POLICY
TENNESSEE MASSAGE LICENSURE BOARD

UNLICENSED PRACTICE OF MASSAGE THERAPY ENFORCEMENT

Every person who practices or has practiced massage therapy without possessing a license issued
by the Board, unless that person is exempted pursuant to T.C.A. § 63-18-110, is in violation of
the law and subject to assessment of civil penalties. In an effort to avoid these matters being
forwarded to the Department’s Office of General Counsel for full prosecution and the possibility
of more severe sanctions, any complaint involving a non-exempt individual practicing massage
therapy without a license may be settled, and if appropriate, an authorization to practice or a
license issued, upon payment of a civil penalty equal to five hundred dollars ($500.00) for each
month the non-exempt person practiced massage therapy without a license.

Every massage establishment that allows any non-exempt person to practice massage therapy
without a license issued the Board is in violation of the law and subject to disciplinary action
and/or assessment of civil penalties. In an effort to avoid these matters being forwarded to the
Department’s Office of General Counsel for full prosecution and the possibility of more severe
sanctions, any complaint involving an establishment allowing non-exempt persons to practice
massage therapy without a license may be settled upon payment of a civil penalty calculated by
multiplying five hundred dollars ($500.00), times the number of non-exempt persons who
practiced massage therapy without a license in the establishment, time the number of months that
each non-exempt persons practiced therein without a license. If the massage establishment is
itself unlicensed, the amount of civil penalties authorized by this policy are in addition to those
to be paid under the Board’s “Unlicensed Establishment Enforcement Policy” both of which
must be paid to avoid referral for prosecution.

Adopted by the Tennessee Massage Licensure Board on this the 5t day of December, 2005.

Steve Harper, LMT Chairperson
Tennessee Massage Licensure Board



