a)

301030 Does the state provide for the
collection of any local taxes and
distribute them to the appropriate
taxing jurisdictions?

Yes T.C.A 67-6-401, 
67-6-710 and 
67-6-712

 
 
T.C.A. 67-6-
103 (g) and 67-
6-710
 

301040 Are audits conducted only by the
state or by others authorized by the
state to conduct an audit that
includes both state and local taxes?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-401,  
67-6-523,  
67-6-710 and 
67-1-102(b)(10)

301050 Are local jurisdictions prohibited
from conducting independent sales
or use tax audits of sellers and
purchasers except where
authorized by state law to conduct
an audit for the state and all local
jurisdictions, subject to the same
confidentiality and other protections
and the same administrative and
appeal procedures granted audits
conducted by the state?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-401,  
67-6-523 and 
67-6-710

Section 302 State and local tax base
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302010 Is the tax base for local jurisdictions
identical to the state tax base,
excluding (1) federal prohibitions;
(2) motor vehicles, aircraft,
watercraft, modular homes,
manufactured homes or mobile
homes; (3) fuels used to power
motor vehicles, aircraft,
locomotives, or watercraft; (4)
electricity, piped natural or artificial
gas or other fuels delivered by the
seller; and (5) energy as defined in
Section 302(4)?

No T.C.A. Secs.:
67-6-226
67-6-103(f)
67-6-714
 
 
 
67-6-702(g)(1)
 
 
 
67-6-704
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
67-6-209(b)
 
 
 
 
 
 
67-6-702(d)

  
Video programming services (cable
TV) monthly charge from $15.01 to
$27.50 is exempt from local tax and
subject to 8.25% state tax.
 
Interstate and international
business telecommunications
services exempt from local tax
 
Electricity, natural or artificial gas,
coal, and fuel oil local tax
exemption also applies to such
fuels that are not delivered by
sellers. Also includes local tax
exemption for steam and chilled
water produced and distributed by
energy resource recovery facility in
county with metro form of govt.
 
Contractor's use of tangible
personal property in the
performance of a contract for
nonprofit colleges and universities'
property is exempt from state tax
and subject to local tax.
 
Single article local tax limitation on
the first $1,600 of the sales price of
tangible personal property.

302020 Does the tax base differ for state
and local jurisdictions for motor
vehicles, aircraft, watercraft,
modular homes, manufactured
homes or mobile homes?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-702(d)  Single article local tax limitation on
the first $1,600 of the sales price of
tangible personal property includes
motor vehicles, watercraft, aircraft,
manufactured and modular homes.

302030 Does the tax base differ for state
and local jurisdictions for fuels used
to power motor vehicles, aircraft,
locomotives or watercraft?

Yes T.C.A. Secs.
67-6-217
67-6-704
 
 
 
67-6-202
67-6-704
 
 
 

 
Aircraft - aviation fuel subject to
state tax rate of 4.25%, (reduced
from 4.5% effective 7/1/21). Exempt
from local tax.
 
Watercraft - Dyed diesel fuel
subject to general state rate of 7%.
Exempt from local tax.
 
 
Note: Gasoline, liquified gas,
compressed natural gas, undyed
diesel fuel, and dyed diesel fuel
used to power a means of transport
are exempt from sales and use and
subject to motor fuels and diesel
tax. T.C.A. 67-6-329(a)(1) (2), & (5).

302040 Does the tax base differ for state
and local jurisdictions for electricity,
piped natural or artificial gas or
other fuels delivered by the seller?

Yes T.C.A. Secs.:
67-6-704
67-6-202
67-6-334

Electricity, piped natural or artificial
gas, coal and other fuels is exempt
from local tax. Local tax exemption
also applies to such fuels that are
not delivered by the seller. Energy
fuels sold to businesses are subject
to general state tax rate of 7%.
 
Note: Residential energy is exempt
from state and local s/u tax.

302050 Does the tax base differ for state
and local jurisdictions for "energy"
as defined in Section 302(4)?

Yes T.C.A. Secs.:
67-6-206(b)(1)
67-6-702(b)
67-6-704

Energy fuel for qualified mfrs. is
exempt from local tax and subject
to 1.5% state tax rate.
Water for qualified mfrs. is subject
to 1.0% state tax rate and .5% local
tax rate.

302055? This isn't a compliance
issue but is something
sellers and their agents
should know.
 

C.1. Does the state allow the
reporting of items with a different
local base on the SER?

Yes Only taxpayers that register in
Tennessee through the Streamlined
Registration System that do not
have any locations in Tennessee
may file using the SER.
T.C.A. 67-6-601(a)



7/27/22, 7:52 AM Tennessee 2022.0 - Streamlined Sales Tax

https://sst.streamlinedsalestax.org/CC/Form/4771 4/35

302060 This isn't a compliance
issue but is something
sellers and their agents
should know.

C.2. Does the state provide
information on the different bases in
a separate boundary file using the
format approved by the Governing
Board?

No

302065 This isn't a compliance
issue but is something
sellers and their agents
should know.

C.4. Did the state notify the
Governing Board that it requires the
separate reporting of these taxes
on the SER and make the
requirement effective no sooner
than the first day of a calendar
quarter beginning at least 6 months
after notifying the Governing
Board?

No

Section 303 Seller registration

303010 Is the state capable of pulling
registration information from the
central registration system?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-608 P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 117
Eft. 1-1-08

303020 Does the state exempt a seller
without a legal obligation to register
from paying registration fees?

Yes No fee charged for registration.

303030 Does the state allow a seller to
register on the central registration
system without a signature?

Yes

303040 Does the state allow an agent to
register a seller on the central
registration system?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-608

Section 304 Notice for state tax
changes

304010 Failure to meet these
does not take a state out
of compliance.

A1. Does the state provide sellers
with as much advance notice as
practicable of a rate change?

Yes

304020 A2. Does the state limit the
effective date of a rate change to
the first day of a calendar quarter?

No

304030 A3. Does the state notify sellers of
legislative changes in the tax base
and amendments to sales and use
tax rules and regulations?

Yes After the legislative session each
year the Department issues notices
regarding statute changes, posts
hot topic and legislative summaries
and other information to the web
site, conducts taxpayer seminars
across the state, and conducts
online training to notify taxpayers of
law changes.

304040 C. Does the state relieve the seller
of liability for failing to collect tax at
the new rate if the state fails to
provide for at least thirty days
between the enactment of the
statute providing for a rate change
and the effective date of such rate
change if (1) the seller collected tax
at the immediately preceding
effective rate and (2) the seller's
failure to collect at the newly
effective rate does not extend
beyond thirty days after the date of
enactment of the new rate? Note:
This liability relief does not apply if
the state establishes the seller
fraudulently failed to collect tax at
the new rate or solicits purchasers
based on the immediately
preceding rate.

No However, the Commissioner may
determine it is appropirate and
instruct Audit that no assessment
should be made for the first 30 days
a statute is in effect and to remove
such sales data for that tax
reporting period from audit
samples. 

Section 305 Local rate and
boundary change



7/27/22, 7:52 AM Tennessee 2022.0 - Streamlined Sales Tax

https://sst.streamlinedsalestax.org/CC/Form/4771 5/35

305010 Does the state have local
jurisdictions that levy a sales or use
tax? If yes, answer the following
questions.

Yes

305020 A. Does the state limit the effective
date of local rate changes to the
first day of a calendar quarter after
a minimum of 60 days notice?

No T.C.A. 67-6-706 (a)(3)  The local tax rate may not become
effective until the first day of a
month occurring at least 30 days
after the operative date (official
canvas of election returns).
Department issues notices for local
tax rate changes that are effective
the first day of a month that is at
least 30 days following notice
publication.

305030 B. Does the state limit the effective
date of local rate changes from
catalog sales wherein the
purchaser computed the tax based
on local tax rates published in the
catalog only on the first day of a
calendar quarter after a minimum of
120 days notice?

No   

305040 C. Does the state limit local
boundary changes for the purposes
of sales and use taxes to the first
day of calendar quarter after a
minimum of 60 days notice?

No   

305050 D. Does the state provide and
maintain a database with boundary
changes?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-806 P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 124
Eft. 1-1-08

Creation of database completed in
May 2005

305060 E. Does the state provide and
maintain a database identifying all
jurisdictional rate information using
the FIPS codes?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-806 P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 124
Eft. 1-1-08

Creation of address & 5 digit zip
code database was completed in
May 2005 and January 2007 the
update with 9 digit code information
was completed and also available
in a downloadable format.

305070 F1. Does the state provide and
maintain a database that assigns
each five digit and nine digit zip
code within the member state to the
proper tax rate and jurisdiction?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-806 P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 124
Eft. 1-1-08

305080 F2. Does the state apply the lowest
combined tax rate imposed in a zip
code if the area in that zip code
includes more than one tax rate?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-806 P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 124
Eft. 1-1-08

The data base includes addresses
and 5 and 9 digit zip codes and
does apply the lowest local tax rate
and a jurisdiction code where an
area is identified as including more
than 1 local tax rate and
jurisdiction,

305090 G. Does the state provide address-
based boundary database records
for assigning taxing jurisdictions
and their associated rates? If yes,
answer the following questions.

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-806 P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 124
Eft. 1-1-08

Tennessee's database is also an
address-based system.

305100 1. Are the records in the same
format as database records in F?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-806 P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 124
Eft. 1-1-08

305110 2. Do the records meet the
requirements of the Federal Mobile
Telecommunications Sourcing Act?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-806 P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 124
Eft. 1-1-08
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305115
 

(about:blank)

3. Does the state require that 
sellers and CSPs, in order to 
obtain the liability relief 
provided under Section 306 
of this Agreement, use the 
address-based database 
records provided by that 
member state?

(about:blank)

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-806 &
67-6-533 & 67-6-523

P.C. 602
(2007)
Sec. 124, 110
Eft. 1-1-08

Creation of address & 5 digit zip
code database was completed in
May 2005. In January 2007 the
update with 9 digit code information
was completed and also available
in a downloadable format.

305120 SSTGB Rule 502 H. If the state has met the
requirements of subsection (F) and
elected to certify vendor provided
address-based databases for
assigning tax rates and jurisdiction:

No

305130 1. Are those databases in the same
format as the database records
approved pursuant to (G) of this
section?

NA

305140 2. Do those databases meet the
requirements of the Federal Mobile
Telecommunications Sourcing Act
(4 U.S.C.A. Sec. 119 (a))?

