
 
State of Tennessee 

Department of Commerce and Insurance 
Tennessee State Board of Accountancy 

500 James Robertson Parkway  
Nashville,  TN  37243-1141 

615-741-2550 or 888-453-6150 
 

 
 

Application:  State Specific Ethics Course 
(Directions - Page 2) 

 
NOTE:  All providers must also be NASBA approved – The Tennessee State Board of 
Accountancy reviews only the content material for the State Ethics Course. 

 
 
Organization Information 
 
Name: __________________________________________________________ 
 
Contact Person:__________________________________________________ 
 
Mailing Address: _________________________________________________ 
 
     _________________________________________________ 
                                                                         City                      State                          Zip 
 

Phone:_______________________ Fax:____________________ 
 
E-Mail:_______________________ Web:___________________ 
 
Course Information 

 
Delivery Method: _____ Live           _____ Video   _____ Webinar 
(Select Only One) 

                                 _____ On-Line     _____ Paper/Pencil 
 
                                _____ Other (explain) _____________________ 
 
Number of Hours:  Entire Course _____ TN State Specific Portion _____ 
(Tennessee defines education hour as 50 minutes) 

(Continued) 
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Instructor Name(s)    
Must Include Resume(s) 
 

 
NASBA Sponsor Number:    
(Sponsor must be NASBA Approved or Exempted By Rule) 
 
 
 
 
Signature                                                                                                                Date 
 
 
 
 
Directions:  The Tennessee State Board of Accountancy must review and approve any 
Tennessee State Specific Ethics course before the attendees can be awarded education 
hours to meet their CPE requirements. The Board meets quarterly (usually January, May, July 
and October) and any course reviewed at a meeting must be received in the Board’s 
Administrative office at least 30 days prior to that meeting.  The Board’s meeting dates may be 
located on their web-site (tn.gov/commerce/boards/tnsba). 
 
A separate application must be submitted for each format of the course.  At least two hours of 
Tennessee specific training must be declared.  You may elect to have a longer class which 
includes other general or regulatory ethics but at least 2 hours must be devoted to Tennessee 
Law and Rules.  The Board will only review the Tennessee specific portion of any course and 
those areas must be well defined in your course outline. 
 
The  Course  outline  for  the  mandatory  two  hours  of  ethics  training  is  attached  to  this 
application. 
 
 
If you have questions, please contact Karen Condon at the Board’s office.  She may 
be reached at 615-253-1677 or karen.condon@tn.gov 

mailto:karen.condon@tn.gov


Tennessee State Specific Ethics Course Outline (approved 9/13/11) 
 
 
 
Information concerning Board Members 

Make-Up 
How Appointed 
Terms 
Meetings (Committee and Whole Board) 
Meetings Open to everyone – ya’ll come 

 
Information concerning Board Support Staff 

Functions (License, renew, update files, answer questions, investigate complaints, etc.) 
Board attorney advises Board not licensees 
Staff contact information (phone, web, e-mail, snail mail) 

 
What to do after receiving license 

Already have education, passed exam and provided experience 
Already have stated you have read and understand all laws and rules of Board 

 
Renew licenses Pay 

fees Complete 
CPE 

Basic Requirements 
Qualifying Programs 
Failure to meet requirements 

Update Board staff with 
Name changes 
Address changes (explain 3 addresses kept) 
E-Mail Address 

Change license status relative to work or need(?) 
Active 
Inactive 
Retired 
Retired over 70 
Delinquent 
Expired 

 
Reactivate Vs. Reinstate License 

 
Firm License 

When needed, ownership requirements, etc. 
License renewal (annual) 
Peer Review 

Basic Requirements 
Results 

(Continued Next Page) 



What’s New: 
Mobility 
International Reciprocity (Mutual Recognition) 

IFRS 
ALD (Accountancy Licensing Database) 

Peer Assistance Program 
International Testing Sites for CPA Exam 
Coming –  Change in Ethics CPE Requirements 

 
Professional Conduct 

Independence 
Integrity & Objectivity 
Competence 
Confidential Information 
Contingent Fees 
Disclosure 
Records 
Discreditable Acts 

 
Complaints 

How they happen 
Not doing something you should 
Doing something you shouldn’t 

 
Life of a Complaint 

Can be filed by anyone 
Copy sent to respondent licensee 
Answered by respondent licensee 
Both complaint and response go to Board Attorney 
Attorney may 

Ask for investigation 
Suggest Disciplinary action based on statute and rules 
Dismiss 
Close 

 
Disciplinary Actions 

Letters (warning, instruction, caution) 
Civil Penalties 
Additional Education 
Additional Peer Reviews 
Probation 
Suspension 
Revocation 

 
Hearings: 

Informal Vs. Formal 
 
Case Studies 



Tennessee State Specific Ethics Course Outline (approved 9/13/11) 
 
 
Information concerning Board Members 
 Make-Up 
 How Appointed 
 Terms 
 Meetings (Committee and Whole Board) 
 Meetings Open to everyone – ya’ll come 
 
Information concerning Board Support Staff 
 Functions (License, renew, update files, answer questions, investigate complaints, etc.) 
 Board attorney advises Board not licensees 
 Staff contact information (phone, web, e-mail, snail mail) 
 
What to do after receiving license 
 Already have education, passed exam and provided experience 
 Already have stated you have read and understand all laws and rules of Board 
 
 Renew licenses 
  Pay fees 
  Complete CPE 
   Basic Requirements 
   Qualifying Programs 
   Failure to meet requirements 
 Update Board staff with 
  Name changes 
  Address changes (explain 3 addresses kept) 
  E-Mail Address 
 Change license status relative to work or need(?) 
  Active 
  Inactive 
  Retired 
  Retired over 70 
  Delinquent 
  Expired 
 
 Reactivate Vs. Reinstate License 
 
Firm License 
 When needed, ownership requirements, etc. 
 License renewal (annual) 
 Peer Review 
  Basic Requirements 
  Results 
(Continued Next Page) 
 
 
 



What’s New: 
 Mobility 
 International Reciprocity (Mutual Recognition) 
IFRS 
ALD (Accountancy Licensing Database)  
 Peer Assistance Program 
 International Testing Sites for CPA Exam 
 Coming –  Change in Ethics CPE Requirements 
 
Professional Conduct 
  Independence 
  Integrity & Objectivity 
  Competence 
  Confidential Information 
  Contingent Fees 
  Disclosure 
  Records 
  Discreditable Acts 
 
Complaints 
 How they happen 
  Not doing something you should 
  Doing something you shouldn’t 
 
Life of a Complaint 
 Can be filed by anyone 
 Copy sent to respondent licensee 
 Answered by respondent licensee 
 Both complaint and response go to Board Attorney 
 Attorney may  
  Ask for investigation 
  Suggest Disciplinary action based on statute and rules 
  Dismiss 
  Close 
   
Disciplinary Actions  
 Letters (warning, instruction, caution) 
 Civil Penalties 
 Additional Education 
 Additional Peer Reviews 
 Probation 
 Suspension 
 Revocation 
 
Hearings: 
 Informal Vs. Formal 
 
Case Studies 

 




