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STATE OF TENNESSEE 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

DIVISION OF HEALTH LICENSURE AND REGULATION 

OFFICE OF HEALTH RELATED BOARDS 

665 MAINSTREAM DRIVE 

NASHVILLE, TENNESSEE 37243 

PHONE: (615) 741-2718  FAX: (615) 741-2722 

http://health.state.tn.us/boards/pharmacy/ 

 
 

APPLICATION FOR PHARMACIST EXAMINATION  
 

 
Prior to being admitted to the NAPLEX® 

examination, applicants for licensure as a pharmacist must meet 

all preliminary requirements.  All required documentation must be filed with the Board in accordance with 

the rules and regulations. 

 

Applicants must be at least 21 years of age, and be a graduate of an accredited college of pharmacy. 

The Tennessee Board of Pharmacy interprets the term “graduated” to mean that the student has 

completed the actual graduation process and has received a diploma. 

 

Applicants must submit affidavits attesting to internship hours acquired in Tennessee with the application. 

Internship hours acquired in states other than Tennessee must be certified by the respective state board 

of pharmacy. Effective June 22, 2015: A minimum of 1,700 (seventeen hundred) internship hours are 

required for licensure.  If otherwise qualified, applicants may be allowed to take the examination without 

the required internship hours, however, hours must be completed before a license can be issued. 

 

MAIL COMPLETED APPLICATION WITH APPROPRIATE FEE AND INFORMATION TO ADDRESS ABOVE. 

 

 

 

9901/001 Application                         $ 50.00 

9901/001 Licensure fee                      $ 165.00 

9901/006 Regulatory fee                  $ 10.00 

9901/001 Application      $300.00 

9901/001 Score Transfer     $165.00 

9901/006 Regulatory fee     $10.00 
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          Checklist for Initial/Score Transfer Pharmacist Graduates Licensure in Tennessee 
 

___1. APPLICATION: Complete the application, sign and have notarized and mail to the Tennessee Board of 

Pharmacy with all required documentation.   

 

___2. PHOTOGRAPH: Attach a photograph (passport size) in the space provided on the application. 

 

___3. INTERNSHIP HOURS: A minimum of 1700 internship hours are required in Tennessee. Candidates 

should send a notarized affidavit(s) with your application or send them directly to board later. Internship 

hours are to be recorded on the Internship Affidavits form. Internship hours are not required to sit for the 

NAPLEX, but are required before your license can be issued. Hours acquired in other states must be 

certified by the respective state board of pharmacy prior to submission to the Tennessee Board of 

Pharmacy. 

 

___4. MANDATORY PRACTITIONER PROFILE (Consumer Right to Know Act): Complete and submit 

along with your application the Practitioner Profile Questionnaire which is online at 

http://tn.gov/assets/entities/health/attachments/PH-3585.pdf.  You are required by law update your profile 

within 30 days of any change as long as you have an active license.  Failure to do so may subject you to 

disciplinary action 

 

___5. PAYMENT METHODS: You may make the personal/business check or money order payable to the 

Tennessee Board of Pharmacy. 

 

___6. DISABILITY: If you have any type of disability that would require specific accommodations, please 

download the Disability Accommodation form from the Tennessee Board of Pharmacy website at: 

           http://tn.gov/assets/entities/health/attachments/Pharm_disAccForm.pdf .   

 

___7. VIOLATIONS SECTION:  Please read the questions in the Violations section of the application carefully.  

You must answer "Yes" or "No" to every question.  If any of your answers to were in the affirmative, please 

explain the situation.    In addition to your explanation, the final documents or orders from the issuing states, 

courts and/or agencies must be submitted.  

 

___9. DECLERATION OF CITIZENSHIP:  Please complete the attached form, have notarized, and attach one 

of the forms of identification. 

 

___10. CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECKS IS REQUIRED-For instructions to obtain a criminal 

background check, go to http://tn.gov/health/article/CBC-instructions. 

 

___11. If your application is not complete upon receipt by the board’s administrative office, a deficiency 

letter will be sent to you by mail. Your application will expire one (1) year from the date of receipt. 