NA

Section 306 Relief from certain
liability

306010 Does the state relieve sellers and
CSPs from liability to the state and
its local jurisdictions for collecting
the incorrect amount of tax because
of reliance on state provided data
on rates, boundaries, and
jurisdiction assignments?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-533 P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 110
Eft. 1-1-08

Prior to 1-1-08 such relief of liability
was available to CSP's and their
Model 1 Sellers.

Section 307 Database requirements
and exceptions

307010 A. Does the state provide a
database per Section 305, in
downloadable format?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-806 P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 124
Eft. 1-1-08

307020 If the state designates a vendor to
provide the Section 305 database
does the vendor's database meet
the requirements of Sections 305,
306 and 307 and is provided at no
cost to the user of the database?

NA

Section 308 State and local tax rates

308010 A1. Does the state have more than
one state sales and use tax rate on
items of personal property or
services other than (1) fuel used to
power motor vehicles, aircraft,
locomotives, or watercraft; (2)
electricity, piped natural or artificial
gas, or other fuels delivered by the
seller; (3) the retail sale or transfer
of motor vehicles, aircraft,
watercraft, modular homes,
manufactured homes, or mobile
homes; or (4) energy as defined in
Section 302(4)?

Yes T.C.A. Secs.
67-6-226
67-6-103(f)
67-6-102 (106)
 
 
67-6-227
 
 
67-6-221(a)
 
 
 
67-6-219
 
 
 
 
 
67-6-202(a)
67-6-702(d)

T.C.A. Secs.
67-6-207
amended
67-6-218
repealed.
Agriculture
Eft. 1-1-08.
 

Video programming services (Cable
TV) monthly charge from $15.01 -
$27.50 is subject to 8.25% state tax
rate
 
 
Direct-to-home satellite TV is
subject to 8.25% state tax rate
 
Business interstate and
international telecom is subject to
7.5% state tax rate
 
Tangible personal property sold in
Tennessee to common carrier for
export and use out of state is
subject to 3.75% state tax rate
 
An additional state tax at the rate of
2.75% applies to the sales price of
a single article of tangible personal
property from $1,600 to $3,200.

about:blank
about:blank
dg01050
Highlight

dg01050
Highlight

dg01050
Highlight

dg01050
Highlight

dg01050
Highlight

dg01050
Highlight
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308020 A2. Does the state have a single
additional tax rate on food and food
ingredients and drugs as defined by
state law pursuant to the
Agreement?

No T.C.A. 67-6-228 Tennessee applies a reduced state
tax rate (currently 4%) to food and
food ingredients. Drugs that are not
fully exempt from tax are subject
to regular state tax rate. 
 
Tennessee does have other state
and local tax rates. See 308010
and and 308030.

308030 B1. If the state has local
jurisdictions with a sales or use tax,
does any local jurisdiction have
more than one sales tax rate or one
use tax rate?

Yes T.C.A. Secs.
67-6-702(g)(2)
 
 
 
67-6-702(g)(1)
 
 
 
67-6-702(g)(4)
 
 
 
67-6-702(e)
 

Pub. Chapter
491 (2019)
Secs. 2 and 3
eft. 10-1-19
repeals the
option to use a
2.25% uniform
local tax rate
for sales
shipped
or delivered
into TN.

 
Intrastate telecom and ancillary
service is subject to 2.5% local tax
rate
 
Residential interstate and
international telecom subject to
1.5% local tax rate
 
Specified digital products is subject
to 2.5% local tax rate
 
Tangible personal property sold in
Tennessee to common carrier for
export and use out of state is
subject to 1.5% local tax rate.
 
Note: Water sold to qualified mfrs.
is subject to .5% local tax rate.
T.C.A. 67-6-702(b)

308040 B2. If the state has local
jurisdictions with a sales and use
tax are the local sales and use tax
rates identical?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-203 (a) and 
67-6-702(a)(1)

308045 This isn't a compliance
issue but is something
sellers and their agents
should know.

D.1. Does the state allow the
reporting of items with a different
local rate on the SER?

Yes Only taxpayers registering in
Tennessee through the Streamlined
Registration System that do not
have locations in the state may file
using the SER.
T.C.A. 67-6-601(a)

308050 This isn't a compliance
issue but is something
sellers and their agents
should know.

D.2. Does the state provide
information on the different rate in a
separate boundary file using the
format approved by the Governing
Board?

No

308055 This isn't a compliance
issue but is something
sellers and their agents
should know.

D.4. Did the state notify the
Governing Board that it requires the
separate reporting of these taxes
on the SER and make the
requirement effective no sooner
than the first day of a calendar
quarter beginning at least 6 months
after notifying the Governing
Board?

No

Section 310 General sourcing rules

A. Does the state source a retail
sale, excluding lease or rental, of a
product as follows:

No   

310010 CRIC INTERPRETIVE
OPINION 2007-2

1. If received at business location of
seller, then sourced to that
location?

Yes Rule:
1320-05-02-.05(1)
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310020 2. If not received at business
location of seller, then sourced to
location of receipt?

No T.C.A. 67-6-102(86)
 
 
 
Rules:
1320-05-02-.05(1)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
1320-05-02-.05(2)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
T.C.A. 67-6-233
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
T.C.A. 67-6-231
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
T.C.A. 67-6-515(a)

 Definition of "sale" includes the
transfer of title or possession of
tangible personal property. See
entire definition of "sale."
 
Sales subject to tax made to a
purchaser from any place of
business within a local jurisdiction
in Tennessee to a purchaser
anywhere within the physical limits
of Tennessee or for delivery to a
place within the physical limits of
Tennessee is sourced to the seller's
business location. Taxable services
performed from a place of business
in Tennessee is sourced to the
seller's business location even if
any serviced tangible personal
property is shipped out of state.
 
Sales subject to tax made from out
of state to a purchaser within the
physical limits of Tennessee are
sourced to the shipped to or
delivery address of the purchaser.
Taxable services to tangible
personal property performed out of
state are not subject to use tax in
Tennessee.
 
Specified digital products and video
game digital products sales made
from out of state is sourced to the
residential street address or
primary business address of the
subscriber or purchaser.
See Important Notice 15-13
 
Remotely accessed software sales
made from out of state that is
accessed from a location in
Tennessee is sourced to the
residential street address or
primary business address of the
subscriber or purchaser.
See Important Notice 15-14
 
Marketplace facilitators source
sales sold through its marketplace
based on the address the tangible
personal property or taxable things
are shipped. However, services
sold through its marketplace are
sourced as otherwise provided in
the sales tax statutes.
 
Note: Out of state sellers who
collect and remit Tennessee sales
and use tax must report their sales
based on the shipped to or
delivered to address in the
incorporated municipality or
unincorporated area of a county of
the purchaser. This applies even if
the county and municipality local
tax rate is the same.
See Important Notice 19-05.
Public Chapter 491 (2019)
Eft. 10-1-2019
 

310030 3. If subsections 1 & 2 do not apply,
then sourced to address of
purchaser in business records of
seller that are maintained in
ordinary course of seller's
business?

No    

dg01050
Highlight
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310040 4. If subsections 1, 2 & 3 do not
apply, then sourced to address of
purchaser obtained during
consummation of sale, including
address of purchaser's payment
instrument, if no other address is
available?

No    

310050 5. If subsections 1, 2, 3 & 4 do not
apply, including the circumstance in
which the seller is without sufficient
information to apply the previous
rules, then sourced to location from
which tangible personal property
was shipped, from which digital
good or computer software
delivered electronically was first
available for transmission by seller,
or from which service was provided.

No    

B. Does the state source a lease or
rental of tangible personal property
as follows:

No    

310060 1. If recurring periodic payments,
the first periodic payment is
sourced the same as a retail sale.
Subsequent payments are sourced
to the primary property location for
each period covered by the
payment?

No Rules:
1320-05-01-.32(2)
1320-05-02-.05(1)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
1320-05-02-.05(2)

 A lease of tangible personal
property from any place of business
within a local jurisdiction in
Tennessee and the lessee takes
possession/ delivery of the tangible
personal property in Tennessee,
regardless of where the property
will be taken or used by the lessee,
is sourced to the lessor's place of
business within a local jurisdiction
in Tennessee for the period of the
lease.
 
 
A lease of tangible personal
property from out of state and the
tangible personal property is
delivered to the lessee in
Tennessee is sourced to the
lessee's address for the property
location in Tennessee.
 
Tangible personal property leased
out of state and during the lease
period the primary property location
is moved to Tennessee, the
subsequent periodic payments are
subject to use tax in Tennessee
based the lessee's address for the
property location in Tennessee.
 

310070 2. If no recurring periodic
payments, then sourced in
accordance with rules of retail sale?

No   See 310060

CRIC INTERPRETIVE
OPINION 2006-3

C. Does the state source a lease or
rental of motor vehicles, trailers,
semi-trailers, or aircraft that do not
qualify as transportation equipment
as follows:

No   

310080 1. If recurring periodic payments,
then sourced to primary property
location?

No   

310090 2. If no recurring periodic
payments, then sourced in
accordance with rules of retail sale?

No   

310100 D. Does the state source the retail
sale, including lease or rental, of
transportation equipment in
accordance with rules for retail
sale?

No   
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310110 1. Does the state define
transportation equipment pursuant
to in Section 310, subsection D?

No   

Section 310.1 Election for Origin-
Based sourcing

Effective January 1, 2010

310500 CRIC INTERPRETIVE
OPINION 2010-1

Has the state elected to source the
retail sale, excluding lease or
rental, of tangible personal property
and digital goods on where the
order is received?

No See 310020
 

310510 Does the state comply with all the
provisions of 310.1 B and C?

No

Section 311 General sourcing
definitions

311010 SSTGB RULES 311.1,
311.2 and 311.3

For the purposes of Section 310,
subsection (A), does the state
define the terms "receive" and
"receipt" to mean: taking
possession of tangible personal
property, making first use of
services, or taking possession or
making first use of digital goods,
whichever comes first? Note: The
terms "receive" and "receipt" do not
include possession by a shipping
company on behalf of the
purchaser.

No   

Section 313 Direct mail sourcing

313010 SSTGB RULES 313.1 A 2. For advertising and
promotional Direct Mail, does the
state provide that upon receipt of a
direct mail form or Exemption
Certificate claiming direct mail, or
other written statement approved
by the state, the seller, in the
absence of bad faith, is relieved of
all obligations to collect, pay or
remit the tax to which the permit
pertains?

No   Tennessee has posted the
Streamlined Certificate of
Exemption with the direct mail
reason code grayed out.
 
See 310020.

