INSTRUCTIONS

1. Complete your application online by going to:_https://core.tn.gov . There are videos to assist in the registration and
completion of the application. This will save at least one week from the paper application process.

2. Make sure to select the Qut of State license type option.

3. Read the online explanations and requirements so you know if you meet the minimum requirements. They are
listed on the second page of these instructions.

4. Attach a copy of your Cosmetology School record or diploma, if available.

5. Contact your state board and request that they send us CERTIFICATION OF YOUR LICENSE.
**PLEASE NOTE** If you have been licensed in more than one state — please contact each state board that you
are/were licensed in and have them send certification. Only one license needs to be current.

6. A non-Refundable application fee must be included to start the reciprocity application process — Please complete
the online process by paying the required fifty dollars $50.00 at the end of the process.

**Receipt of certifications from other States vary in time so please allow three to four weeks’ for processing once
you have submitted everything needed per the instructions above.

7. Once approved for licensure in Tennessee, a license will be mailed to the address you provided. Please make sure
to update the board if you have moved. Your license expires every two years and, by statute, you must inform the
board of a change of address within 30 days, or update it online yourself.

8. If you do not meet Tennessee’s hourly requirements, you may submit proof of the last 5 years work experience in
the form of: notarized statement from employer with exact dates of employment and the owner/manager’s
signature or tax records indicating type of work.

If you do not meet the minimum hourly requirements and cannot provide 5 years work experience
immediately prior to your application date, you will be presented to the board at the next available board
meeting. You may be required to complete additional hours in order to substantially meet licensure
requirements. If the State you were licensed in did not require a State theory and practical exam, you will
be required to take one or both.

NOTE: You will be required to produce proof of identification at all times. Make sure your name on the license
matches your identification documents.

TEXAS APPLICANTS: In addition to instructions provided above, applicants with education from Texas must also
include Certified Transcript of Texas Education.

PROOF OF WORK EXPERIENCE

If your hours of school training were less than 1500 hours for cosmetologist, 750 for aesthetician, or 300 for

shampoo tech, natural hair stylist or instructor, follow the instructions below. (You may still qualify for

reciprocity) Submit any of the documents listed below:

1. NOTARIZED affidavits.

2. Statements from employers on original letterhead documenting five (5) years of licensed work experience
immediately prior to application.

3. Tax preparer, or accountant tax records.

Copies of IRS form1040, w-2 or 1099 forms.

5. Shop licenses dating back five (5) years.

&

If you do not meet minimum requirement for reciprocal licensure, your application may be deemed necessary to be
presented to the Board at the next meeting, visit website listed below for date and times:

http://www.tn.gov/commerce/section/cosmetology-and-barber-examiners

IN-1806 (Rev. 09/16) RDA 10222


https://core.tn.gov/
http://www.tn.gov/commerce/section/cosmetology-and-barber-examiners

Page 2 of 4

TENNESSEE RECIPROCITY REQUIREMENTS

Cosmetologist 1500 hours (school)

Manicurist 600 hours (school)

Aesthetician 750 hours (school)

Shampoo Tech 300 hours (school)

Natural Hair Stylist 300 hours (school)

Instructor 1500 cosmetologist hours plus (must teach the discipline you

are licensed in) 300 hours licensed instructor training

NOTE: Applicants applying for instructor reciprocity must attach proof of at least a 12" grade education or equivalent and
proof the applicant has completed and passed a board approved course of instruction of at least 300 hours for instructors.

YOU MAY NOT WORK UNTIL YOU RECEIVE LICENSE OR VISIT

http://verify.tn.gov/ TO PRINT PROOF OF ACTIVE LICENSE.

It is our intent and desire to make all reciprocal license transactions as quick and convenient as possible; however, state
laws, board rules and office policies must be observed — these requirements may not be waived and exceptions are not
considered. DO NOT ASK THE OFFICE STAFF FOR “SPECIAL HANDLING” AS ALL APPLICATIONS MUST BE
PROCESSED IN THE SAME MANNER. THE SYSTEM WILL NOT PROCESS INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS.

THE PRACTICE OF COSMETOLOGY IS PROHIBITED IN THIS STATE UNTIL A PROPER TENNESSEE
LICENSED IS SECURED

IN-0108 (Rev. 09/16) RDA 10222


http://verify.tn.gov/