The application fee is non-refundable.  

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

http://tn.gov/assets/entities/health/attachments/PH-3585.pdf
http://tn.gov/assets/entities/health/attachments/Pharm_disAccForm.pdf
http://tn.gov/health/article/CBC-instructions
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INDICATE TYPE OF CANDIDATE 

 

NAPLEX         Attach a recent 

SCORE TRANSFER       photograph to     

FOREIGN GRADUATE       this space 
     
                                                                                  
Name   (First)    (Middle)  (Last) 

              
Mailing Address            
                                                                                                                           
(City)    (State)     (Zip Code)    

 
Place of Birth               

 (City)      (State)              (Email address)  
 

Date of Birth                                                   
(Month) (Day) (Year)            (Sex)                    (Social Security Number) 

 
Home Phone No. (        )                   _  Cell/Work  Phone No.(     )    
 
Email address:     _____________________________________________________ 
 
Do you wish to receive notification, including renewal notification, from  the Department of Health 
via email? ___ Yes ___ No 
 
TENNESSEE REQUIRES 1700 INTERNSHIP HOURS FROM ALL CANDIDATES 
 

 
INITIAL TENNESSEE CANDIDATES        $225.00 FEE 
 

 
If applicable, contact the Pharmacy board in the state where the internship hours 
were obtained and request the hours be certified to Tennessee. 

 
 
SCORE TRANSFER CANDIDATES         $475.00 FEE 

 
If applicable, contact the Pharmacy board in the state where the internship hours 
were obtained and request the hours be certified to Tennessee. 

 
 
FOREIGN GRADUATES                           $225.00 FEE 
 

 

 If applicable, contact the Pharmacy board in the state where the internship hours 

 were obtained and request that the hours be certified to Tennessee. 

 

 FOREIGN GRADUATES must complete at least 500 internship hours in Tennessee within  

 period of six (6) consecutive months. 

 

 Submit a copy of FPGEC® certification with application.   
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VIOLATIONS 
 
Have you ever been charged or convicted (including a nolo contendere plea or guilty plea) of a felony or 
misdemeanor (other than a minor traffic offenses) whether or not sentence was imposed, suspended, 
expunged, or whether you were pardoned from any such offense? 
 
 Yes  No          
 
If yes, please provide details of the conviction, such as date of conviction, and please provide any  
 
documentation showing the resolution of this case.         
 
               
 
               
 
 
Has your pharmacy license, if licensed in another state, ever been suspended or revoked by the other  
 
state for disciplinary reasons? 
 
 Yes  No  
          
If yes, please provide explanation:              
 
               
 
               
 
Are there ANY criminal charges pending against you in this state or any other state?  
 
 Yes  No  
          
If yes, please provide explanation:             
 
                
 
                

 
 

 
I,                                                                   , do solemnly swear and affirm that I have personally  
 
completed this form, and that the information in the foregoing paragraphs is true and correct to the  
 
best of my knowledge. 
  
              
        (Signature of Applicant) 
 

 
 

Sworn to and subscribed before me this                  day of                                                      20             . 
                (Month)   

My Commission expires                                                              . 
 
 
                                                                                       (Notary Public) 

       (Notary Public) 
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COLLEGE CERTIFICATION 

 
College training completed prior to entering Pharmacy College: (To be completed by student)   

 
 
Name and Location of College Attended     Period of Attendance    

 
                                                                                                    
 
                                                                                                   
   
 
 
 
DEGREE  (To be completed by Pharmacy College) 
 

This is to certify that               

was in regular attendance at the            

 

FROM                                                                    TO       

FROM                                                                    TO       

FROM                                                                    TO       

FROM                                                                  TO       

 

A total of             months and a Certificate of Graduation with the degree of         

 

Issued on                                           or is scheduled to be Issued on         
 
(If scheduled to graduate at a future date, the college will be responsible for advising the Board if for any 
reason the student does not graduate.)          

 

 (School Seal)             
      (Signature of Authorized Representative) 

 
                
      (Name Printed)                          (Title) 

 

Are you a citizen of the United States?                  