313020 A 3. Does the state provide that
upon receipt of jurisdictional
information, the seller shall collect
tax according to purchaser's
submitted information and in the
absence of bad faith, seller is
relieved of further liability?

No    

313030 A 4. For advertising and
promotional Direct Mail, does the
state require the seller to collect tax
pursuant to Section 310 (A)(5) if the
purchaser does not provide a direct
pay permit, Exemption Certificate
claiming direct mail, or jurisdictional
information?

No    

313040 B 1. For other Direct Mail, does the
state require the seller to collect tax
pursuant to Section 310 (A)(3) if the
purchaser does not provide a direct
pay permit or an Exemption
Certificate claiming direct mail?

No Billing services and other print-mail
services where the seller is creating
individualized statements/ bills and
mailing to recipients that are not the
purchaser are nontaxable services
in Tennessee. The Streamlined
Certificate of Exemption on
Tennessee's website has direct
mail reason code grayed out.
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313050 B 3.For other Direct mail does the
state provide that upon receipt of a
direct pay permit, Exemption
Certificate claiming direct mail, or
other written statement approved
by the state, the seller, in the
absence of bad faith, is relieved of
all obligations to collect, pay or
remit the tax?

No    

Section 313.1 Origin-based direct mail
sourcing

313510 A. Has the state adopted the origin-
based direct mail sourcing?

No

Section 314 Telecom sourcing rule

314010 SSTGB RULE 314.1 A. Except as required in subsection
C below, does the state source
telecommunication services sold on
a call-by-call basis to each level of
taxing jurisdiction where the call
originates and terminates in that
jurisdiction or each level of taxing
jurisdiction where the call either
originates or terminates and in
which service address is located?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-905 (b)   

314020 B. Except as required in subsection
C below, does the state source
telecommunication service to the
customer's place of primary use if
sold on a basis other than call-by-
call basis?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-905 (c)   

314030 C1. Does the state source the sale
of mobile telecommunication
service, other than air-to-ground
radiotelephone service and prepaid
calling service, to customer's place
of primary use as required under
Mobile Telecommunications
Sourcing Act?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-905 (d)(1)   

314040 C2. Does the state source the sale
of post-paid calling service to the
origination point of the
telecommunication signal as first
identified by either the seller's
telecommunication system or
information received by the seller
from its service provider, where
system used to transport signals is
not that of the seller?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-905 (d)(2)   

314050 C3. Does the state source the sale
of prepaid wireless calling service
and prepaid calling services in
accordance with Section 310 of the
Agreement, including the option of
the location associated with the
mobile telephone number for
prepaid wireless calling service?

No T.C.A. 67-6-230  Prepaid calling services and
prepaid wireless calling services
are subject to tax at the time of sale
using Tennessee origin-based
sourcing for in- state sales. Sales
from out of state would be sourced
to the customer's place of primary
use.
 
See 310020.

314060 C4a. For the sale of private
communication service, does the
state source a separate charge
related to a customer channel
termination point to each level of
jurisdiction in which such customer
channel termination point is
located?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-905 (d)(3)(A)   
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314070 C4b. For the sale of private
communication service, does the
state source to the jurisdiction in
which the customer channel
termination points are located when
all customer termination points are
located entirely within one
jurisdiction or levels of jurisdictions?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-905 (d)(3)(B)   

314080 C4c. For the sale of private
communication service, does the
state source fifty percent in each
level of jurisdiction in which the
customer channel termination
points are located when service for
segments of a channel between
two customer channel termination
points located in different
jurisdictions and which segment of
channel are separately charged ?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-905 (d)(3)(C)   

314090 C4d. For the sale of private
communication service, does the
state source to each jurisdiction
based on the percentage
determined by dividing the number
of customer channel termination
points in such jurisdiction by the
total number of customer channel
termination points when service for
segments of a channel located in
more than one jurisdiction or levels
of jurisdiction and which segments
are not separately billed?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-905 (d)(3)(D)   

314100 D. Does the state source the sale of
Internet access service to the
customer's place of primary use?

NA NA   

314110 E. Does the state source the sale of
an ancillary service to the
customer's place of primary use?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-905 (c)   

Section 315 Telecom sourcing
definitions

Does the state define the following
terms in sourcing
telecommunications:

315010 A. Air-to-ground radiotelephone
service?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-905 (a)(1)   

315020 B. Ancillary services? Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (7) and  
67-6-905(c)

  

315030 C. Call-by-call basis? Yes T.C.A. 67-6-905 (a)(2)   

315040 D. Communications channel? Yes T.C.A. 67-6-905 (a)(3)   

315050 E. Customer? Yes T.C.A. 67-6-905 (a)(4)   

315060 F. Customer channel termination
point?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-905 (a)(5)   

315070 G. End user? Yes T.C.A. 67-6-905 (a)(6)   

315080 H. Home service provider? Yes T.C.A. 67-6-905 (a)(7)   

315090 I. Mobile telecommunications
service?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-905 (a)(8)   

315100 J. Place of primary use? Yes T.C.A. 67-6-905 (a)(9)   
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315110 K. Post-paid calling service? Yes T.C.A. 67-6-905 (a)(10)  The definition of post-paid calling
services needs minor non-
substantive revision to insert the
phrase "except a prepaid wireless
calling service," The definition is
administered consistent with the
Agreement.

315120 L. Prepaid calling service? Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (7 2)   

315130 M. Prepaid wireless calling service? Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (73)   

315140 N. Private communication service? Yes T.C.A. 67-6-905 (a)(11)   

315150 O. Service address? Yes T.C.A. 67-6-905 (a)(12)   

Section 316 Enactment of
Exemptions

316010 Product-based exemptions. If the
state exempts a product that is
defined in Part II of the Library of
Definitions does the state do so
consistent with Part II and Section
327?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-207 and
67-6-301 thur 67-6-392

T.C.A. Secs.
67-6-102
product
definitions
67-6-228,
67-6-229,
67-6-230, 
67-6-231,
67-6-314, 
67-6-320,
67-6-329, 
67-6-337
 
P.C. 602
(2007)Secs.
61, 68, 83, 84,
85, 86, 89, 92,
93, 96. Eft.1-1-
08
 
P.C. 1106
(2008)Sec. 9
Eft. 6-5-08 &
Sec. 18-22 
Eft. 1-1-09

316020 Product-based exemptions. Can
the state confirm that where the
Agreement has a definition for a
product that the state exempts, the
state does not exempt specific
items included within that product
definition unless the definition sets
out an exclusion for such item.

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-207
67-6-301 thur 67-6-392

T.C.A. Secs.
67-6-102
product
definitions.
67-6-228,
67-6-229,
67-6-230, 
67-6-231,
67-6-314, 
67-6-320,
67-6-329, 
67-6-337
 
P.C. 602
(2007)Secs.
61, 68, 83, 84,
85, 86, 89, 92,
93, 96.
Eft. 1-1-08
 
P.C. 1106
(2008)Sec. 9
Eft. 6-5-08 &
Sec. 18-22 
Eft. 1-1-09
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316030 Entity and Use-based exemptions.
If the state has enacted an entity or
use-based exemption for a product
that is defined in Part II of the
Library of Definitions does the state
do so consistent with Part II and
Section 327?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-207,
67-6-319,
67-6-348, 
67-6-356, 
67-6-389, 
67-6-390, 
67-6-395

T.C.A. Secs.
67-6-207, 
67-6-219,
67-6-229, 
67-6-329,
67-6-337, 
67-6-351,
67-6-389, 
67-6-387, 
 
P.C. 602 (2007)
Secs. 79, 82,
84, 93, 96, 98,
99, 100.
Eft.1-1-08 
 
P.C. 1106
(2008)
Sec. 22
Eft. 1-1-09

316040 Use-based exemptions. Can the
state confirm that any use-based
exemption for an item does not
constitute a product-based
exemption for a product defined in
the Agreement that includes such
item?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-207,
67-6-319,
67-6-348, 
67-6-356, 
67-6-389, 
67-6-390, 
67-6-395

T.C.A. Secs.
67-6-207, 
67-6-219,
67-6-229, 
67-6-329,
67-6-337, 
67-6-351,
67-6-389 
67-6-387 
 
P.C. 602
(2007)Secs.
79, 82, 84, 93,
96, 98, 99, 100
Eft.1-1-08
 
P.C. 1106
(2008)Secs. 22
Eft. 1-1-09

Section 317 Administration of
exemptions

SSTGB RULE 317.1 A. Does the state provide for the
following in regard to purchasers
claiming exemption:

317010 1. Seller shall obtain identifying
information from purchaser and
reason for claiming exemption?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-409 (a)(1) 2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 103  
Eft. 1-1-08

317020 2. Purchaser is not required to
provide signature, unless paper
exemption certificate?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-409 (a)(2) 2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 103  
Eft. 1-1-08

317030 3. Seller shall use standard form for
claiming exemption electronically?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-409 (a)(2) 2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 103  
Eft. 1-1-08

317040 4. Seller shall obtain same
information for proof regardless of
medium?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-409 (a)(2) 2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 103  
Eft. 1-1-08

317050 5. Does the state issue
identification numbers to exempt
purchasers that must be presented
to sellers?

Yes T.C.A. Secs.
67-6-102(46)
67-6-206, 
67-6-207, 
67-6-219,
67-6-322,
67-6-330,
67-6-356,
& 
67-6-389

67-6-206 - industrial machinery;
67-6-102(46)(M) - research and
development
67-6-102(46)(I) - warehouse and
distribution material handling and
racking system
67-6-207 - farmers, nurserymen;
67-6-219 - common carriers;
67-6-322 - non-profit entities;
67-6-389 - private communications
for headquarters qualified entities; 
67-6-330(a)(16) - health/fitness
clubs;
67-6-356 - call centers
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317060 6. Seller shall maintain records of
exempt transaction and provide to
state when requested?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-409 (a)(4) 2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 103  
Eft. 1-1-08

317070 The Governing Board has
not defined "does not
burden sellers." The
burden is on each state
to prove that something
other than a direct-pay
permit or exemption
certificate meets this
provision.

7. Does the state administer use-
based and entity-based exemptions
when practicable through a direct
pay permit, an exemption
certificate, or another means that
does not burden sellers.

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-409 2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 103  
Eft. 1-1-08

317080 SSTGB RULE 317.2 8. In the case of drop shipment
sales, does the state allow a third
party vendor to claim a resale
exemption based on an exemption
certificate provided by its
customer/re-seller or any other
acceptable information available to
the third party vendor evidencing
qualification for a resale exemption,
regardless of whether the
customer/re-seller is registered to
collect and remit sales and use tax
in the state where the sale is
sourced?

