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Why This Matters 

The Division of Underground Storage Tanks 

(Division) in cooperation with the Tennessee 

Fuel and Convenience Store Association has 

developed this Tank Owner Quick Reference 

Guide to help you understand the minimum 

requirements to correctly operate an 

underground storage tank (UST) facility in 

Tennessee. These include but are not limited 

to: 

 

 Fees and Registration 

 Operator Training 

 Monthly Release Detection for Tanks 

 Release Detection for Piping 

 Corrosion Protection 

 Spill and Overfill Prevention 

 Motor Fuel Dispensers 

 Tank and/or Piping Closure 

 Recordkeeping 

 Reporting 

 

If you follow the regulations, you may 

receive Fund coverage; continue to receive 

deliveries; protect your customers, 

employees, and your community; and avoid 

paying penalties. Also, by monitoring your 

equipment monthly, you ensure no fuel loss, 

which is a best-business practice. 

 

 

An owner also has a requirement to 

maintain financial responsibility.  What this 

means is if there is a release of fuel, it is the 

owner’s responsibility to insure it is 

investigated and cleaned up.  This can be 

very expensive.   

 

    Tennessee is fortunate to have a State 

fund that is available to owners to help with 

the costs to clean up fuel releases.  There 

are several obligations that the owner must 

meet in order to have the best opportunity 

to access the Fund: 

 Properly register and pay fees 

 Maintain compliance 

 File an Application for Fund 

Eligibility by the applicable 

deadlines 

    Fund eligibility and fund coverage are 

important and complex subjects and it is 

critical that you understand this process.  

Please feel free to contact the Division if you 

have questions because we want you to be 

able to access this benefit.  Please refer to 

the Tank Operators Manual for additional 

information. 

 

This document is not a substitute for 

Tennessee law and regulations, nor is it a law 

or regulation itself. For a comprehensive and 

complete understanding of the law and 

regulations, please refer to Tennessee 

Petroleum Underground Storage Tank Act 

T.C.A. 68-215-101, the Rules, Chapter 0400-

18-01 and additional information provided in 

the Tank Operator Manual and Standardized 

Inspection Manual. These documents can be 

accessed from the division website: 

http://www.tn.gov/environment/undergroun

d-storage-tanks/ 

http://www.tn.gov/environment/underground-storage-tanks/
http://www.tn.gov/environment/underground-storage-tanks/
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If you have any questions regarding this 

reference guide or the regulatory 

requirements, your best source is one of our 

regional field offices on the map on the last 

page. Division staff will be happy to help you. 

 

  

Fees/Registration  

 You must pay the required annual fee, 

which is $125 per tank/compartment. 

 When installing a UST system, you 

must submit a pre-installation 

notification form and pay fees 15 days 

prior to the installation. 

 You must report any changes to your 

UST system, facility information, or 

owner/operator information to the 

division within 30 days of change. 

 

If you have not paid your fees or have 

violations that resulted in a final order, your 

tanks may be red tagged.   

 

If this occurs, DO NOT REMOVE THE TAGS 

until you receive a written letter from the 

division director allowing you to remove 

them. Prior removal may result in a Class C 

misdemeanor fine. For more information, 

please contact your local field office or go to 
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 http://www.tn.gov/environment/underground- storage-tanks  

Operator Training 

You must register your facility and complete 

operator training on the Tennessee Tank 

Helper website: 

https://apps.tn.gov/ustop/ 

The division is happy to help you if you need 

assistance. Please refer to the phone 

numbers listed in the map on the last page. 

Remember, if your facility operators 

change, you must designate new ones within 

30 days. 

The table below from the August 2007 EPA 

Grant Guidelines for Operator Training 

contains a general description of each 

operator level (the owner may fulfill the 

requirements for every level). 

 

 Class A Operator Class B Operator Class C Operator 

Who fits this class of 

operator? 

The individual who 

generally focuses on the 

statutory and regulatory 

requirements related to 

operating and 

maintaining the UST 

system  

The individual who is 

generally responsible for 

field implementation of 

applicable UST regulatory 

requirements and 

implements day-to-day 

aspects of operating, 

maintaining, and 

recordkeeping for USTs at 

one or more facilities 

The individual who is 

generally the first line of 

response to events 

indicating emergency 

conditions or responding to 

alarms 

Monthly Release Detection for Tanks 

 Tanks must have some form of 

monthly release detection, which may 

be one of these options: automatic 

tank gauging, manual tank gauging, 

statistical inventory reconciliation, or 

interstitial monitoring. 

Interstitial monitoring must be used for 

all tanks installed after July 24, 2007. 

 

 Refer to the Tank Operators Manual 

for additional information. 

