
 
State of Tennessee 

Department of Commerce of Insurance 
Home Inspector Licensing Program 

500 James Robertson Parkway 
Nashville, Tennessee  37243-1166 

Phone (615) 741-1831 
http://www.tn.gov/regboards/hic/index.shtml  

 

Home Inspector Application Requirements: 
 
1. A nonrefundable $300.00 initial licensure fee and completed application, including all 
required supporting documents for proof of citizenship, and the ethical conduct and legal history 
information. This payment must be made by check, and made payable to the Department of 
Commerce and Insurance. 
2. A copy of your high school diploma or GED certificate. If you are unable to locate your high 
school diploma, a high school transcript showing your graduation date, or a college transcript 
which shows your high school graduation date, is required. 
3. A copy of the certificate you received upon completion of the 90 hours of required pre-license 
home inspection education (must be an approved qualifying education course). 
4. A color copy or original of the state selected National Home Inspector Examination (NHIE) 
testing results showing a passing score. 
5. Valid insurance certificate (ACORD form): All policies must state the individual’s name as 
the “The Insured” (may also include dba/company name) and must list the Home Inspector 
Licensing Program with our mailing address as the “Certificate Holder.” 
• General Liability (GL): Must include a minimum $500,000 coverage, valid policy number 
(TBA not accepted) and effective coverage dates. 
• Errors and Omissions (E&O / Professional Liability): No minimum limit specified in the 
statute. You may set your own policy limits. Must include valid policy number (TBA not 
accepted) and effective coverage dates. 
 
 
Incomplete applications will be denied sixty (60) days after receipt if all requirements have not 
been met.  Please ensure that all required information is included with your application before 
you submit to the administrative office. 