Yes
Eft. 1-10-22

T.C.A. 67-6-102 (83)(A) &
Rule 1320-05-01-.29(2)
 
Repealed - Rule 1320-
05-01-.96
Eft. 1-10-22

 Other state resale certificates may
be accepted by Tennessee
suppliers for goods drop shipped to
out-of-state dealer's Tennessee
customers. A Tennessee supplier
may accept a resale certificate
issued by another state or a fully
completed Streamlined Sales and
Use Tax Exemption Certificate that
includes the tax ID number issued
by the other state to make drop
shipped sales for resale without tax.
Rule 1320-05-01-.96 has been
repealed effective 1-10-22. See
important notice 22-01 Drop
Shipment Rule Repealed.
 

317090 B. Does the state relieve the seller
from any tax if it is determined that
the purchaser improperly claimed
an exemption and hold the
purchaser liable for the tax,
assuming the exceptions in the
section?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-409 (b)(1) 2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 103  
Eft. 1-1-08

317100 C. Does the state relieve a seller of
the tax otherwise applicable if the
seller obtains a fully completed
exemption certificate or captures
the relevant data elements required
under the Agreement within 90
days subsequent to the date of
sale?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-409 (b)(1) Tennessee has not yet adopted
legislation defining the time period
for "time of sale" as within 90 days
of the sale. 
The Department currently interprets
"at the time of purchase" to mean
that sellers must  obtain a fully
completed cetificate or the
identifying information in electronic
format within 90 days subsequent
to the time of purchase.  Absent
fraud or illegal solicitation, when the
seller obtains a fully completed
certifiate at the time of sale or
within 90 days subsequent to the
time of sale, the seller is not liable
for sales if it is determined the
purchaser improperly claimed an
exemption. 

317110 CRIC INTERPRETIVE
OPINION 2011-3

D.1. Does the state provide the
seller with 120 days subsequent to
a request for substantiation by a
state, if the seller has not obtained
an exemption certificate as
provided in C, to obtain an
exemption certificate or other
information establishing the
transaction was not subject to tax?

Yes T.C.A. 67-1-1501 (b) Tennessee has not yet adopted
legislation for the 90-day period for
obtaining exemption certificates at
the "time of sale or purchase" or the
subsequent 120-day period for
sellers under audit that failed to
obtain exemption certificates within
the 90-day period to substantiate
exemption for non-taxed sales.   An
audited seller may, within the
statute of limitations for such audit,
substantiate an exemption for
nontaxed sales.
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317120 D.2. Subsequent to the 90-day
period provided in C, does the state
relieve a seller of the tax for
exemption certificates taken in
good faith or other information
establishing the transaction was not
subject to tax that are obtained by
the seller as provided in D.1.?

Yes Tennessee has not yet adopted
legislation defining the good faith
standard and its application to
exemption documentation obtained
after the 90-day period. Currently,
when a fully completed certificate or
electronic identifying information is
obtained by the seller after the 90
days following the date of the sale,
the seller is liable for tax unless the
certificate or electronic identifying
information was taken in good
faith. 

317130 G. Does the state post the
Streamlined Exemption Certificate
on its website?

Yes

317140 The answer to this
question does not impact
certification, but it would
provide useful information
to taxpayers.

2. Does the state require
purchasers to update exemption
certificate information or to reapply
with the state to claim certain
exemption?

No, except in
the case of TN
Sales and Use
Tax Agricultural
Exemption
 Certificate and
nonprofit
exemption
certificates

T.C.A. 67-6-409 (b)(1) 2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 103  
Eft. 1-1-08

T.C.A. 67-6-207(c) farmers and
nurserymen must qualify for and
receive a new certificate every 4
years.
In addition, T.C.A. 67-6-322
nonprofit exemption certificates are
reviewed and reissued every
4 years that includes a current
effective date.

317150 3. Does the state relieve a seller of
tax if the seller obtains a blanket
exemption certificate for a
purchaser with which the seller has
a recurring business relationship?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-409 (b)(1) 2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 103  
Eft. 1-1-08

Section 318 Uniform tax returns

318010 A. Does the state require the filing
of only one tax return for each
taxing period for each seller for the
state and all local jurisdictions?

No T.C.A. 67-6-504 (a)  Tennessee requires taxpayers to
submit a single consolidated return
filing that includes separate return
filing information for each in-state
location (location profile/ID) plus
one location (profile/ID) for all sales
from out of state.

318020 B.1. Does the state require that
returns be filed no sooner than the
twentieth day of the month following
the month in which the transaction
occurred?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-504 (a) and  
67-6-536(d)

2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 113  
Eft. 1-1-08

318030 B.2. Does the state provide when
the due date for a return falls on a
Saturday or Sunday or legal
holiday, the return shall be due the
next succeeding business day.

Yes T.C.A. 4-1-402

318040 C.1. Does the state accept the SER
approved by the governing board?

Yes -
 
See Comments

T.C.A. 67-6-504 (a) and  
67-6-536(a)

2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 113
Eft. 1-1-08
 

Currently T.C.A. 67-6-536(a)
provides Model 1 & 2 sellers with
no locations in TN may file using
the SER format. In addition, under
the commissioner's authority in
T.C.A. 67-6-504(a) and 67-6-601 et.
seq. any remote seller that does not
have a location in TN may use the
Streamlined SER for filing returns in
Tennessee. 

318050 C 2. Does the state require the
submission of exemption
information on part 2 of the SER,
excluding Model 4 sellers without a
legal requirement to register?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-504 (a) Tennessee has notified the
Governing Board of the
requirement of exemption
information on part 2 of the SER.
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318060 C.3. Does the state allow Model 1,
Model 2, and Model 3 sellers to
submit its sales and use tax returns
in a simplified format that does not
include more data fields than
permitted by the governing board?

Yes -
 
See Comments

T.C.A. 67-6-504 (a) and  
67-6-536(a)

2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 113
Eft. 1-1-08
 

Currently T.C.A. 67-6-536(a)
provides Model 1 & 2 sellers with
no locations in TN may file using
the SER format. In addition, under
the commissioner's authority in
T.C.A. 67-6-504(a) and 67-6-601 et.
seq. any remote seller that does not
have a location in TN may use the
Streamlined SER for filing returns in
TN. 
 

318070 C 3.c. Does the state allow a model
4 seller to file an SER?

Yes - 
 
See Comments

T.C.A. 67-6-504 (a) and  
67-6- 536(a)

2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 113
Eft. 1-1-08
 

Under the commissioner's authority
in T.C.A. 67-6-504(a) and 67-6-601
et. seq. any remote seller
registered through the Streamlined
Central Registration System that
does not have a location in TN may
use the Streamlined SER for filing
returns in TN. 

318080 Effective 1-1-2013 C.3.d. Does the state allow sellers
not registered under the Agreement
to file an SER?

No T.C.A. 67-6-504 (a) and  
67-6-536(a)

2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 113
Eft. 1-1-08
 

See 318070

318090 D. Does the state require the filing
of a return from a seller who
registers under the Agreement and
indicates that it anticipates making
no sales that would be sourced to
that state?

No T.C.A. 67-6-504 (a) Sellers that select TN in the
Streamlined Central Registration
System and do not have a location
in TN, are placed in a non-filing
status until such time as the seller
files its first return at which time an
appropriate filing frequency is
determined for the seller.

318095 Required by 1-1-2019 E. Has the state adopted
webservices as the standardized
transmission process that allows for
receipt of uniform tax returns and
other formatted information
approved by the Governing Board?

Yes

318100 F. Does the state give notice to a
seller registered under the
Agreement, that has no legal
requirement to register in a state,
who failed to file a return, a
minimum 30 days notice prior to
establishing a liability amount for
taxes based solely on the seller's
failure to timely file?

Yes A minimum of 30 days is given on
all sales and use taxpayer accounts
prior to the creation of an estimated
liability and mailing of a
delinquency notice for failure to
timely file.    

Section 319 Uniform rules for
remittance of funds

319010 A1. Does the state require more
than one remittance for each
return?

No T.C.A. 67-6-504 2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 106
Eft. 1-1-08 
 

Tennessee requires taxpayers
submit a consolidated return filing
that includes separate return
information for each location
(location profile/ID). A Taxpayer
filing electronically in TNTAP may
make a single payment for the
consolidated filing that includes the
return filling for each location.
Taxpayers filing paper returns may
submit one check remitting tax for
multiple returns.

319020 A2. If the state requires more than
one remittance for each return does
it do so only if: (1) seller collects
more than $30,000 in sales and use
taxes in state during preceding
year, (2) any additional remittance
to be determined through a
calculation method, and (3) the
seller is not required to file
additional return?

NA 2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 106  
Eft. 1-1-08
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319030 C. Does the state allow payment to
be made by both ACH Credit &
ACH Debit?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-536 (c) 2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 106  
Eft. 1-1-08

319040 D. Does the state provide an
alternative method for "same day"
payment if electronic fund transfer
fails (electronic check or Fed
Wire)?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-536 (c) 2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 106  
Eft. 1-1-08

319050 E 1. Does the state provide that if a
due date falls on a Saturday,
Sunday or a legal holiday in the
state, the taxes are due on the next
succeeding business day?

Yes T.C.A. 4-1-402 Tennessee also does this
administratively under the statutory
powers granted the commissioner
to administer the assessment and
collection.

319060 E 2. Does the state provide that if a
due date falls on a day the Federal
Reserve Bank is closed, the taxes
are due on the next day the Federal
Reserve Bank is open?

Yes T.C.A. 4-1-402 Tennessee also does this
administratively under the statutory
powers granted the commissioner
to administer the assessment and
collection.

319070 F. Does the state require that any
data that accompanies a remittance
to be formatted using uniform tax
type and payment type codes?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-403 Tennessee commissioner has
broad authority to adopt forms in
current law.