 

 

http://www.tn.gov/environment/underground-storage-tanks
http://www.tn.gov/environment/underground-storage-tanks
https://apps.tn.gov/ustop/
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Release Detection for Piping 

 Pressurized piping must have two 

forms of release detection: monthly 

(small leaks) and catastrophic (large 

leaks). 

 

Interstitial monitoring must be used for 

all pressurized piping installed after 

July 24, 2007. 

 Suction piping may require release 

detection.  

 

 Refer to the Tank Operator Manual for 

additional information.   

Corrosion Protection 

 Underground steel tanks and piping 

must be protected from corrosion 

(rust). This includes metal 

components that are in contact with 

standing water, as well as the ground. 

 Cathodic protection systems must be 

properly operated and tested every 

three years. 

 Refer to the Tank Operators Manual 

for additional information. 

 

 

Without proper corrosion protection, you may have a release. 
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Spill and Overfill Prevention 

 Spill buckets must be installed on all 

tanks that receive more than 25 

gallons in a single delivery. Spill 

buckets are designed to contain small 

amounts of fuel during delivery. 

 You must inspect spill buckets once a 

month for any liquid, debris, or 

damage, and keep a log of 

inspections. 

 Overfill protection must be installed 

on all tanks that receive more than 25 

gallons in a single delivery. There are 

several types of overfill protection. 

Refer to the Tank Operators Manual to 

determine the type you have. 

 

Please remember to empty fuel/water/debris 

from your spill bucket. 

 

Motor Fuel Dispensers 

 Inspect dispensers quarterly for any 

drips or seeps from the filter or piping 

beneath the unit, and keep a log of 

inspections. 

 

Please note that other agencies, including the 

Department of Agriculture, and local or state 

air pollution authorities have regulatory 

requirements for dispenser operation. If you 

need assistance, please contact Small 

Business Assistance at (615) 532-8013 or 1-

800-734-3619. 

 

Please remember to empty fuel/water/debris 

from your dispenser sump. 



7 

 

Tank and/or Piping Closure 

If you plan to close your tank and/or piping, 

complete an “Application for Permanent 

Closure of Underground Storage Tanks” 

Form CN-0928 and submit it to the applicable 

field office for evaluation and approval. Once 

the application is approved, you can proceed 

with the removal and closure. Please don’t 

forget that once the tank(s) is removed, you 

must complete and submit a “Notification for 

Underground Storage Tanks” Form CN-1260 

marked “Closure” to complete the 

requirements. For additional information, 

please access  

http://www.tn.gov/environment/undergroun

d-storage-tanks/tanks_closing.shtml

Recordkeeping 

You must keep the following records (refer to 

the Tank Operators Manual for the specific 

requirements): 

 

 Release detection 

 Corrosion protection 

 Repair/replacement, if applicable 

 Spill bucket/dispenser logs 

 Installation records, if applicable 

 Closure records, if applicable 

 

For several of these records, the division 

has developed fillable forms that are 

available on the division website: 

http://www.tn.gov/environment/undergroun

d-storage-tanks/tanks_forms.shtml 

 

 

Reporting 

You must report any changes to your UST 

system, facility information, or 

Owner/Operator information to the division 

within 30 days of change. 

You must report a suspected or 

confirmed release to the division within 72 

hours of discovery. For detailed information 

regarding a suspected/confirmed release, see 

the Tank Operators Manual. 

http://www.tn.gov/environment/underground-storage-tanks/tanks_closing.shtml
http://www.tn.gov/environment/underground-storage-tanks/tanks_closing.shtml
http://www.tn.gov/environment/underground-storage-tanks/tanks_forms.shtml
http://www.tn.gov/environment/underground-storage-tanks/tanks_forms.shtml
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Tank School 

The division offers free classroom training 

that is especially beneficial for new tank 

owners. Division inspectors conduct the 

training and explain what needs to be done 

to prepare for a compliance inspection and 

to keep your facility in compliance with the 

regulations. Facility inspections occur every 

three years or less, and new facilities may be 

inspected within the first year of 

operation. Go to the division’s webpage: 

 

http://www.state.tn.us/environment/undergr

ound-storage-tanks/ 

 

and click on the line “Tank School” on the 

right. You will see the scheduled classes and 

how you can sign up for this free instruction. 

For more information, contact your local field 

office. 

 

Summary 

Ownership of USTs involves more than 

putting fuel in the tank(s) and selling fuel. It 

requires knowledge of how to operate and 

maintain the equipment and keep good 

records. Non-compliance could have 

significant financial impact through loss of 

Fund coverage and/or fines.  If you ever have 

additional questions, please do not hesitate 

to call the division. We look forward to 

assisting you.  

 

 

 

http://www.state.tn.us/environment/underground-storage-tanks/
http://www.state.tn.us/environment/underground-storage-tanks/
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