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Incarcerated Offender Registration 
 

PURPOSE: The purpose of the procedure is to define the necessary guidelines for 
incarcerating facilities (prisons and jails) to comply with T.C.A. 40-39-203(b)(3) when 
housing a convicted sex offender that must be registered on the Tennessee Sex Offender 
Registry (SOR). 
 
Related TCA Codes: 
 
40-39-203(b)(3). Offender registration -- Registration forms -- Contents. 
 
(3) Notwithstanding subdivisions (b)(1) and (2), an offender who is incarcerated in this 
state in a local, state or federal jail or a private penal institution and who has not 
registered pursuant to § 40-39-212(a) or any other provision of law shall, by August 1, 
2011, be required to report in person, register, complete and sign a TBI registration 
form, under penalty of perjury, pursuant to § 39-16-702(b)(3), as follows: 
(A) If incarcerated in a state, federal or private penal facility, with the warden or the 
warden's designee; or 
(B) If incarcerated in a local jail, with the sheriff or the sheriff's designee. 
 
PROCEDURAL PROCESS: 
 

I. T.C.A. 40-39-203(b)(3) mandates the registration of all currently incarcerated sex 
offenders, with convictions or circumstances meeting the criteria for registration in 
Tennessee, by August 1, 2011. 

 
II. Newly incarcerated sex offenders with convictions or circumstances meeting the 

criteria for registration in Tennessee, must be registered within 48 hours of 
incarceration in prison or at a local jail. Following the Sex Offender Law standard, 
the 48 hour period may exclude weekends and holidays. 

 
III. If the offender is not currently listed on the Tennessee Sex Offender Registry upon 

entry into the incarcerating facility, the incarcerating facility shall perform an initial 
registration in the SOR Database on the offender, listing the offender’s status as 
“Inactive-Incarcerated”. All pertinent SOR Standard Operating Procedures shall be 
followed regarding initial registration, including completing an offender 
instructions form, current photograph, fingerprints, and DNA.  

 
Standard operating procedures are located on the Sex Offender Registry web site 
for Law Enforcement: 
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http://www.tbi.tn.gov/ .  
Click on “Law Enforcement Only”  
User name: lawenforcement 
Password: Tennessee1 
Click on the “TN Sex Offender Registry” 
Click on “SOR Standard Operating Procedures”  
 
Although incarcerated offenders are not required to be entered as sex offenders in 
NCIC, the incarcerating facility shall obtain a copy of the court judgment(s) of the 
qualifying sex offense conviction(s) and forward the judgment(s) to the TBI Sex 
Offender Registry Unit.  

 
IV. If the incarcerated offender is already registered on the Tennessee Sex Offender 

Registry upon entry into the incarcerating facility, the incarcerating facility shall, 
within 48 hours of incarceration, perform an information update on the SOR 
Database for the offender. The agency should change the offender’s status to 
“Inactive-Incarcerated” and shall list the address of the agency as the primary place 
of residence in Section B of the SOR Database. If the offender is incarcerated in the 
Department of Corrections, the agency shall list the address as “Tennessee 
Department of Corrections”. The agency to be notified in Section B should remain 
as the agency the offender reported to just before he/she went to jail/prison. This 
will give the prior registering agency notification the offender is now incarcerated. 
If the offender remains incarcerated for an extended period of time (one year or 
longer), the agency the offender reported to just before he/she went to jail/prison 
has the option to perform an information update on the offender and change the 
agency to be notified in Section B to the incarcerating facility. The agency to be 
notified for all prisons is “Tennessee Department of Corrections”. If a local jail is 
housing a TDOC inmate, the address for the offender shall be the address of the jail 
where the offender is being housed. The agency to be notified should be TDOC and 
it should be noted in the comment section that the local jail is housing the offender 
for TDOC. The local jail is then responsible for giving this information to their 
TAC for updates. 

 
The incarcerating facility shall also ensure there is a current photograph of the 
offender on the SOR Database and the offender has DNA on file with TBI. 

 
V. Within 48 hours prior to release from incarceration, the incarcerating facility shall 

perform an information update in the SOR Database on the offender, update all 
pertinent information, and ensure there is a current photograph of the offender. The 
agency to be notified in Section B shall be changed to the registering agency where 
the offender will report once he/she is released. An offender instructions form must 
also be completed within 48 hours prior to release from incarceration and sent to the 
TBI SOR Unit. 
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VI. In cases where a convicted sexual offender is arrested (for any crime) and taken to a 

local jail solely for booking and making bail, or the offender is serving a sentence 
of 48 hours or less, the local jail shall first determine if the offender is already 
registered in the SOR Database. If the offender is not registered, then the local jail 
shall follow step III and V above.  

 
If the offender is found to be already registered in the Tennessee SOR Database, the 
local jail shall determine if the offender’s registration information is current. If the 
information is current and the offender is incarcerated 48 hours or less, no action is 
necessary by the local jail. If the information is not current, an Information Update 
shall be performed in the SOR Database prior to the offender’s release. The 
incarcerating facility shall update all necessary information and list the agency to be 
notified in Section B as the registering agency where the offender will report once 
he/she is released. An offender instructions form shall be completed and forwarded 
to the TBI SOR Unit. 
 
Example:  

A person with a prior conviction of sexual battery is brought to a local jail on 
Saturday afternoon on a charge of “Driving on a Suspended Driver’s License”. The 
convicted sex offender is only in jail for booking and is preparing to be released 
within 30 minutes of entering the jail.  

Prior to the offender’s release, jail staff should first determine if the offender is 
already registered. If the offender is already registered, then step VI should be 
followed prior to the offender’s release. If the offender is not registered, then step 
III and V should be followed prior to the offender’s release. 

 
VII. Incarcerating facilities have the following options available to determine if any 

offender requires registration prior to being released: 
 

1. The incarcerating facility’s own internal records management system 
(T.C.A. 40-39-204(e) mandates that an offender required to register who 
becomes reincarcerated shall immediately report the offender's status as a 
sexual offender or violent sexual offender to the facility where the offender 
is incarcerated or detained.) 

2. NCIC 
3. The Tennessee Sex Offender Registry Database or the TBI Public Sex 

Offender Registry Website (http://www.tbi.tn.gov/ ) 
4. The TOMIS Database 
5. The National Sex Offender Public Website (http://nsopw.gov/ )  

 
VIII. In cases where a sexual offender is supervised by the Tennessee Board of Probation 

and Parole (BOPP) and the offender becomes incarcerated, BOPP should perform 
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an information update in Section G of the SOR Database, “Parole/Probation Officer 
Information”, and use the release from supervision option and indicate the date the 
offender left supervision (revocation date). This will delete Section G for 
Parole/Probation Officer Information. It will show release due to expiration of 
sentence by default.  The only way to show the probation/parole was revoked is to 
go in at the end and enter comments. Please add as much information as possible in 
the "comments" section to explain this. 


