Sign Up To Receive Email Notifications from TABC

Direct Shipper License

A Direct Shipper license allows any person, firm or corporation who holds a federal basic permit to manufacture, bottle or rectify wine, to ship that wine by common carrier to its consumers in the State of Tennessee who are over the age of twenty-one (21) and have purchased the wine directly from the direct shipper.

The forms and fees for this license are available under Public Information and Forms


Requirements

  • The establishment must have a federal basic permit to manufacture, bottle or rectify wine before they can qualify for a direct shipper license.
  • They must agree that all hearings, appeals and other matters relating to their license will be held in the State of Tennessee by signing a consent to jurisdiction.
  • They must acknowledge in writing that they will contract with common carriers that all deliveries of wine in this state will be a face-to-face transaction to an individual who can demonstrate that they are over twenty-one (21) years of age.
  • Shipments of wine must be clearly marked, visible from at least three feet (3') away with the statement "CONTAINS ALCOHOL: SIGNATURE OF PERSON OVER 21 OR OLDER REQUIRED FOR DELIVERY".

Restrictions

  • A direct shipper cannot ship more than nine (9) liters of wine to any individual during any calendar month, or more than twenty-seven (27) liters of wine to any individual in any calendar year.

More Information
New Application Process
  • A non-refundable application process fee of $300.00 shall be paid when the application is initially submitted.
     
  • A non-refundable license fee of $150.00 shall be paid when the application is initially submitted.
     
  • Complete a State of Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage application for a Direct Shipper License. (The applicant must sign the application along with the consent to jurisdiction and both signatures must be notarized.)
     
  • Form AB-0116, Declaration of Citizenship, must be completed by anyone holding five percent (5%) or more stock/interest in the applicant. In the case of a corporate structure, the officers of the applicant requesting licensure must complete the form.
     
  • Submit to the commission a copy of the applicant's Certificate of Registration for Sales & Use Tax issued by the Tennessee Department of Revenue.
     
  • Submit to the commission a copy of the applicant's Gallonage Tax letter issued by the Tennessee Department of Revenue.
     
  • Submit to the commission executed copies of ALL contract with UPS/FedEx that will ship wine from Applicant to Tennessee Consumers. If there is a third party/fulfillment center, they must provide to the commission a copy of the contract between the applicant and the fulfillment center and the fulfillment center and UPS/FedEx.
     
  • Submit to the commission a copy of the Applicant's organizational document. (e.g. corporate charter or articles of organization)
     
  • Submit to the commission a copy of the Applicant's Federal Basic Permit issued pursuant to the Federal Alcohol Administration Act.
     
  • Submit to the commission a copy of the Applicant's brand names that will be registered with the Tennessee Department of Revenue brand/label registration department.
     
  • Submit to the commission a valid copy of the Applicant's Non-Resident Liquor Seller's Permit, if applicable.
     
  • Submit to the commission a valid copy of the Applicant's home state operating license.

* All forms must be completely filled out, signed and notarized.

* All payments must be made with a money order, cashier's check or business check from the licensed establishment and made payable to the Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission. Global money orders will not be accepted.

* Notaries are available at the Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission office for walk in clients. You must be present, have proper identification and the notary must witness your signature.

Renewal Information
  • Pay to the commission a $150.00 renewal license fee.
     
  • Complete a State of Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage application for a Direct Shipper License. (The applicant must sign the application along with the consent to jurisdiction and both signatures must be notarized.)
     
  • Submit to the commission any new brand names that will be registered with the Tennessee Department of Revenue brand/label registration department.
     
  • Submit to the commission a valid copy of the Applicant's Non-Resident Liquor Seller's Permit, if applicable.
     
  • Submit to the commission copies of any documents that have been updated. (i.e. Federal Basic Permit, Declaration of Citizenship, Contracts and so on.)

* All forms must be completely filled out, signed and notarized.

* All payments must be made with a money order, cashier's check or business check from the licensed establishment and made payable to the Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission. Global money orders will not be accepted.

* Notaries are available at the Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission office for walk in clients. You must be present, have proper identification and the notary must witness your signature.