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	State of Tennessee

Department of Children’s Services 

	Administrative Policies and Procedures: 16.20                        DRAFT


	Subject:
	Expedited Custodial Placements

	Authority:
	TCA 37-5-106, Adoption and Safe Families Act P.L. 96-272, TCA 37-4-201 et seq., Safe and Timely Interstate Placement Act of Children in Foster Care Act of 2006           P.L. 109-239.

	Standards:
	DCS 6-200, 6-502, 6-503 A, 6-504 B, 6-505 B, 6-506 B, 6-509 C, 6-510 C, 12-201, 12-500, and 12-501, PA-AS 3, PA-As 8, PA-FC 10, PA-FKC 15.07, PA-FC 17, PA-KC 10. 

	Application:
	DCS Child Protective Services, Foster Care and Supervisory Staff and Contract Agency Staff

	Policy Statement:

	In order to minimize the trauma of a custodial episode, the Department of Children’s Services will seek to place a child with persons whom the child and/or child’s family has had a significant relationship when the child cannot safely remain in his or her home.  DCS ensures that these persons are able to provide safety and can meet both the immediate and long-term needs of any child who might be placed with them.  The department will provide training to the placement resource family and complete the approval process as quickly as possible.
When an expedited custodial placement is in the best interest of a child/youth, the identified placement resource must meet the criteria outlined in this policy.  DCS staff will assist the placement resource in completing the approval process required in Tennessee and the placement resource will be fully approved as a resource parent within 120 days of the child being placed in the home. This policy is applicable to relatives and kin who are prospective placement resources for children under the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children.  Reference the ICPC Practice and Procedure Manual for details in practice for inter-jurisdictional placements.

	Purpose:

	DCS ensures that these persons are able to provide safety and can meet both the immediate and long-term needs of any child who might be placed with them.  The department will provide training to the placement resource family and complete the approval process as quickly as possible.


	Procedures:

	A.
Expedited Placement Assessment 

	1. When an expedited custodial placement is in the best interest of a child, DCS staff will secure form CS-0668, Authorization for Release of Information, from all adult household members and initiate an Expedited Placement Assessment process to be completed prior to a child’s placement. The Expedited Placement Assessment process will include, at a minimum:
a)    A face-to-face interview with the placement resource;
b) Form CS-0750, Background Criminal History-Expedited/Emergency, Purpose Code X III Name Check; 

c) A criminal history check or county court records to include local criminal records check from local law enforcement records for all previous residences of applicant within the immediate six (6) months preceding application. All criminal charges listed in the local criminal history check for which there is no final disposition identified in the local criminal history check will be clarified by obtaining additional, official documentation from the local court with jurisdiction, within 24 hours or one business day of the child’s placement.
Note:  In cases where placements are attempted after regular business hours, the local criminal records check or county court records check will be completed by the conclusion of the next business day.
  2.  A DCS Records Check that includes a check of CPS records in TFACTS and a Social Service Management System (SSMS) check (refer to Conducting SSMS Checks in TFACTS for more information).  This will be completed by the FSW on form CS-0741, Database Search Results for all household members age eighteen (18) years or older.  This is to determine if there is a past Child Protective Service (CPS) indication identifying the applicant as a substantiated perpetrator of child abuse or neglect.  If the adult has resided in another state within the past five (5) years, the FPS/contract agency staff person or designee will request a check from each states public child welfare agency’s child abuse and  neglect registry. See the Adam Walsh State Contacts for Child Abuse Registries for out of state contact information.
Note:  The FSW will contact the Child Abuse Hotline at 1-877-237-0004 for DCS records checks after-hours and weekends only. The FSW is responsible for these checks during regular business hours.
a) No applicant will be approved unless a waiver is granted as outlined in the Waiver Tip Sheet and documented on form CS-0921, Waiver of Criminal Convictions, PATH Training Modifications, Non-Safety Issues, CPS Substantiations and Education Requirements within three (3) business days. 
b) Specific information related to CPS findings and records involving an applicant will be maintained in the foster parent file and addressed within the home study. 
3.   An Internet Records Clearance is completed for all household members age eighteen (18) years or older.  This search is conducted using the maiden and any other previous legal names.  This documentation includes the following:
a) A National Sexual Offender Registry Clearance 
b) A Tennessee Department of Health Abuse Registry Clearance 
c) The Child Abuse Hotline performs the internet records clearance after-hours and weekends only.  CPSI/CPSA will be responsible for this clearance during regular business hours.
4.   The expedited placement resource and all adult members of the household will agree to be scheduled for their fingerprinting immediately after the expedited custodial placement is made. Fingerprinting is completed for expedited placement resources within 15 days. Failure to comply with this requirement results in a child /children’s removal from the placement.
5.   The expedited placement resource and all adult members of the household will complete a medical examination by a medical professional, using form CS-0678 Resource Parent Medical Report, within forty-five (45) days of the child's placement in the resource home for custodial placements only).

