Members

The Commission is comprised of nine members appointed by the Governor. Each member's appointment is for a six year term. Three members of the Commission are selected from a list of nominees submitted by the Tennessee Professional Fire Fighters Association, three members selected from a list of nominees submitted jointly by the Tennessee Fire Chiefs Association, Tennessee Fireman's Association, and the Tennessee Fire Safety Inspector's Association; one of these members must be a volunteer firefighter. The final three members are selected by the Governor, one of which must be a volunteer firefighter and one must be a career firefighter. In addition, at least one member is to be at least 60 years of age and at least one member is to be a member of a racial minority. Each of the three Grand Divisions are represented on the Commission. The Commissioner of Commerce and Insurance and the Director of the Tennessee Fire Service and Codes Academy serves as ex officio nonvoting members of the Commission.

Tennessee Firefighting Personnel Standards and Education Commission Members
Position Member Term Expires Contact
  David Windrow
Deputy Chief, Brentwood Fire Department
July 31, 2022 David.Windrow@tn.gov
  Matthew Sorge
Firefighter, Kingsport Fire Department
July 31, 2020 Matthew.J.Sorge@tn.gov
  Toran Hedgepath
Firefighter, Newport Fire Department 
July 31, 2022  Toran.Hedgepath@tn.gov
  Tommy Kelley
Chief of Operations, Collierville Fire Department 
July 31, 2022 Tommy.Kelley@tn.gov
  Brian Biggs
Assistant Chief, Ashland City Fire Department
July 31, 2018 Brian.Biggs@tn.gov
  Jay Moore
Chief, Lawrenceburg Fire Department
July 31, 2018 Jay.Moore@tn.gov
  Michael Naifeh
Chief, Covington Fire Department
July 31, 2018 Michael.W.Naifeh@tn.gov
  Darryl Kerley
Fire Chief, Oak Ridge Fire Department
July 31, 2020 Darryl.Kerley@tn.gov
  Stephanie Specht
Captain/Assistant Training Officer, Sevier County Volunteer Fire Department
July 31, 2020 Stephanie.Specht@tn.gov
Serves while Commissioner of Department of Commerce and Insurance Julie Mix McPeak
Commissioner of Commerce and Insurance
   
Serves while Director of the Tennessee Fire Service and Codes Enforcement Executive Director of Tennessee Fire Service and Codes Enforcement Academy