Section 320 Uniform rules for
recovery of bad debts

320010 A. Does the state allow a seller to
take a deduction from taxable sales
for bad debts?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-507 (e)(1)(2)
& (3)

2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 107  
Eft. 1-1-08

320020 B. Does the state use the definition
of bad debt found in 26 U.S.C. Sec.
166 as basis for calculating a bad
debt recovery, excluding: financing
charges or interest; sales or use
taxes charged on purchase price;
uncollectible amounts on property
that remains in possession of seller
until full price paid; expenses
incurred in attempt to collect debt,
and repossessed property?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-507 (e)(2) 2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 107  
Eft. 1-1-08

320030 C1. Does the state allow bad debts
to be deducted on the return for the
period during which the bad debt is
written off as uncollectible on and is
eligible be deducted for federal
income tax purposes?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-507 (e)(3) 2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 107  
Eft. 1-1-08

320040 C2. If the seller is not required to
file a federal income tax return does
the state allow bad debts to be
deducted on the return for the
period during which the bad debt is
written off as uncollectible on and
would be eligible be deducted for
federal income tax purposes if the
seller was required to file a federal
return?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-507 (e)(3) 2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 107  
Eft. 1-1-08

320050 D. Does the state require that, if a
deduction is taken for a bad debt
and the debt is subsequently
collected in whole or in part, the tax
on the amount so collected must be
paid and reported on the return files
for the period in which the collection
is made?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-507 (e)(4) 2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 107  
Eft. 1-1-08
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320060 E. Does the state provide that,
when the amount of a bad debt
exceeds taxable sales for period
when written off, a refund claim
may be filed within the applicable
statute of limitations (measured
from due date of return on which
bad debt could first be claimed)?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-507 (e)(5) 2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 107  
Eft. 1-1-08

320070 F. Does the state provide that if
filing responsibilities are assumed
by a CSP, the state allows the CSP
to claim, on behalf of the seller, any
bad debt allowance?

Yes T.C.A. 67-1-1802 (d) and  
67-6-507(e)(6)

2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 107  
Eft. 1-1-08

320080 G. Does the state provide that, for
purposes of reporting payment on
previously claimed bad debt, any
payments made are applied first
proportionately to taxable price of
property or service and sales tax
thereon, and secondly to interest,
service charges, and any other
charges?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-507 (e)(7) 2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 107  
Eft. 1-1-08

320090 H. Does the state permit allocation
of a bad debt among states if the
books and records of a the party
support allocation among states?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-507 (e)(8) 2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 107  
Eft. 1-1-08

Section 321 Confidentiality and
privacy protections
under Model 1

321010 E. Does the state provide public
notification to consumers, including
exempt purchasers, of state's
practices relating to collection, use
and retention of personally
identifiable information?

Yes T.C.A. 67-1-1701 et seq.
and 
67-1-110 (c)(6)

2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 54  
Eft. 1-1-08

Tennessee publishes on its website
list of confidentiality and privacy
rights and protections under
Tennessee law.
 
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/r
evenue/documents/taxes/sales/stre
amlined/confidentiality.pdf
 

321020 F. Does the state provide that when
any personally identifiable
information is no longer required for
purposes in Section 321 subsection
(D)(4), such information shall no
longer be retained by state?

Yes T.C.A. 67-1-1701 et seq.

321030 G. Does the state provide that
when personally identifiable
information regarding an individual
is retained by or on behalf of state,
the state shall provide reasonable
access to information by such
individual and a right to correct
inaccurate information?

Yes T.C.A. 67-1-1701 et seq.

321040 H. Does the state provide that if
anyone other than a member state
or person authorized by state law or
the Agreement seeks to discover
personally identifiable information,
state makes reasonable and timely
effort to notify the individual of the
request?

No T.C.A. 67-1-1701 et seq. State law does not authorize
release of personally identifiable
information under broad
confidentiality protections and
provides severe penalties in case of
a violation. Nothing in Tennessee
law prevents the Department from
notifying an individual that another
person discovered or attempted to
discover personally identifiable
information about the individual that
was in violation of Tennessee
statutes.

321050 I. Is the state's privacy policy
subject to enforcement by state's
AG or other appropriate
government authority?

Yes T.C.A. 8-6-301 Confidentiality provisions are
enforced by state's attorney
general.
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Section 322 Sales tax holidays

322010 A. Does the state have sales tax
holidays?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-393
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Public Chapter
1131 (2022)
Eft. 7-1-22
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Public Chapter
1053 (2022)
Eft. 5-27-22

Tennessee's traditional sales tax
holiday for 2022 on clothing, school
supplies, school art supplies, and
computers begins 12:01 a.m.
Friday, July 29, and ends 11:59
p.m. Sunday, July 31.
 
A special 2022 sales tax holiday for
food and food ingredients begins
12:01 a.m. on Monday August 1
and ends 11:59 p.m. Wednesday
August 31. The exemption does not
apply to sales from a micro market
as defined in 67-6-102(58), or
vending machine or device.
See Important Notice 22-10.
 
The second special sales tax
holiday, has been extended for an
additional year, for gun safes and
gun safety devices. The sales tax
holiday began 12:01 a.m. on July 1,
2021 and has been extended to
end 11:59 p.m. on June 30, 2023.
See Important Notice 22-06.
 
Find information for all 3 sales tax
holidays at:
https://www.tn.gov/revenue/taxes/s
ales-and-use-tax/sales-tax-
holiday.html
 
 
 
 

322020 1. If a state has a holiday, does the
state limit the holiday exemption to
items that are specifically defined in
Part II or Part III(B) of the Library of
Definitions and apply the
exemptions uniformly to state and
local sales and use taxes?

No -
See
Comments

T.C.A. 67-6-393 &
definitions in 
T.C.A. 67-6-102
 
Public Chapter
1131 (2022)
Eft. 7-1-22
 
 
Public Chapter
1053 (2022)
Eft. 5-27-22
 

The traditional sales tax holiday for
clothing, school supplies, school art
supplies, computer, and for the
special sales tax holiday for food
and food ingredients are for items
defined in the Library of Definitions.
 
The now 2 year sales tax holiday
for gun safes and gun safety
devices are not for items defined in
the Library of Definitions.
 
 
 

322030 2. If a state has a holiday, does the
state provide notice of the holiday
at least 60 days prior to first day of
the calendar month in which the
holiday will begin?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-393 The notice and website information
for clothing, school supplies, school
art supplies, computers and gun
safes and gun safety devices was
published May 27, 2022.
 
The notice for the food and food
ingredients sales tax holiday was
published June 3, 2022

322040 3. If a state has a holiday, does the
state apply an entity or use based
exemption to items?

No T.C.A. 67-6-393 (b)(1)(A-
D)

 

322050 3. If a state has a holiday, does the
state limit a product based
exemption to items purchased for
personal or non-business use?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-393 (b)(2)(G) Tennessee's traditional sales tax
holiday items are limited to non-
business use.
 
The 2 special sales tax holidays are
not limited to either personal or
non-business use.
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322060 4. If a state has a holiday, does the
state require a seller to obtain an
exemption certificate or other
certification from a purchaser for
items to be exempted during a
sales tax holiday?

No

322070 B1. If a state's holiday includes a
price threshold, does the state
provide that the threshold includes
only items priced below threshold?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-393 (b)(1)(A-
D)

The price thresholds applies to
clothing ($100 or less per item),
school supplies ($100 or less per
item), school art supplies ($100 or
less per item), and computers
($1,500 or less per item).
 
 

322080 B2. If a state's holiday includes a
price threshold, does the state
exempt only a portion of the price of
an individual item during holiday?

No T.C.A. 67-6-393 (b)(1)(A-
D)

There are no price thresholds for
the special sales tax holiday for
food and food ingredients, gun
safes, and gun safety devices.

322090 C. Does the state meet each of the
procedural requirements for
holidays?

Yes

322100 1. Layaway sales? Yes T.C.A. 67-6-393 (d)(1)

322110 2. Bundled sales? No T.C.A. 67-6-539  Tennessee has not adopted the
definition of a bundled transaction
and provisions for tax treatment of
a bundled transaction consistent
with SSUTA Sec. 330.
 
The sales price definition applies
for exempt personal property
bundled with taxable personal
property.
See T.C.A. 67-6-102(85)(A)(vi) 
 

322120 3. Coupons and discounts? Yes T.C.A. 67-6-393 (d)(2)

322130 4. Splitting of items normally sold
together?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-393 (d)(3)

322140 5. Rain checks? Yes T.C.A. 67-6-393 (d)(4)

322150 6. Exchanges? Yes T.C.A. 67-6-393 (d)(5)

322160 7. Delivery charges? Yes T.C.A. 67-6-393 (d)(6)

322170 8. Order date and back orders? Yes T.C.A. 67-6-393 (d)(7)  

322180 9. Returns? Yes T.C.A. 67-6-393 (d)(8)

322190 10. Different time zones? Yes T.C.A. 67-6-393 (d)(9)

Section 323 Caps and thresholds

323010 1. Does the state have any caps or
thresholds on the application of
rates or exemptions based on the
value of a transaction or item other
than clothing, motor vehicles,
aircraft, watercraft, modular homes,
manufactured homes or mobile
homes or instances where the
burden of administration has been
shifted from the retailer?

Yes T.C.A. Secs.
67-6-102(106)
67-6-226
67-6-103(f)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
67-6-202(a)
67-6-702(d)
 
 
 
 
 

P.C. 602
(2007)Secs.
58, 59, 93. Eft.
1-1-08 
 
P.C. 1106
(2008)
Sec. 2 
Eft. 7-1-08 
 

Video programming services (Cable
TV) thresholds:
*First $15 of monthly charge is
exempt from state tax.
*$15.01-$27.50 of monthly charge
is taxed at 8.25% state tax rate.
*Amount in excess of $27.50 is
subject to regular state tax rate
(currently 7%).
 
Additional state tax at the rate of
2.75% applies to the sales price of
a single article of tangible personal
property from $1,600 to $3,200.
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323020 2. Does the state have any caps
that are based on application of
rates unless the application of rates
are administered in a manner that
places no additional burden on
retailer?

NA Tennessee sales and use tax
statutes do no contain caps on
overall tax rates.

323030 B. Do local jurisdictions within the
state that levy sales or use tax have
caps or thresholds on application of
rates or exemptions that are based
on value of transaction or item?

Yes T.C.A. Secs.
67-6-702 (a) (d)
 
 
 
 
 
67-6-714
 
 
 

  
Local tax is limited to the first
$1,600 of the sales price of a single
article of tangible personal property.
 
 
The first $27.50 of a monthly
charge for video programming
services is exempt from local tax.
Amount of the monthly charge in
excess of $27.50 is subject to the
local tax.

323040 D.1. Does the state have cap or
threshold on the value of clothing?

No

323050 D.2. If the state has a threshold on
clothing, does the state meet each
of the following requirements:

NA

323060 a. Either provide that (1) the entire
price if the item is taxable if the
price is over the threshold or (2)
only the portion of the price of each
item over the threshold is taxable?

NA

323070 b. The price threshold of each
individual item is greater than
$110?

