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REMOVAL SERVICE REGISTRATION APPLICATION 
 

INSTRUCTIONS 
 

DO NOT RETURN THIS INSTRUCTIONS PAGE.  KEEP IT FOR YOUR RECORDS. 
SUBMIT THE APPLICATION, FEE, AND PROOF OF INSURANCE ONLY TO THE BOARD. 

 
1. This form must be typed or legibly written in black or blue ink.  Each question must be 

answered completely before registration will be approved.  No person or entity shall 
engage in the removal service business unless the individual or entity is registered with 
the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers. 

 
2. A removal service means any person or entity that engages in arranging, directing, 

supervising or performing the transportation of deceased human remains for a fee.  A 
removal service does not include a licensed funeral director, a licensed embalmer, or a 
licensed funeral establishment or person’s employees; a federal, state or county 
government agency involved in the transportation of deceased human remains; or a 
private, for-profit ambulance service licensed pursuant to the Emergency Medical 
Services Act of 1983, compiled in title 68, chapter 140, part 3. 
 

3. An application shall be accompanied by a non-refundable fee of three hundred fifty 
dollars ($350.00) and proof of liability insurance with a minimum of one million dollars 
($1,000,000.00) in coverage.  Upon receipt of a properly completed legally qualifying 
application, a certificate shall be issued by the Board.  All registrations shall expire two 
(2) years from the date of issuance. 
 

4. An applicant who has been convicted of a violation of Title 62, Chapter 5, Tennessee 
Code Annotated, or Tennessee Code Annotated § 39-17-312 shall be prohibited from 
registering as a removal service if the date of the final order of such conviction is within 
five (5) years of the date of the submission of the registration application.  Applicants 
must be eligible for registration on the date the application is submitted. 
 

5. The registration of a removal service shall be immediately revoked by operation of law 
upon the conviction of the removal service or any principal officer, director, or person 
owning more than five percent (5%) of the removal service of any violation of this 
chapter or § 39-17-312.  A copy of the judgment of conviction shall be transmitted to the 
Board by the law enforcement agency responsible for the conviction. 
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APPLICATION FOR REMOVAL SERVICE REGISTRATION 

 
Name of Applicant:  ___________________________________________________________________ 
 
 Corporation                Limited Liability Company                Partnership                Sole Proprietorship 
 
Federal Employer Identification Number or Social Security Number: ______________________________ 
 
Physical Location:  ____________________________________________________________________ 
 
City, State, Zip:   ______________________________________________________________________ 
 
Mailing Address (If different than physical address):  __________________________________________ 
 
City, State, Zip:   ______________________________________________________________________ 
 
Phone:  ________________________________  Facsimile:  _____________________________ 
 
Email:  _________________________________ Website:  ______________________________ 
 
Liability Insurance:  ______YES  ______NO 
 
Name of Insurance Company:  ___________________________________________________________ 
 
Liability Insurance Policy #:   ___________________ Amount of Liability Insurance:  $_____________ 
 
  Business Owner or Authorized Representative – Please Complete Portion Below 
 
Within the past five (5) years, has this proposed registrant or any principal officer, director, or any person owning 
more than five percent (5%) of the applicant’s removal services been convicted of a violation of this chapter or § 39-
17-312?   ______YES  ______NO 
 
I, the undersigned, declare under penalties of perjury pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-16-702(a)(3), that the 
information contained in this registration application is true, correct and complete to the best of my knowledge, 
information and belief and that I am duly authorized to act on behalf of the Removal Service listed above. 
 
    ________________________________________________ 
    Print Name        
 
    X_______________________________________________ 
    Signature       Date 
 
(Make check or money order payable to the Tennessee Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers.) 
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