6.   Two (2) persons, who do not reside in the same home as the placement resource, are contacted for a personal reference check prior to the placement.  (Reference checks that are verbal will be documented and maintained in the case file).  

7.   CPS Staff will make a home visit prior to placement to verify that the residence meets the standards outlined in section E of DCS Policy 16.4, Resource Home Selection and Approval. 
8.   The FSW will obtain an emergency response plan; form CS-0871, Resource Home Disaster Plan, from the resource placement. 
 9.   All findings identified from these checks are documented on form CS-0687, Background Check History and IV-E Eligibility Checklist, with results attached.  This documentation is also reported in the home study.
10.  All information gathered during the expedited custodial placement assessment is documented on form CS-0682, Expedited Placement Assessment Summary, and submitted for approval by the Kinship Coordinator, Resource Support Staff or FSW within 48 hours of making an expedited custodial placement.  

11. An Expedited Placement Assessment conducted on a parent or relative located in TN, pursuant to ICPC referral, is documented on form CS-0682, Expedited Placement Assessment Summary with all required decisions and signatures identified in Section B of this Policy.  Within 30 working days of the ICPC referral entry date in TFACTS, the above information is also entered into TFACTS along with the establishment of a DCS resource home file prior to placement of a child into the home.
12. Authorization for the placement of a child into TN pursuant to the ICPC is the responsibility of the TN ICPC State Office.  The decision to approve or deny the placement is based on the recommendations submitted by the DCS Region in response to this policy.  Refer to the ICPC Practice and Procedure Manual for details.

	B.
Expedited custodial placement approval


	1.    All results of the criminal background check and form CS-0750, Background Criminal History-Expedited/Emergency Purpose Code X III Name Check will be attached to the Expedited Placement Summary, form CS-0682.
2.    If the interview, home visit, reference and records check are satisfactory according to policy standards, the Regional Administrator/Designee will authorize the expedited custodial placement.  Completion of form CS-0682, Expedited Placement Assessment Summary, will follow the initial approval within 48 hours.  An approved form CS-0682 and form CS-0626, Expedited Child Placement Contract, authorizes the expedited custodial placement up to 120 days.


	C.
Disclosure to Expedited Custodial Placement Resources


	1. Within 48 hours of accepting a child/youth into their home, the expedited placement resource will sign form CS-0553, DCS Discipline Policy.  For ICPC, the DCS Discipline Policy (form CS-0553), is to be attached to the Expedited Placement Assessment Summary (form CS-0682), within 30 working days of the ICPC referral entry date in TFACTS. 
2. At the time of an expedited custodial placement, the expedited placement resource family will sign form CS-0626, Placement Contract for Expedited Placements, which will inform them of the following:

a)   The resource family will receive a board payment reimbursement from DCS at the rate of $7.06 per day/per child, up to 120 days. 
b)   The family will have one hundred twenty (120) days of the expedited custodial placement to complete all of the requirements outlined in DCS Policy 16.4, Resource Home Selection and Approval, including the completion of PATH training.  

· A Child and Family Team Meeting will be held at least five (5) days before the termination date on the expedited placement contract if the foster home approval process cannot be completed prior to the expiration of the expedited placement contract. 
· If the team decides the placement will continue, the FSW will make a request to the Office of Foster Care and Adoption for an extension, using form CS-1018 Resource Home Extension Request.  
· If at any time, during the expedited placement assessment, it is determined that a family cannot meet the basic requirements for resource home approval, the family will be notified of the decision and an alternative placement arrangement will be made for the child if the child remains in DCS custody.

c) Should a delay in timely completion of all the foster home approval requirements be beyond the control of the expedited resource home family and an extension has been granted, a member of the local Placement Services Division will complete form FA-0080, Claim for Travel Expenses in order to justify continuation of that payment to the family with the approved state funded rate. 
d)  DCS will assist eligible families in applying for Family First Grants through the Tennessee Department of Human Services, as outlined in DCS Policy 16.59, Disclosure of Legal Options and Available Services for Relative Caregivers. At the time of expedited placement, families will be linked with additional support services as needed (food, clothing, etc.).