NA

323080 c. If the state adopts a clothing
threshold under this Section of the
Agreement and a sales tax holiday
on clothing under Section 322 of
the Agreement, does the state
provide that the clothing threshold
under this Section does not apply
during the sales tax holiday on
clothing?

NA

Section 324 Rounding rule

324010 1. Does the state provide that the
tax computation must be carried to
the third decimal place?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-504 (h) 2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 106  
Eft. 1-1-08

324020 2. Does the state provide that the
tax must be rounded to a whole
cent using a method that rounds up
to next cent whenever third decimal
place is greater than four after?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-504 (h) 2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 106  
Eft. 1-1-08

324030 B.1. Does the state allow sellers to
elect to compute tax due on a
transaction, on a item or invoice
basis, and shall allow rounding rule
to be applied to aggregated state
and local taxes?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-504 (h) (i) 2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 106  
Eft. 1-1-08

324040 B.2. Can the state confirm that it
has repealed any requirements for
sellers to collect tax on bracket
system?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-504 (i) 2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 106  
Eft. 1-1-08

Section 325 Customer refund
procedures
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325010 C. Does the state provide that a
cause of action against seller does
not accrue until the purchaser has
provided written notice to the seller
and the seller has had 60 days to
respond? Notice must contain
information necessary to determine
validity of request.

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-538 (d) 2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 115  
Eft. 1-1-08

325020 D. Does the state provide for
uniform language in regard to
presumption of a reasonable
business practice when a seller: I)
uses either a provider or a system,
including a proprietary system, that
is certified by the state; and ii) has
remitted to state all taxes collected,
less deductions, credits or
collection allowances?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-538 (e) 2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 115  
Eft. 1-1-08

Section 326 Direct pay permits

326010 Does the state provide for a direct
pay authority that allows the holder
of a direct pay permit to purchase
otherwise taxable goods and
services without payment of tax to
the supplier at the time of
purchase?

Yes Rule
1320-05-01-.68(4)
and
T.C.A. Sec.
67-6-102 (33) (34)

Section 327 Library of definitions

327010 A. If term defined in Library appears
in state's statutes, rules or
regulations, has the state adopted
the definition in substantially the
same language as the Library
definition?

Yes
Eft. 1-1-08
except for
bundled
transaction 

T.C.A. 67-6-102 et seq.
and 
67-6-905 
(a)(1-12)

P.C. 602 (2007)
Secs. 60, 61,
62, 64, 65, 66,
68 for
definitions and
Secs. 71, 74,
79, 80, 83-86,
89, 92, 93, 95,
96, 98, 99 &
100 for use of
definitions. 
Eft. 1-1-08. 
 
P.C. 1106
(2008)
Sec. 9
Eft. 6-05-08
& Sec.18
Eft.1-1-09
 

Tennessee has not adopted the
definition of bundled transaction
and provisions consistent with
SSUTA Sec.330.
 
The sales price definition applies
for exempt personal property
bundled with taxable personal
property.
See T.C.A. 67-6-102(87)(A)(vi).

327020 B. Can the state confirm that it does
not use a Library definition that is
contrary to meaning of Library
definition?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 et seq.
and 
67-6-905 
(a)(1-12)

P.C. 602 (2007)
Secs. 60, 61,
62, 64, 65, 66,
68 for
definitions and
Secs. 71, 74,
79, 80, 83-86,
89, 92, 93, 95,
96, 98, 99 &
100 for use of
definitions. 
Eft. 1-1-08
 
P.C. 1106
(2008) Sec. 9
Eft. 6-05-08
& Sec.18
Eft.1-1-09
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327030 SSTGB RULES 327.1,
APPENDIX L (Health
Care Lists) and
APPENDIX N (Candy
Products) and CRIC
INTERPRETIVE
OPINION 2006-5

C. Except as provided in Sections
316 and 332 and Library, can the
state confirm that it imposes tax on
all products and services included
within each Part II or Part III(B)
definition or exempts from tax all
products or services within each
definition, including all products and
services listed in the rules,
appendices and interpretive
opinions adopted by the Governing
Board?

Yes 2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 68, 83,
89, 92, 93  
Eft. 1-1-08

Section 328 Taxability matrix

328010 A1. Has the state completed the
Library of Definitions portion of the
taxability matrix in the
downloadable format approved by
Governing Board?

Yes

328020 A2. Has the state completed the
Tax Administration Practices portion
of the taxability matrix in the
downloadable format approved by
the Governing Board?

Yes

328030 B. Does the state provide notice of
changes in the taxability matrix as
required by the Governing Board?

Yes Tennessee has posted each
taxability matrix completed to its
web site. Tennessee sends notices
to taxpayers and post such notices
and other tax information to the
web site regarding changes

328040 C.Does the state relieve sellers and
CSPs from liability to the state and
its local jurisdictions for having
charged and collected incorrect tax
resulting from erroneous data in the
Library of Definitions section of the
taxability matrix?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-537 (d) 2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 114  
Eft. 1-1-08

328060 E. If the state taxes specified digital
products, has the state noted such
in the Library of Definitions section
of the taxability matrix?

Yes

328070 F. If the state has a sales tax
holiday, has the state noted the
exemption in the Library of
Definitions section of the taxability
matrix?

Yes Traditional sales tax holiday for
clothing, school supplies, school art
supplies, computers and the special
sales tax holiday for food and food
ingredients have been noted in the
taxability matrix.
 
The special sales tax holiday for
gun safes and gun safety devices
was not noted.

Section 329 Effective date for rate
changes

Does the state provide that the
effective date of rate changes for
services covering a period starting
before or ending after the statutory
effective date is as follows:

Yes Tennessee does this
administatively under the statutory
powers granted the commissioner
to administer the assessment and
collection of taxes, and will publish
policy to this effect

329010 1. For a rate increase, the new rate
shall apply to the first billing period
starting on or after the effective
date?

Yes

329020 2. For a rate decrease, new rate
shall apply to bills rendered on or
after the effective date?

Yes

Section 330 Bundled Transactions
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330010 SSTGB RULES 330.1
and 330.2

A. Has the state adopted and does
the state utilize the core definition
of "bundled transaction" to
determine tax treatment?

No T.C.A. 67-6-539(a)  Tennessee has not adopted the
definition of a bundled transaction
and provisions for tax treatment of
a bundled transaction consistent
with SSUTA Sec. 330.
 
Tennessee does have a bundled
transaction definition used solely for
purposes of bundles of
telecommunication services,
ancillary services, internet access
services, audio or video
programming services, or direct-to-
home satellite television
programming services.
See T.C.A. 67-6-539
 
 

C. Can the state confirm that for
bundled transactions that include
telecommunication service,
ancillary service, internet access, or
audio or video programming service
the following rules apply:

330020 1.For transactions that include both
taxable and nontaxable items, the
price attributable to nontaxable
items is exempt if the provider can
identify the price by reasonable and
verifiable standards from its books
and records.

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-539 (b)(1) P.C. 782 (2004)
Sec. 12
Eft. 7-1-04
 

 

330030 2. For transactions that include
products subject to different tax
rates, the total price may be treated
as attributable to the products
subject to tax at the highest tax rate
unless the provider can identify by
reasonable and verifiable standards
the portion of the price attributable
to the products subject to tax at the
lower rate from its books and
records that are kept in the regular
course of business for other
purposes, including, but not limited
to, non-tax purposes?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-539 (b)(2) P.C. 782 (2004)
Sec. 12
Eft. 7-1-04
 

 

330040 SSTGB RULE 330.3 D. If the state otherwise has not
specifically imposed tax on the
retail sales of computer software
maintenance contracts, does the
state treat software maintenance
contracts as provided in this
section?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (19) and 
67-6-231(b)

2009 P.C. 530
Secs. 50-52  
Eft. 7-1-09

Tennessee specifically imposes tax
on sales and use of computer
software maintenance contracts.

Section 331 Relief from certain
liability for purchasers

A. Does the state provide relief for
purchasers from liability for penalty
to that state and its local
jurisdictions for having failed to pay
the correct amount of sales or use
tax in the following circumstances:

331010 1. A purchaser's seller or CSP
relied on erroneous data provided
by the state on tax rates,
boundaries, taxing jurisdiction
assignments, or in the taxability
matrix completed by the state
pursuant to Section 328?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-533 (a)(c) 
and 67-6-537(d)

2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 114  
Eft. 1-1-08
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331020 2. A purchaser holding a direct pay
permit relied on erroneous data
provided by the state on tax rates,
boundaries, taxing jurisdiction
assignments, or in the taxability
matrix completed by the state
pursuant to Section 328?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-533 (a)(c) 
and 67-6-537(d)

2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 114  
Eft. 1-1-08

331030 3. A purchaser relied on erroneous
data provided by the state in the
taxability matrix completed by the
state pursuant to Section 328?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-537 (d) 2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 114  
Eft. 1-1-08

331040 4. A purchaser using databases
pursuant to subsections (F), (G),
and (H) of Section 305 relied on
erroneous data provided by the
state on tax rates, boundaries, or
taxing jurisdiction assignments?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-533 2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 114  
Eft. 1-1-08

331050 B. (Except where prohibited by a
member state's constitution) Does
the state relieve a purchaser from
liability for tax and interest to the
state and its local jurisdictions for
having failed to pay the correct
amount of sales or use tax in the
circumstances described in Section
331 A, provided that, with respect
to reliance on the taxability matrix
completed by the state pursuant to
Section 328, such relief is limited to
the state's erroneous classification
in the taxability matrix of terms
included in the Library of Definitions
as "taxable" or "exempt", "included
in sales price" or "excluded from
sales price" or "included in the
definition" or "excluded from the
definition".

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-537 (d) P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 114
Eft. 1-1-08

Section 332 Specified Digital
Products

332010 SSTGB RULES 332.1
and 332.2

A. Does the state include specified
digital products, digital audio-visual
works, digital audio works, or digital
books in its definition of ancillary
services, computer software,
telecommunication services or
tangible personal property?