 Yes  No  

 

OTHER LICENSURE 

 

Have you ever taken other state board examinations?  

 Yes  No  

Are you licensed in any other state? 

 Yes  No  

If yes, list dates and states where examinations were taken:  
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Do Not Write Below This Line (For Board Use Only) 

                

 

 

        

 LICENSE   #                                                 

 

DATE ISSUED                                                          ***** 

 
DIRECTOR                                                

 
 
 

  
 
 
  NAPLEX/MPJE:  Cashier’s Check /Money Order should be payable to National Association of Boards of Pharmacy.  

 
   

 

 

NORTH AMERICAN PHARMACIST LICENSURE EXAMINATION  

     

  Examination Date                           Grade    

 Examination Date                           Grade    

 Examination Date                           Grade    

 

MULTI-STATE PHARMACY JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION  

  

 Examination Date                            Grade    

 Examination Date                            Grade    

 Examination Date                            Grade    

 

 

INTERNSHIP PROGRAM         STATE 

 

NUMBER OF HOURS                                    

                                  

                                  

TOTAL HOURS                                     
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Tennessee does not License or Register Interns.  

This includes Foreign Graduates. 
 

Internship 
 

Pharmacy Intern means a person enrolled or a graduate of an ACPE accredited school or 
approved College of Pharmacy, under rules established by the Board, who is serving a period of 
time of practical experience under the supervision of a pharmacist as defined in the rules of the 
Board. 
 

1.  Prior to licensing by the Tennessee Board of Pharmacy, an applicant must show 
proof that he/she has acquired at least 1,700 (seventeen hundred) hours of 
internship after enrollment in a ACPE accredited College of Pharmacy.  Internship 
Affidavit forms will be kept in the Pharmacy Board file for a period of two years prior 
to receipt of NAPLEX Application. 

 
 Enrollment in a College of Pharmacy as interpreted by the Board of Pharmacy to mean after 

the actual date of the student’s physical attendance at the school. 
 

2.   Intern hours may be acquired in another state provided the internship is certified by 
the respective State Board. Intern hours are transferable from state to state as 
requested by the student.  Intern hours must be certified by the Director of the 
State Board in the state where the hours of internship are earned. 

 
3.  In addition to the requirements (1) and (2), foreign pharmacy graduates shall 

complete five hundred (500) hours of pharmacy internship in Tennessee within a 
period of six (6) consecutive months prior to licensure.  Those who have acquired 
their entire seventeen hundred (1700) hours in the State of Tennessee will not be 
required to obtain an additional five hundred (500) hours in Tennessee. 

 
4.  Only one intern may dispense under the direct supervision of a preceptor in any 

specific time period. 
 
5.  No specific amount of internship hours are required prior to taking the NAPLEX 

examination. 
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STATE OF TENNESSEE 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 
OFFICE OF HEALTH RELATED BOARDS 

665 MAINSTREAM DRIVE 
NASHVILLE, TN 37243 

 
DECLARATION OF CITIZENSHIP 

MUST ACCOMPANY ALL APPLICATIONS FOR INITIAL LICENSURE OR REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSURE  
 

The “Save Act” requires Tennessee Department of Health (including all Boards, Commissions, and contractors), along 
with every local health department in the State, to verify that every adult applicant for a professional license is either a 
U.S. citizen, a “qualified alien,” or a nonimmigrant who meets the requirements set out at 8 U.S.C. 1621.   

 

 
I am a(n) _____________________________________ ___________________________________. 
  Healthcare Profession (Please Print)    License number if applicable 
 

 
Please Print Legibly 

 
Name: ____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                Last   First   Middle   Maiden 
Mailing Address: 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Phone Number: Home: (____)_____-________  Office: (____)______-________  Fax: (____)______-________ 
 
I am a United States Citizen:      ____Yes ____ No   
 
Applicants Claiming United States Citizenship MUST provide a copy one of the following: 
 
1. Tennessee Driver’s License, or photo ID issued by Department of Homeland Security.  
2. A valid driver license or ID issued by another state, provided its issuance requirements meet Department of      

Homeland Security criteria.  
3. An official birth certificate issued by a U.S. state, territory, or other jurisdiction. Puerto Rican birth certificates 

issued before July 1, 2010 do not count.  
4. A federally issued birth certificate.  
5. A valid, unexpired U.S. passport.  
6. A report of birth abroad of a U.S. citizen.  
7. A certificate of citizenship.  
8. A certificate of naturalization.  
9. A U.S. citizen ID card.  
10. Any successor document to #’s 4-9 above.  
11. SSN that the entity or local health department may verify with the Social Security Administration in accordance  
      with federal law.   
 