3.  All expedited foster families will receive form CS-0544, Resource Home Placement Checklist the time of placement.  

4. If the expedited foster family is related to the child, they will also receive a Guide for Relative Caregivers: Options and Available Services brochure and sign form CS-0660, Disclosure Statement (Options/Services Available to Relatives).


	D.
Additional Disclosure to Expedited ICPC Placement Resources

	1.   A Tennessee parent who has been approved for the expedited placement of a child, who is in the custody/jurisdiction of another state, subject to compliance with the ICPC, is not eligible for the Federal Title IV-E reimbursement if placement is made.
2.   In ICPC cases where the placement resource resides in Tennessee and is a parent or stepparent to the child, the PATH training requirement outlined in DCS Policy 16.4, Resource Home Selection and Approval, is waived; however all other requirements will be fulfilled.
3. A Tennessee relative who has been approved for the expedited placement of a child, who is in the custody/jurisdiction of another state, subject to compliance with the ICPC, is not certified as eligible for Federal Title IV-E reimbursement until all requirements of this policy and DCS Policy 16.4, Resource Home Selection and Approval requirements have been met.
4. Responsibility for planning for the child, which includes the responsibility for the determining medical and financial maintenance eligibility for the child and the potential placement resource, remains with the sending state.  Tennessee DCS is not responsible for issuing financial or medical assistance to a child who is under the jurisdiction of another State.
5.   Once placement under the ICPC has been approved, Tennessee DCS will assist the child and the resource family to access any federally authorized funding or services for which the child and/or resource family is eligible.  

	E.
Documentation

	The FSW will file all completed documentation of the Expedited Custodial Placement in the family case file and will provide a copy to the Resource Support Staff.  Refer to the Protocol for Documentation of Expedited Placements for all required documentation.

	E. Case Transfer
	During the course of the home study for a DCS resource home, any change of circumstance which triggers a move of that home to another agency, county or region, DCS Policy 31.3, Case Transfer Guidelines Between Regions, Agencies, and Facilities and the Protocol for Re-Activation or Re-Classification of Resource Homes will be followed.


	Forms:
	CS-0668, Authorization for Release of information,  (for all adults in the home)
CS-0687, Background Check History and IV-E Eligibility Checklist (for all adults in the home) 
CS-0675, Foster Home Cover Sheet 


CS-0544, Foster Home Placement Checklist 

CS-0553, Discipline Policy


CS-0660, Disclosure Statement (Options/Services Available to Relatives)
CS-0691, Fingerprint Card Information (for all adults in the home)
CS-0682, Expedited Placement Assessment Summary 
CS-0678, Foster Parent Medical Report
CS-0427, Child’s Medical Record (when applicable)

CS-0741, Data Base Search Results

CS-0750, Background Criminal History- Expedited/Emergency Purpose Code X III Name Check
CS-0871, Foster Home Disaster Plan 


CS-0921, Waiver of Criminal Convictions, PATH Training Modifications, Non-Safety Issues CPS Substantiations and Education Requirements

FA-0080, Claim for Travel Expenses
CS-1018, Foster Home Extension Request
Note: Contract Provider Agencies may use equivalent forms, provided the content of the forms capture the content of the forms listed above.

	Collateral Documents:
	Adam Walsh State Contacts for Child Abuse Registries
Conducting SSMS Checks in TFACTS
Health Care Consent Guidelines for Youth in DCS Custody 
The Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children Practice and Procedure Manual


Protocol for Documentation of Expedited Placements
Protocol for Re-Activation or Re-Classification of Foster Homes
Results from Police Records Checks
Personal References (May be a documentation of a verbal statement)
Waiver Tip Sheet

	Glossary
	

	Term:
	Definition:


	Expedited Custodial Placement:
	The placement with a relative or a person with whom the child has had a significant relationship. 

	Significant Relationship:
	A relationship between a child and/or family and someone who is related by blood, marriage, or in some other way that allows a strong bond.
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