No T.C.A. Secs.
67-6-233
67-6-102 (29) (30) (31)
and (94)

P.C. 1106
(2008)
Secs. 18, 19
Eft. 1-1-09

332020 D1. Is the state's tax on specified
digital products, digital audio-visual
works, digital audio works, or digital
books construed to apply only to
the end user unless specifically
imposed on someone other than
the end user?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-233 (f) P.C. 1106
(2008)
Secs. 18, 19
Eft. 1-1-09

332030 D2. Is the state's tax on specified
digital products, digital audio-visual
works, digital audio works, or digital
books construed to apply only on a
sale with the right of permanent use
unless specifically imposed on a
sale with less than permanent use?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-233 (b)(1) P.C. 1106
(2008)
Secs. 18, 19
Eft. 1-1-09

332040 D3. Is the state's tax on specified
digital products, digital audio-visual
works, digital audio works, or digital
books construed to apply only on a
sale which is not conditioned upon
continued payment from the
purchaser unless specifically
imposed on a sale which is
conditioned upon continued
payment from the purchaser?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-233 (b)(2) P.C. 1106
(2008)
Secs. 18, 19
Eft. 1-1-09
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332050 D4. Does the state's taxability
matrix indicate if the state's tax is
imposed on a product transferred
electronically to a person other than
the end user or on a sale with the
right of less than permanent use
granted by the seller or which is
conditioned upon continued
payment from the purchaser?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-233 (f) P.C. 1106
(2008)
Secs. 18, 19
Eft. 1-1-09

332060 G. Is the state's tax treatment of the
sale of a digital code the same as
the tax treatment of specified digital
product or product delivered
electronically to which the digital
code relates?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-233 (c) P.C. 1106
(2008)
Secs. 18, 19
Eft. 1-1-09

Section 333 Use of Specified Digital
Products

Effective January 1, 2010

333010 Excluding prewritten computer
software, does the state include
any product transferred
electronically in its definition of
tangible personal property?

No T.C.A. 67-6-102 (97) and
67-6-231

P.C. 1106
(2008)
Secs. 18, 19
Eft. 1-1-09

Section 334 Prohibited replacement
taxes

334010 SSTGB RULE 334 Does the state have any prohibited
replacement taxes?

No

Section 335 Tax Administration
Practices

335010 No state shall be found
out of compliance with
the Agreement because
the effect of the state's
laws, rules, regulations,
and policies do not follow
each of the tax
administration practices
adopted by the
Governing Board.

Did the state complete the Tax
Administration Practices section of
the taxability matrix by the first day
of the calendar month that is at
least 60 days after the date the
Governing Board selects a
disclosed and/or best practice and
submit it to the Executive Director
for posting on the Governing
Board's website?

Yes  

Section 401 Seller participation

401010 SSTGB RULE 401.1 A. Does the state participate in the
Governing Board's online
registration system?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-608 P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 117
Eft. 1-1-08

Since Tennessee became an
associate member state, it has
particpated in the Streamlined
Central Registration System
pursuant to actions of the
commissioner authorized by T.C.A.
67-6-805(a)

401020 B. Does the state provide that it will
not use a seller's registration with
the central registration system and
collection of taxes in member states
as the sole factor in determining
whether seller has nexus with state
for tax at any time?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-608 (c) P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 117
Eft. 1-1-08

Since Tennessee became an
associate member state, it has
particpated in the Streamlined
Central Registration System
pursuant to actions of the
commissioner authorized by T.C.A.
67-6-805(a)

Section 402 Amnesty for
registration
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402010 CRIC INTERPRETIVE
OPINIONS 2006-8 and
2006-9

A.1. Does the state provide
amnesty to a seller who registers
through the Streamlined registration
system for the state in which the
amnesty is sought if the seller pays
or collects and remits the applicable
tax in accordance with Agreement
on sales made to purchasers in all
full member states in which the
seller makes sales, provided the
seller was not so registered in state
in 12-month period preceding
effective date of state's participation
in the Agreement? Sellers that are
only making wholesale sales in a
state which does not require
wholesalers to register and sellers
who only make sales through a
marketplace facilitator in a state
which does not require those
sellers to register, would not be
required to register in those states
to qualify for amnesty.

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-537 (a-c) P.C. 499 (2005)
Sec. 65
Eft. 6-22-05
 
 
P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 114
Eft. 1-1-08

402020 A.2. Does the state provide that
their amnesty will preclude
assessment for tax together with
penalty and interest for sales made
during the period the seller was not
registered in the state, provided
registration occurs within 12
months of the effective date of
state's participation in the
Agreement?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-537 (b) P.C. 499 (2005)
Sec. 65
Eft. 6-22-05
 
P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 114
Eft. 1-1-08

402030 A.3. For states that join the
Agreement after the seller has
already registered under the
Agreement, does the state provide
amnesty to those sellers in
accordance with A.1. and A.2.
above?

NA T.C.A. 67-6-537 (a)(1) P.C. 499 (2005)
Sec. 65
Eft. 6-22-05
 
P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 114
Eft. 1-1-08

402040 CRIC INTERPRETIVE
OPINION 2006-2

B. Does the state provide that its
amnesty is not available to a seller
who has received a notice of audit
from that state and the audit is not
yet resolved, including any related
administrative and judicial
processes?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-537 (a)(3) PC 499 (2005)
Sec. 65
Eft. 6-22-05
 
PC 602 (2007)
Sec. 114
Eft. 1-1-08

402050 CRIC INTERPRETIVE
OPINION 2006-1

C. Does the state provide that its
amnesty does not apply to taxes
already paid to the state or to taxes
already collected by a seller?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-537 (c)(1) P.C. 499 (2005)
Sec. 65
Eft. 6-22-05
 
P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 114
Eft. 1-1-08

402060 CRIC INTERPRETIVE
OPINIONS 2006-6, 2006-
8 and 2006-9

D. Does the state provide that its
amnesty is fully effective, absent
fraud or misrepresentation of
material fact, as long as the seller
continues registration and
continues payment of taxes for
period of at least 36 months? Did
the state toll its statute applicable to
asserting a tax liability during 36
month period?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-537 (c)(3-4) P.C. 499 (2005)
Sec. 65
Eft. 6-22-05
 
P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 114
Eft. 1-1-08

402070 E. Does the state provide that its
amnesty is applicable only to taxes
due from a seller in its capacity as
seller and not in its capacity as a
buyer?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-537 (a)(1)
and (c)(1)

P.C. 499 (2005)
Sec. 65
Eft. 6-22-05
 
P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 114
Eft. 1-1-08

Section 403 Method of remittance
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403010 Does the state provide that the
seller may select one of the
technology models?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-504 (j)(1) P.C. 602
(2007)Secs. 68
& 106
Eft. 1-1-08

403020 A. Model 1-seller selects CSP as
agent to perform all functions
except remit tax on its own
purchases?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-504 (j)(1) P.C. 602
(2007)Secs. 68
& 106
Eft. 1-1-08

403030 B. Model 2-seller selects CAS
which calculates amount of tax
due?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-504 (j)(3) P.C. 602
(2007)Secs. 68
& 106
Eft. 1-1-08

403040 C. Model 3-seller utilizes own
proprietary system that has been
certified as a CAS?

Yes P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 68
Eft. 1-1-08

Section 404 Registration by an
agent

404010 Does the state provide that the
seller may be registered by an
agent?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (11)
certified service provider
definition  
Eft. 6-27-06 
T.C.A. 67-6-504 (j-l)

P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 117
Eft. 1-1-08

404020 This isn't a compliance
issue but is something
sellers and their agents
should know.

Does the state require that the
written agent appointments be
submitted to the state?

No

Section 501 Provider and System
Certification

501010 SSTGB RULES 501.1,
501.2, 501.3, 501.4,
501.5, 501.6, 501.7 and
501.8

A. Does state law provide for
provider and system certification to
aid in the administration of sales
and use tax collection?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (11)
certified 
service provider
definition  
Eft. 6-27-06  
T.C.A. 67-6-504 (j-l)

P.C. 602
(2007)Secs. 68
& 106
Eft. 1-1-08

Section 502 State review and
approval of Certified
Automated System
Software and Certain
Liability Relief

502010 A. Can the state confirm that it
reviews software submitted for
certification as a CAS under
Section 501?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (10) and 
67-6-504 (j)(3)

P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 106
Eft. 1-1-08

502020 B. Does the state provide liability
relief to CSP's and model 2 sellers
for reliance on the certification?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-504 (j)(2)(A)
and 
67-6-504 (j)(3)

P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 106
Eft. 1-1-08

502030 C. Does the state provide liability
relief to CSP's in the same manner
as provided to sellers under Section
317?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-533 (a) and  
67-6-537(d)

2007 P.C. 602
Secs. 110 &
114 Eft. 1-1-08

502040 E. Does the state allow the CSP or
model 2 seller 10 days to correct
classification of items found to be in
error before holding the CSP or
model 2 seller liable?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-504 (j)(2)(A)  
& (B)

2007 P.C. 602
Sec. 106  
Eft. 1-1-08

Section 601 Monetary allowance
under Model 1
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601010 A. Does the state provide a
monetary allowance to a CSP in
Model 1 in accordance with the
terms of the contract between the
governing board and the CSP?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-509 (d) P.C. 499 (2005)
Sec. 67
Eft. 6-22-05
 
P.C. 1019 
(2006)
Sec. 43 
Eft. 6-27-06
T.C.A. 67-6-
542 
 
P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 108.
Eft. 1-1-08.
T.C.A. Sec.
67-6-509 (c-e)
& Sec. 109
Eft. 1-1-08
(repeals T.C.A.
67-6-542)

Section 602 Monetary allowance for
Model 2 sellers

602010 SSTGB RULES 602.1
and 602.2

Does the state provide monetary
allowance to Model 2 sellers
pursuant to the Governing Board's
rules?

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-509 (d) P.C. 499 (2005)
Sec. 67
Eft. 6-22-05
 
P.C. 1019
(2006)
Sec. 43 
Eft. 6-27-06
 
T.C.A. Sec.
67-6-542 
 
P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 108.
Eft. 1-1-08.
 
T.C.A. Sec.
67-6-509
(c-e) &
Sec. 109
Eft. 1-1-08
(repeals
T.C.A. Sec.
67-6-542)

A deduction in sales and use tax in
the amount of 2% of the state tax
due, not to exceed $25 to
compensate dealers for accounting
and remitting the tax is now
available for tax periods on or after
July 1, 2022.

APPENDIX C - LIBRARY OF
DEFINITIONS

Please verify for each item that
the state uses the definition
provided by the Agreement. If the
item is not applicable in your
state, answer "N/A."