If you checked “No” please indicate from the list below which category applies to you: 
 
_____   Permanent Residents 
_____   A nonimmigrant applicant for a professional or commercial license whose visa for entry into the United 

States is related to such employment, or a nonimmigrant under the Immigration and Nationality Act (8 
U.S.C. 1101 et seq.).    

_____   Foreign nationals not present in the United States seeking the issuance or renewal of a professional license.  
_____   Asylees who meet the qualifications set out in 8 U.S.C. 1158 
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_____   Refugees who meet the qualifications set out in 8 U.S.C. 1157 
_____   Persons who have been “paroled into the United States,” under 8 U.S.C. 1182(d)(5) or whose deportation 

has been withheld under 8 U.S.C. 1253.  
_____   Cuban or Haitian entrants as defined by section 501(e) of the Refugee Education Assistance Act of 1980 
_____   Persons granted conditional entry into the U.S. under 8 U.S.C. 1153(a)(7) before April 1, 1980, because of 

persecution or fear of persecution on account of race, religion, or political opinion or because of being 
uprooted by catastrophic national calamity. 

_____   An alien who has been “battered” or subjected to “extreme cruelty”  by a parent or spouse as defined by 8 
U.S.C. 1641(c), and also meets the qualifications set out 8 U.S.C. 1641(c)(1)(B). Under the circumstances 
set out in 8 U.S.C. 1641(c)(2) and (3), victims’ children, or the parents of children who are victims, may also 
apply for benefits as qualified aliens. 

 
Applicants claiming qualified alien status, please submit one or more of the following forms of “documentation of 
identity and immigration status” as determined by U.S. Homeland Security to be acceptable for verification through the 
SAVE program. Common types of documents used to verify immigration status: 
 
I-327 (Reentry Permit) 
I-551 (Permanent Resident Card or “Green Card”)  
I-571 (Refugee Travel Document)  
I-766 (Employment Authorization Card) 
Machine Readable Immigrant Visa (with Temporary I-551 language)  
Temporary I-551 stamp (on passport or I-94) 
I-94 (Arrival/Departure record) 
Unexpired foreign passport   
WT/WB Admission Stamp in unexpired foreign passport  
I-20 (Certificate of Eligibility for Nonimmigrant F(1) student status– “student visa”)  
DS2019 (Certificate of Eligibility for Exchange Visitor (J-1) Status) 
 
I affirm under the penalty of perjury that the above is true and correct. 
 
Signed this _____ day of _________________, 20__. 
 
 
       _______________________________________________ 
       Signature 
 
 
 
Sworn to before me this _______day of _____________________, 20__. 
 
 
____________________________________________________________                AFFIX SEAL HERE 
                              NOTARY PUBLIC  
 
 
My Commission Expires:________________________________________ 
 
 
 
 
If an applicant is discovered to be an unqualified alien, or otherwise ineligible for benefits under the Act, all recurring 
benefits provided to that applicant must be immediately terminated.  Anyone who purposefully makes a false, fictitious, 
or fraudulent claim of U.S. citizenship or qualified alien status will be liable under the Tennessee Medicaid False Claims 
Act, or Tennessee’s False Claims Act. Any person who conspires to defraud the state or any local health department by 
securing a false claim allowed or paid to another person in violation of the Act may be liable under Tennessee’s False 
Claims Act. Upon discovery of an applicant’s false, fictitious, or fraudulent claim of U.S. citizenship, state governmental 
entities and local health departments must also file a criminal complaint with the United States Attorney. 