Part I Administrative
definitions

AD010 SSTB RULE 330.1 Bundled transaction No T.C.A. 67-6-539  

AD020 SSTGB RULE 327.4 and
CRIC INTERPRETIVE
OPINION 2015-2 

Delivery charges Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (25) P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 68
Eft. 1-1-08

AD030 SSTGB RULE 327.6 and
CRIC INTERPRETIVE
OPINIONS 2006-12 and
2008-2

Direct mail Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (32) P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 68
Eft. 1-1-08

AD040 Lease or rental Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (51) P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 68
Eft. 1-1-08

AD050 Purchase price Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102(80) P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 68
Eft. 1-1-08
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AD060 Retail sale or Sale at retail Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (83) P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 68
Eft. 1-1-08

AD070 SSTGB RULES 327.4,
327.7 and 327.9 and
AMENDED DEFINITION
ON SEPTEMBER 16,
2015 RELATING TO THE
EXCLUSION FOR
CERTAIN FEDERAL
EXCISE TAXES AND
FEES

Sales price Yes  See
Comments

T.C.A. 67-6-102 (87) P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 68
Eft. 1-1-08

The sales price definition includes
the provision for exempt personal
property bundled with taxable
personal property. (T.C.A. 67-6-
102(85)(A)(vi). Tennessee will need
to repeal this provision when the
bundled transaction definition is
adopted.

AD080 Telecommunications nonrecurring
charges

NA

AD090 CRIC INTERPRETIVE
OPINION 2009-1

Tangible personal property Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (97) P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 68
Eft. 1-1-08

PC. 501 Sec. 1 added language to
TPP definition effective 7-1-2019 to
specify fiber optic cable becomes
realty upon installation (attached to
utility poles, buildings and other
structures, or installed
underground).  

Part II Product definitions CLOTHING

PD010 Clothing Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (12) P.C. 398 (2006)
Sec. 2
Eft. 7-1-06

PD020 Clothing accessories or equipment Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (13) P.C. 398 (2006)
Sec. 2
Eft. 7-1-06

PD022 Diapers NA

PD030 Essential clothing NA

PD040 CRIC INTERPRETIVE
OPINION 2006-5

Fur clothing NA

PD050 Protective equipment Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (79) P.C. 398 (2006)
Sec. 2
Eft. 7-1-06

PD060 Sport or recreational equipment Yes
T.C.A. 67-6-102 
(95)

(about:blank)

P.C. 398 (2006)
Sec. 2
Eft. 7-1-06

COMPUTER RELATED

PD070 Computer Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (17) P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 68 
Eft. 1-1-08

PD080 CRIC INTERPRETIVE
OPINION 2009-1

Computer software Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (18) 
and 67-6-231

P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 68 
Eft. 1-1-08

Sales and use tax also applies to
the sale, lease, license,
subscription and use of computer
software that remains in the
possession of the seller, or its
designee, that is remotely accessed
and used by the customer from a
Tennessee location.
See Important Notice 15-14,
Important Notice 15-24 and
Remotely Accessed Software
Direct Pay Permit Form.
See Important Notice 22-05
Computer Software Developed for
Personal Use.
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PD090 Delivered electronically Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (24) 
and 67-6-231

P.C. 602
(2007)
Sec. 68 
Eft. 1-1-08

PD100 Electronic Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (37) 
and 67-6-231

P.C. 782 (2004)
Sec. 3
Eft. 7-1-04

PD110 Load and leave NA

PD120 SSTGB RULES 309.2
amd 309.5 and CRIC
INTERPRETIVE
OPINION 2009-1

Prewritten computer software Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (76) 
and 67-6-231

P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 68 
Eft. 1-1-08

Sales and use tax also applies to
the sale, lease, license,
subscription and use of computer
software that remains in the
possession of the seller, or its
designee, that is remotely accessed
and used by the customer from a
Tennessee location. 
See Important Notice 15-14,
Important Notice 15-24, and
Remotely Accessed Software
Direct Pay Permit Form.

PD130 SSTGB RULES 309.4
and 327.5

Computer software maintenance
contract

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (19) 
and 67-6-208 (b)

P.C. 530 (2009)
Secs. 50-52
Eft. 7-1-09

PD140 Mandatory computer software
maintenance contract

NA T.C.A. 67-6-208 (b) P.C. 530 (2009)
Secs. 50-52
Eft. 7-1-09

PD150 Optional computer software
maintenance contract

NA T.C.A. 67-6-208 (b) P.C. 530 (2009)
Secs. 50-52
Eft. 7-1-09

SSTB RULE 332.1 DIGITAL PRODUCTS

PD160 Specified digital products Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (94) 
and 67-6-233

P.C. 1106
(2008)
Secs. 18, 19,
20, 21, 22
Eft. 1-1-09

PD170 Digital audio-visual works Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (30) 
and 67-6-233

P.C. 1106
(2008)
Secs. 18, 19,
20, 21, 22
Eft. 1-1-09

PD180 Digital audio works Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (29)
 and 67-6-233

P.C. 1106
(2008)
Secs. 18, 19,
20, 21, 22
Eft. 1-1-09

PD190 Digital books Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (31) 
and 67-6-233

P.C. 1106
(2008)
Secs. 18, 19,
20, 21, 22
Eft. 1-1-09

FOOD AND FOOD PRODUCTS

PD200 Alcoholic beverages Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (6) 
and 67-6-228

P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 68
Eft. 1-1-08

PD210 Bottled water NA

PD220 SSTGB RULE 327.8 and
APPENDIX N and CRIC
INTERPRETIVE
OPINIONS 2007-3, 2009-
4, 2009-5 and 2013-2

Candy Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (9)
and 67-6-228

P.C. 602 (2007)
Secs. 68, 83
Eft. 1-1-08
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PD230 Dietary supplement Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (28) 
and 67-6-228

P.C. 602 (2007)
Secs. 68, 83
Eft. 1-1-08
 

PD240 CRIC INTERPRETIVE
OPINIONS 2010-3 and
2011-1

Food and food ingredients Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (43) 
and 67-6-228

P.C. 602 (2007)
Secs. 68, 83
Eft. 1-1-08
 

PD250 Food sold through vending
machines

NA

PD260 CRIC INTERPRETIVE
OPINIONS 2006-4, 2006-
11 AND 2013-3

Prepared food Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (74) 
and 67-6-228

P.C. 602 (2007)
Secs. 68, 83
Eft. 1-1-08
 

PD270 CRIC INTERPRETATIVE
OPINIONS 2009-2 and
2013-1

Soft drinks NA

PD280 Tobacco Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (101) 
and 67-6-228

P.C. 602 (2007)
Secs. 68, 83
Eft. 1-1-08
 

HEALTH-CARE

PD285  Breast pump NA

PD286 Breast pump collection and storage
supplies

NA

PD287 Breast pump kit NA

PD290 CRIC INTERPRETIVE
OPINION 2007-1

Drug Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (35) 
and 67-6-320

P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 68, 92
Eft. 1-1-08
 

PD300 CRIC INTERPRETIVE
OPINION 2015-1

Durable medical equipment
(effective 1/1/08)

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (36)
and 67-6-314

P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 68, 89
Eft. 1-1-08

PD305 Feminine Hygiene Products
(adopted 5/11/17)

 
NA

PD310 Grooming and hygiene products Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (44)
and 67-6-320

P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 68, 92
Eft. 1-1-08 

PD320 Mobility enhancing equipment Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (61)
and 67-6-314

P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 68, 89
Eft. 1-1-08

PD330 Over-the-counter-drug Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (67)
and 67-6-320

P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 68 & 92
Eft. 1-1-08 

PD340 Prescription Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (75),
67-6-314 and
67-6-320

P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 68 & 92
Eft. 1-1-08
 

PD350 CRIC INTERPRETIVE
OPINION 2015-1

Prosthetic device Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (78)
and 67-6-314

P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 68 & 92
Eft. 1-1-08 

SSTGB RULE 327.2 TELECOMMUNICATIONS

The following are Tax
Base/Exemption terms:

PD360 Ancillary services Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (7) and 
67-6-205 (c)(9)
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PD370 Conference bridging service Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102(7)(A)
and 67-6-205 (c)(9)

PD380 Detailed telecommunications billing
service

Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (7)(B)
and 67-6-205 (c)(9)

PD390 Directory assistance Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (7)(C)
and 67-6-205 (c)(9)

PD400 Vertical service Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (7)(D)
and 67-6-205 (c)(9)

PD410 Voice mail service Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (7)(E)
and 67-6-205 (c)(9)

PD420 Telecommunications service Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (98)
and 67-6-205 (c)(3)

PD430 800 service NA

PD440 900 service NA

PD450 Fixed wireless service NA

PD460 Mobile wireless service NA

PD470 CRIC INTERPRETIVE
OPINION 2010-2

Paging service NA

PD480 SSTGB RULE 327.2(l) Prepaid calling service Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (72)
and 67-6-230(a)

P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 68 & 85
Eft. 1-1-08 

PD490 SSTGB INTERPRETIVE
OPINION 2015-3

Prepaid wireless calling service Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (73)
and 67-6-203(a)

P.C. 602 (2007)
Sec. 68 & 85
Eft. 1-1-08 
 
 

Tennessee interprets the statute to
mean "units or dollars."  Tennessee
does not exclude from the definition
of prepaid wireless calling services
offers that have been advertised as
"unlimited minutes" that expire over
a prescribed unit of time such as
weeks or months.

PD500 Private communications service Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (77)
and 67-6-205(c)(3)

PD510 Value-added non-voice data service NA

The following are Modifiers of Sales
Tax Base/Exemption Terms:

PD520 Coin-operated telephone service Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (14) and
67-6-329 (b)(1)

PD530 International Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (47)
and 67-6-205 (c)(3)

PD540 Interstate Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (48)
and 67-6-205 (c)(3)

PD550 Intrastate Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (49)
and 67-6-205 (c)(3)

PD560 Pay telephone service NA

PD570 Residential telecommunications
service

NA

Part III Sales Tax Holiday
Definitions

HD010 Disaster Preparedness Supply NA

HD020 Disaster Preparedness General
Supply

NA
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HD030 Disaster Preparedness Safety
Supply

NA

HD040 Disaster Preparedness Food-
Related Supply

NA

HD050 Disaster Preparedness Fastening
Supply

NA

HD060 Eligible property Yes T.C.A. 67-6-393 (e)

HD070 Energy Star qualified product NA

HD080 Layaway sale Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (50)
and 67-6-393 (d)(1)

HD090 Rain check Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (82)
and 67-6-393 (d)(4)

HD100 CRIC INTERPRETIVE
OPINION 2011-2

School supply Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (91)
and 67-6-393 (b)(1)(B)

HD110 School art supply Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (88)
and 67-6-393 (b)(1)(C)

HD120 School instructional material Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (90)
and 67-6-393 (b)(2)(E)

HD130 School computer supply Yes T.C.A. 67-6-102 (89)
and 67-6-393 (b)(2)(F)

HD140 WaterSense products  
 
NA
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